Research Guides: Film Studies: Home

Librarian

He/Him

Subjects: Architectural & Engineering Techology (ARET), Communication and Visual Arts, Computing Science, Data Science, Engineering, Horticulture, Mathematics, Science, Statistics

Live Help

Profile

Elizabeth Rennie

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

House of Learning 448

250-371-5775

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, English, Environmental Science, Literatures, Languages, and Performing Arts, Natural Resource Science, Science, Social Work, Using the TRU Library

Home

KEY RESOURCES

Studio publicity portrait for film Sabrina with William Holden and Audrey Hepburn.via Wikimedia Commons

The adaptation industry : the cultural economy of contemporary literary adaptation
Book. Compare-and-contrast studies of individual novel and film pairings and sociology of contemporary literary adaptation.
Citation Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc..)
Style guide. Check with your instructor to find out which citation style to use.

National Film Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of NFB documentary films, animated shorts, and dramas. Update frequency: N/A.TRU Library has an institutional license for educational, non-commercial public exhibition of these streaming video films, including both publicly accessible films, and those marked "CAMPUS". This license entitles faculty to broadcast NFB streaming videos in the classroom. The content may not be downloaded, reproduced, duplicated or altered, in whole or in part. No admission or fee may be charged by the institution.

Books to Get You Started

Catalogue Search

Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.

Subject headings to explore:

Film criticism
Feature films
Motion pictures Canada
Motion pictures, Canadian
Indians in motion pictures
Motion pictures Reviews
Motion pictures Semiotics
Historical films History and criticism
Hitchcock Alfred{author} (for films directed by him)
Hepburn Katharine{author} (for films in which she stars)

General Reference books

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

General Resources

TCM international film guide 2008 by Ian Haydn Smith
Call Number: PN 1993.3 .I545 2008
This book discusses the movie industry developments and more than 1,000 films from 98 countries across Europe, North and South America, Africa, Asia and Australia. It is organized on country-by-country basis covering: news, reviews and stills (most of them in color), festival information, movie going trends, box office and more.
Dictionary of film terms : the aesthetic companion to film art by Frank Eugene Beaver
Call Number: PN 1993.45 .B33 2006
This film dictionary provides definitions to essential terms for film analysis, appreciation and film production.
Critical dictionary of film and television theory by edited by Philip Simpson and Roberta Pearson
Call Number: PN 1993.45 .C75 2000
ISBN: 0415162181
Contains current (after 1960) theoretical terms dealing with film and television and is organized alphabetically.
Encyclopedia of early cinema by edited by Richard Abel
Call Number: PN 1993.45 .E53 2005
More than 950 articles covering the key issues, people, practices, and phenomena of the first twenty-five years of international cinema (1890s-mid-1910s). Entries are arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced. Longer articles have suggested further readings.
Cinema studies: the key concepts by Susan Hayward
Call Number: PN 1993.45 .H36 2006 Print & E-Book
This book provides an in-depth glossary of concepts and terminology used in film studies. An overview of key genres, film theory and film movements is given. Entries contain cross-references. Many entries provides a bibliography
The language of cinema by Kevin Jackson
Call Number: PN 1993.45 .J23 2003
Offers succinct definitions and the history to over 2,000 film related words and phrases.
Encyclopedia of American Independent Filmmaking by Vincent LoBrutto
Call Number: PN 1993.45 .L63 2002
Presents information into the historical, technical, aesthetic and critical aspects of independent filmmaking. This book examines films and filmmakers who compliment the tenants of independent filmmaking . The author admits that his bias is toward the New York independent filmmaking community and does not address the subject of electronic cinema.
The encyclopedia of British film by edited by Brian McFarlane ; associate editor, Anthony Slide ; foreword by Philip French
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .G7 E53 2003
Over 6,000 entries providing information on British stars, character players, directors, editors, writers, costume designers, and more.
Encyclopedia of the documentary film by Ian Aitken, editor
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006
Over 300 articles are contained in this 3 volume set. Topics covered include: analysis of individual films; filmmaking traditions from around the world; themes, issues, and representations in documentary film; and styles, techniques, and technical issues. Each article is signed and provide a list of further readings.
Encyclopedia of film noir by Geoff Mayer and Brian McDonnell
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .F54 M39 2007
Provides a comprehensive guide to film noir history, including both the classical film noir cycle (1939-59) and the modern neo-noir period (1959-present). Part One provides five essays on the genre, complete with references. Part Two has over 130 entries on films, actors, and directors.
Historical Dictionary of Horror Cinema by Peter Hutchings
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .H6 H836 2008 E-Book
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

Canadian Reference books

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

North of Everything: English-Canadian Cinema Since 1980 by edited by Wiliam Beard and Jerry White
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .C3 N67 2002
A collection of essays that examines Canadian film, filmakers, film institutions, history and policy.
Hollywood North: The Feature Film Industry in British Columbia by Mike Gasher
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .C32 B7 2002 Print & E-Book
Using British Columbia's film industry as a case study, this book examines the debate over the growing phenomenon of "location film production" and its' influence on the films being made.
Canadian National Cinema: Ideology, Difference and Representation by Christopher E. Gittings
Call Number: PN1993.5 C2 G54 2002
This book explores the idea of "nation" as viewed through Canadian films.
Weird sex & snowshoes : and other Canadian film phenomena by Katherine Monk
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .C3 M66 2001 E-book

Websites

Related Associations & Societies

Websites

General Literature

National Film Board of Canada This link opens in a new window

Websites

Canada

National Film Board of Canada This link opens in a new window

Review Sites

Websites

Film History

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

ACS Citation Style (American Chemical Society)
APA Citation Style 7th ed (American Psychological Association)
Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. But check with your instructor!
APA Citation Style 6th ed. (American Pscyhological Association)
guide to citing your sources for Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. Check with your instructor for which edition to use.
ASA Citation Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Sociology and other social sciences, but check with your instructor to be sure.
Chicago Manual of Style
Style guide. Commonly used for History, the Humanities and various other disciplines. However, check with your instructor.
CSE Citation Style (Council of Science Editors)
Biology and other sciences.
MLA Citation Style (Modern Language Association)
Style guide. Frequently used in English and Humanities studies. Check with your instructor to be sure.

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Some really great resources to consult are:

Guide to Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to recognize high quality information on the internet and in print.
Following a Citation Trail
Discover how to find a book from a reading list or a bibliography/reference list.
Citation Management
This guide provides an overview of citation management and its benefits, and information about getting started with either RefWorks, Mendeley, or Zotero.

Quick Links

Article Databases
See the full list of all TRU article databases
Find your Subject Librarian
Connect with the librarian best able to help you in your research
Online Forms
Find the right form to request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), book a group study room, suggest a book purchase, and more!
TRU Library Events & Workshops Calendar
Calendar listing current workshop offerings at the TRU library

Film Studies

Librarian

Live Help

Profile

Home

KEY RESOURCES

Books to Get You Started

Catalogue Search

General Reference books

Canadian Reference books

Websites

Related Associations & Societies

Websites

Websites

Review Sites

Websites

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Quick Links

Ask a Question

How to Ask for Help