Data and Statistics

TRU Library research guide that provides links to key sources of statistics and data about aboriginal peoples in Canada.

CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada. Provides access to the Canadian Censuses, the Agricultural Censuses, Aboriginal Peoples Survey, environmental data, Elections Canada data, and the time series in CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System).

The GC Open Data Portal is a collaborative effort amongst Government of Canada departments and agencies to provide access to data managed by the government that can be leveraged by citizens, businesses, and communities for their own purposes. Find data sets on topics related to health, the environment, agriculture and natural resources.

This guide suggests some resources available from the TRU Library and on the Internet that contain information related to Canadian Opinions, Polls & Surveys.

This Statistics Canada file contains a subset of the Health Indicators Database. It provides a set of indicators which measure the health of the Canadian population and the health care system. Health indicators are designed to provide comparable information at the health region and provincial/territorial level.

This electronic document contains about 1,088 statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s. The statistical tables can only be viewed with Excel or another spreadsheet program.

Industry Canada (previous name). Provides access to Canadian business and industry statistics, company information, regulations and standards, as well as international trade statistics.

Search the contents of Statistics Canada's holdings. Much of the content has been digitized and is available online. Print materials may be made available upon request: biblionet@statcan.gc.ca

BC STATS is the statistical agency for British Columbia. This web site provides access to British Columbia statistics.

This site provides birth-related, death-related and marriage-related statistics for British Columbia.

This site provides crime related and policing statistics for British Columbia.

A comprehensive selection of statistical data on the European Union, its member states and candidate countries. Most data cover the period 1995-2005 and some data include other countries such as the USA & Japan. Data is accessed through predefined tables.

The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies including the U.S. Census Bureau.

The University of Auckland Library's link to international and national web-based sources of official statistics organized by country or theme.

Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. A very useful tool for cross-country economic comparisons.

This database contains data on 133 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables.)

The University of Toronto's Data Library has compiled an excellent resource list of electronic statistical information with a strong Canadian presence.

Provides access to free UN statistical databases and reference sources on topics including economics, health, environment, gender, food and agriculture, human development, and industry. Also provides links to data services by country

Development data by country and indicator.

International health-related statistics from the World Health Organization.