Research Guides: Children's Literature: Books to Get You Started

Live Help

Catalogue Search

Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.

Subject headings to explore:

Children's literature
Juvenile literature
Children's literature History and criticism
Children's literature Study and teaching (Primary)
Children's literatur
Canadian (English) Children's literature
Canadian History and criticism

Background and Contextual Information

To get some contextual background information on your topic, add:

AND (encyclopedia OR handbook)

to your basic search in Discover, then limit to books. This will give you resources that will help you formulate your specific topic and get some background knowledge.

Click here for an example search.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

The below lists of resources will help you get started on a particular topic.

Books to Get You Started

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Sage Knowledge

Sage Knowledge provides full text access to 5000 ebook and ereference titles in social sciences.

A broken flute : the Native experience in books for children by edited by Doris Seale and Beverly Slapin
Call Number: E 77.4 .B76 2005

ISBN: 0759107785
In the Words of the Winners : the Newbery and Caldecott medals, 2001-2010 by Association for Library Service to Children (Compiled by)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780838935866

Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Popular Picks for Young Readers by Diane Foote
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780838936061

Publication Date: 2014

Featuring contributions by active librarians from around the country, this guide offers a goldmine of quality books for children, spotlighting more than 500 titles published within the last four years.
Reid's Read-Alouds 2: modern-day classics from C.S. Lewis to Lemony Snicket by Rob Reid
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 0838910726

Publication Date: 2010-10-01
The Greenwood encyclopedia of folktales and fairy tales by edited by Donald Haase
Call Number: GR 74 .G73 2008 V.1-3

ISBN: 0313334412

Nearly 700 signed, alphabetically arranged articles with bibliographies cover major approaches, important authors and scholars, and themes.
British children's writers, 1880-1914 by edited by Laura M. Zaidman
Call Number: PN 451 .D53 V.141
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature by Daniel Hahn
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C372 2015
The Continuum encyclopedia of children's literature by Bernice E. Cullinan and Diane G. Person, editors
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C66 2001

ISBN: 0826412718

Describes the development and current trends in children's literature from around the world. Focus is on children's literature in English with some works in English translation. This work complies biographical information on authors, and illustrators as well as 97 topical entries, such as: African literature, censorship, drama, pop-up books, science fiction, and more.
The Continuum encyclopedia of young adult literature by Bernice E. Cullinan, Bonnie L. Kunzel, Deborah A. Wooten, editors
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C67 2005

ISBN: 0826417108

This reference book includes over 650 signed entries, arranged alphabetically which focuses solely on Young Adult Literature. Entries include author profiles, trends, and topical articles covering the usual genre designations and a few newer ones, such as Chick Lit and Urban Legends. The back of the book has an extensive appendix lists book award winners and includes Web sites and "Best" lists.
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature by Daniel Hahn
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C372 2015
The essential guide to children's books and their creators by Anita Silvey, editor
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .E85 2002 Print & E-Book

ISBN: 0618190821

Contains 475 alphabetically ordered entries covering authors, illustrators, genres, publishing trends and numerous essays on social and historical issues. It also contains a reading list by age and category.
International companion encyclopedia of children's literature by edited by Peter Hunt
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .I57 2004 v. 1-2

Within 5 broad sections the reader will find over 80 essays covering a range of topics, such as: fairy tales, playground rhymes, critical theory, classic children's books, comics, and current trends in children's literature on the sub-continent of India.
The Oxford encyclopedia of children's literature by Jack Zipes, editor in chief
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .O94 2006 V. 1-4

ISBN: 0195146565

This 4 volume set contains over 3,200 signed entries that cover children's literature from medieval times to today. This set also provides literary intrepretation to major works in children's literature, as well as discusses trends, themes, genres, and the traditions of children's literature in many countries.
A guide to Canadian children's books in English by Deirdre Baker and Ken Setterington
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 B35 2003

Organized by age and genre, this work examines Canadian board books, picture books, folk tales, poetry, books for beginning readers, novels for children ages 7 to 12 and novels for children older than 12. Each entry outlines the plot of the story, main characters, and setting of each story. Some works are identified as being "Highly Recommended" - as the authors consider these books to be the best in Canadian children's literature.
Books to Grow With: a guide to using the best children's fiction for everyday issues and tough challenges by Cheryl Coon
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 C66 2004 (Curriculum)

ISBN: 0974802573

Publication Date: 2004-07-15

A comprehensive guide for parents, teachers, counselors and librarians to 500 children's fiction books that portray more than 100 common issues kids face, from bullies, siblings and fear of the dark to divorce, moving and chronic illness. The only comprehensive source of great children's books on nearly every issue kids experience.
Best books for children : preschool through grade 6 by John T. Gillespie
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 G54 2002

Organized by subject groups and grades. Each entry includes author, illustrator (if pertinent), title, grade span, year, publisher, number of pages, brief annotation, and review citations.
Literature for children [electronic resource] : contemporary criticism by edited by Peter Hunt
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 L547 2003 E-Book

This books emphasizes literary criticism theory rather than practice, in examining children's literature.
Understanding children's literature [electronic resource] : key essays from the second edition of The International companion encyclopedia of children's literature by edited by Peter Hunt
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 U44 2005 E-Book

ISBN: 0203968964
Dictionary of American children's fiction, 1995-1999 [electronic resource] : books of recognized merit by Alethea K. Helbig and Agnes Regan Perkins.
Call Number: PS 374 .C454 H45 2002 E-Book

ISBN: 0313303894

Intended to update Dictionary of American children's fiction, 1990-1994 [electronic resource]
Dictionary of American children's fiction, 1990-1994 [electronic resource] : books of recognized merit by Alethea K. Helbig and Agnes Regan Perkins.
Call Number: PS 490 .H45 1996 E-Book

ISBN: 0313287635

Contains 567 entries on titles, authors, characters and settings from children's books
Stories for every classroom : Canadian fiction portraying characters with disabilities by Beverley A. Brenna
Call Number: Z 1378 .B74 2015

ISBN: 9781551307299

Publication Date: 2015