Research Guides: Canadian Studies: Books to Get You Started

Live Help

Home

Search the Library

KEY RESOURCES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Database. Includes: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains over 17,000 business, legal and news sources

Canadian Encyclopedia
Citation Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc..)
Style guide. Check with your instructor to find out which citation style to use.
Internet Archive Canadian Libraries Collection
Website. Digitized collections are from the Government of Canada, selected universities, associations, public libraries and schools. Many collections are being updated on an ongoing basis.

Books to Get You Started

Why Reference books?

Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?

Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in formulating which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and General Works

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Canadian encyclopedia (Online) by Historica Foundation
Call Number: FC 23 .C36 (Electronic Resource)
Canadian Studies: the State of the Art / ÉTudes Canadiennes: Questions de Recherché by Klaus-Dieter Ertler (Editor); Stewart Gill (Editor)
Call Number: HN 103.5 .C363 2011 Print & E-book
Celebrating the 30th anniversary of the International Council for Canadian Studies (ICCS) this collection offers an overview of the state of the art in various disciplines in Canadian Studies, such as political science, history, geography, sociology, public policy, linguistics, literature, as well as media studies and cultural studies.
Canadian studies : past, present, praxis by Koustas, Jane, 1954
Call Number: FC 155 .C377 2012
Provides an overview of the development and evolution of Canadian Studies as a field of research and teaching, from the landmark Symons Report in 1975 to current reflections on directions, relevance and challenges of the field. The collection includes key historical documents – which remain forward-looking and consequential and whose aims and challenges are reflected in present-day considerations of and commentaries on Canadian Studies – as well as new writings that examine the most important contemporary issues and practices in the field, such as its social relevance and political activism, its international dimension and its place in contemporary scholarship.-- Publisher's website.
The Undiscovered Country by Ian Angus
Call Number: FC 95.5 .A54 2013 Stacks Print & E-book
In this sequence of essays, Ian Angus engages with themes of identity, power, and the nation as they emerge in contemporary English Canadian philosophical thought, seeking to prepare the groundwork for a critical theory of neoliberal globalization. The essays are organized into three parts. The opening part offers a nuanced critique of the Hegelian confidence and progressivism that has come to dominate Canadian intellectual life. Through an analysis of the work of several prominent Canadian thinkers, among them Charles Taylor and C. B. Macpherson, Angus suggests that Hegelian frames of reference are inadequate, failing as they do to accommodate the fact of English Canada's continuing indebtedness to empire. The second part focuses on national identity and political culture, including the role of Canadian studies as a discipline, adapting its critical method to Canadian political culture. The first two parts culminate in the positive articulation, in Part 3, of author's own conception, one that is at once more utopian and more tragic than that of the first two parts. Here, Angus develops the concept of locative thought--the thinking of a people who have undergone dispossession, "of a people seeking its place and therefore of a people that has not yet found its place."
Canadian Oxford Dictionary by Katherine Barber (Editor)
Call Number: PE 3235 .C36 2004
The dictionary's 300,000 words, senses and definitions combine in one reference book information on English as it is used worldwide and as it is used particularly inCanada. Definitions, worded for ease of comprehension, are presented so that the meaning most familiar to Canadians appears first and foremost.

History and Geography

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

History and Geography:

Encyclopedia of British Columbia (Online)
Call Number: FC 3804 .E52 E-book
The Encyclopedia of British Columbia is the definitive reference work on British Columbia. With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips, The EBC is the source of readable and authoritative information on all the significant British Columbian people, places and things.-- Website
Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador by editor in chief Joseph R. Smallwood ; managing editor Robert D.W. Pitt.
Call Number: FC 2154 .E52 E-Book
Dictionary of Canadian biography online
Call Number: FC 25 .D49 Online
Contains over 8500 biographies of Canadians who died or whose last-known activity occurred in the years 1000-1930. Biographies included for some individuals who died after 1930. Includes bibliographical references.
The Oxford Companion to Canadian History by Gerald Hallowell (Editor)
Call Number: FC 23 .O94 2004 E-book, House of Learning Library, & Williams Lake Library
It the essential guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, people, and places that have shaped Canadian life from earliest times to the late twentieth century. In more than 1,700 entries, the country's leading historians describe and analyze events in political, military, social, economic, cultural, and intellectual history, drawing on the latest scholarship.
Peel's bibliography of the Canadian prairies to 1953 (Online) by Ernie B. Ingles, N. Merrill Distad, editors & compilers
Call Number: E-book
The Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan (Online) by David A. Gauthier; University of Regina, Canadian Plains Research Center Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: FC 3504 .E53 2005 E-book
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples by Paul Robert Magocsi (Editor)
Call Number: FC 104 .E56 1999 House of Learning & Williams Lake
Addresses origins of Canada's peoples. Whether a First Nation, founding people, or subsequent arrival, all Canada's peoples are described in 119 individual entries that range from Acadians to Ukrainians, Hyderabadis to Vietnamese covering the origin of the group, the process of migration, arrival and settlement, economic and community life, family and kinship patterns, language and culture, education, religion, politics, intergroup relations, and the dynamics of group maintenance.
Bibliographia Canadiana by Claude Thibault
Call Number: FC 164 .B52 1973
Useful for finding topic ideas, this bibliography of printed materials for Canadian history is arranged in chronological order and in by topic. Items have been selected based on their national relevance and include books, articles, manuscripts, and government documents. Topics include primary sources (guides to manuscript and archival collections, collections of printed documents, and government publications) and secondary works. Secondary work topics include agriculture, education, railways, Metis, science, mines, literature, provinces and regions.

Arts and Literature

Contemporary Canadian Musicians Series by Gale Canada Staff
Call Number: ML 102 .P66 C66 1997
Biographical information, selected discographies and further readings are provided.
Encyclopedia of Canadian Rock, Pop, and Folk Music by Rick Jackson
Call Number: ML 102 .P66 J34 1994
Twenty years in the making, this comprehensive guide to Canadian recording artists, their music and their lives, and their hits, has been written for music afficionados and curious listeners alike.
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada by Helmut Kallmann (Editor); Mark Miller (Editor); Gilles Potvin (Editor); Robin Elliott (Editor); Kenneth Winters (Editor)
Call Number: ML 106 .C36 E52 1992
The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada explores the nation's music in all its richness and variety, from school bands to rock superstar, from community music festivals to the great concert halls. It describes the development of music as it has been and is studied, performed, and composed throughout Canada.
Contemporary Canadian Artists by Gale Canada Staff
Call Number: N 6548 .C65 1997
A dictionary of Canadian artists by Compiled by Colin S. Macdonald
Call Number: N 6548 .M3 1975 v.1-7
"Canada's first biographical work of living and dead painters, engravers, sculptors, carvers, potters and ceramists." Includes bibliographies.
A guide to Canadian children's books in English by Deirdre Baker and Ken Setterington
Call Number: PN 1009 .A1 B35 2003
Organized by age and genre, this work examines Canadian board books, picture books, folk tales, poetry, books for beginning readers, novels for children ages 7 to 12 and novels for children older than 12. Each entry outlines the plot of the story, main characters, and setting of each story. Some works are identified as being "Highly Recommended" - as the authors consider these books to be the best in Canadian children's literature.
Take One's Essential Guide to Canadian Film by Wyndham Wise (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .C3 P687 2003 Print & E-book
Take One's Essential Guide to Canadian Film is the most exhaustive and up-to-date reference book on Canadian film and filmmakers, combining 700 reviews and biographical listings with a detailed chronology of major events in Canadian film and television history.
John Robert Colombo's Famous Lasting Words by John Robert Colombo
Call Number: PN 6081 .J54 2000 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
Contains 6000 quotations by 2500 contributors. Includes keyword and subject index.
Native North American literature : biographical and critical information on native writers and orators from the United States and Canada from historical times to the present by Janet Witalec, editor
Call Number: PS 508 .I5 N38 1994 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
This work provides biographical and critical information on historical and contemporary Native American writers and orators from the United States and Canada. It is divided into two parts: Oral literature and Written literature.
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada by W. H. New (Editor)
Call Number: PS 8015 .E53 2002 E-book, House of Learning Library, & Williams Lake Library
This up-to-date reference book brings together 300 leading Canadianists to look at literature in Canada from a variety of perspectives.
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature by Eugene Benson; William Toye (Editor)
Call Number: PS 8015 .O9 1997 House of Learning Library, & Williams Lake Library
This exciting new edition reflects this vivid flowering, adding more than 360 new entries as well as updating material from the original to reflect recent publications and changes in the biographies of writers previously included.
Contemporary Canadian Authors by Robert Lang
Call Number: PS 8071 .C65 1995
A new Canadian version of the highly successful and award-winning Contemporary Authors Series, this publication provides biographical information on 203 Canadian contemporary novelists, playwrights, journalists and scriptwriters.
Profiles in Canadian Literature by Jeffrey M. Heath
Call Number: PS 8071 .P764 v.7,8 E-book
Profiles in Canadian Literature 2is an interesting collection of essays about such infamous Canadian writers as Robertson Davies, Al Purdy, Margaret Atwood, Alice Munro, and Rudy Wiebe to name a few. Each entry describes the Canadian author in four sections: a brief essay about the writer's work; a chronology of the works; comments by the writer, and comments by other critics. At the end of each entry, a list of the author's primary works and criticisms are presented.
Art and architecture in Canada : a bibliography and guide to the literature to 1981 by Loren R. Lerner & Mary F. Williamson
Call Number: N 6545 .L47 1991 Print & E-book
Annotated entries include books, exhibition catalogues, theses, journal articles and association reports.
Canadian Art by general editors Charles C. Hill and Pierre Landry
Call Number: N 910 .O7 N22
This catalogue of the works in the National Gallery of Canada is still being published (the TRU Library has volumes 1 and 2). The works included in this set focus on paintings, sculpture, drawings, prints, decorative arts and diploma works of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.
Canadian Film and Video by Loren R. Lerner
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .C2 L47 1997 Print & E-book
This extensive bibliography and reference guide is an invaluable resource for researchers, practitioners, students, and anyone with an interest in Canadian film and video.
Bibliography of Theatre History in Canada : the beginnings through 1984 by John Ball; Richard Plant (Editor)
Call Number: PN 2301 .B33 1993
A revision and complete updating of the editors' previous bibliography of Canadian theatre history and its supplement, this volume contains more than 8,000 new entries. Topically arranged, with author and keyword indexes it includes contributions from Patrick O'Neill, Jean Cléo Godin, Leonard Doucette, David Gardner, Anton Wagner, and Malcolm Page.

Social Sciences and Business

Handbook of North American Indians by William C. Sturtevant (Editor); Bruce G. Trigger
Call Number: E 76.2 .H36 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
Multi-volume reference work on Indigenous Peoples of North America.
Volume 12 – Plateau - describes the prehistory, history, and cultures of the Secwepemc (Shuswap), Nlaka’pamux (Thompson), Lil’wat (Lillooet), Syilx (Okanagan), and others.
FP Markets : Canadian Demographics
Call Number: HC 111 .F52 (Storage)
Provides estimated statistics for population, households, retail sales, language, labour force, occupations, schooling, housing, income, marital status. Includes data on 76 economic regions, 288 census divisions, 33 metropolitan areas, 111 census agglomerations, 692 census subdivisions, plus Canada, the provinces and territories.
Canadian Company Histories by editor, Tina Grant
Call Number: HD 2809 .C35 1996
Provides detailed information on the founding, development, key events, significant people, historical performance and future direction of 80 of Canada's most important companies.
FP survey, mines & energy
Call Number: HD 9506 .C2 F3 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
"Financial and operational information on publicly traded Canadian mining and energy resource companies."
The Blue book of Canadian business
Call Number: HF 5071 .B58 Ebook
Directory of Canadian businesses with annual sales or revenue exceeding $50 million. Also includes chief executive biographies.
FP survey, industrials
Call Number: HG 5151 .F53 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
"Financial and operational information on publicly traded Canadian manufacturing and service companies."
Recent social trends in Canada, 1960-2000 by edited by Lance W. Roberts ... [et al.]
Call Number: HN 103.5 .R42 2005 Print & E-Book
This book summarizes the major waves of change in Canadian society for the last 40 years. Each chapter documents the following trends: age, community, women, labour, management, stratification, social relations, the state, mobilizing institutions, social forces, ideologies, households, lifestyle, leisure, education, integration, and attitudes and values.
Women in Canada at a glance : statistical highlights
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781100208497
Publication Date: 2012
Women in Canada at a Glance is designed to serve as both a quick source of up-to-date statistical data on women and girls in Canada and a guide to the comprehensive report from Statistics Canada and Status of Women Canada, Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report, Sixth Edition (2012).
Profiling Canada's Families III by Vanier Institute of the Family Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HQ 560 .P76
History of Canadian Childhood and Youth by Neil Sutherland; Jean Barman; Linda Hale
Call Number: HQ 792 .C2 S942 1992
This comprehensive bibliography provides complete coverage of the English-language literature on contemporary Canadian childhood and youth. It covers scholarly, professional, and other writings, including books, monographs, the reports of government commissions, scholarly and professional articles, and magistral and doctoral dissertations.
Canadian encyclopedia of social work by Francis J. Turner, editor
Call Number: HV 12 .C36 2005 E-book, House of Learning Library & Williams Lake: Reference
Over 500 articles covering all aspects of the field of Canadian Social Work practice. Topics include Aboriginal Issues, Codes of Ethics, Human Rights, Sexual Minorities, Suicide and more. Some entries have bibliographic references.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America by John M. Herrick (Editor); Paul H. Stuart (Editor)
Call Number: HV 12 .E497 2005 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
ISBN: 0761925848
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America is a unique reference book that provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential people, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail. Editors include specialists in the social welfare history of each nation, and they have collaborated with scholars from a variety of academic disciplines to prepare entries of varying length addressing these issues. Included in each entry are suggestions for further reading that will guide readers to the rich resources available for learning about the history of North American social welfare. The Encyclopedia also provides cross-references for important topics.
The Language of Canadian Politics: A Guide to Important Terms and Concepts by John McMenemy
Call Number: JA61 .M33 2006 E-book
Publication Date: 200
Contains almost 600 cross-referenced brief essay entries on the many facets of the Canadian political system, including institutions, events, laws, concepts, and public policies.
Info source. Guide to sources of federal government information
Call Number: JL 5 .I53 2007
Canadian constitutional documents consolidated by editors, Bernard W. Funston & Eugene Meehan.
Call Number: KE 4168 .C38 2007 LAW
Canadian Family Law by Malcolm C. Kronby
Call Number: KE 539.2 .K76 2010
Now in its tenth edition, Canadian Family Law provides information on recent developments in family law, such as same-sex marriage, alternative dispute resolution and child support.
Martin's annual criminal code
Call Number: KE 8814.5 .M2 LAW & Williams Lake - old editions
Education in Canada : a bibliography by E. G. Finley
Call Number: LA 11 .F56 1989

Science and Medicine

The Observer's handbook
Call Number: QB 9 .R7
Contains narrative and tabular data to assist amateur astronomers. Emphasizes the sky over Canada and the northern United States.
A Field Guide to Western Trees by George A. Petrides
Call Number: QK 133 .P48 1992 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
Trees in Canada by John L. Farrar
Call Number: QK 201 .F37 1995 House of Learning & Williams Lake Library
Ten years in preparation, this is the most comprehensive book on the trees of Canada and the northern United States ever published. Aids in tree identification by organizing tree species into 12 groups, based primarily on leaf shape and arrangement. Includes sections on the meaning of tree names, maps of forest regions of Canada, plant hardiness zones in Canada, an index of English and Latin Names, and an index of French common names.
Common and Scientific Names of Aquatic Invertebrates from the United States and Canada : Cnidaria and Ctenophora by Stephen Cairns; Committee on Common Names of Cnidaria and Ctenophora (American Fisheries Society) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: QL 375 .C65 2002
Common and scientific names of aquatic invertebrates from the United States and Canada. Decapod crustaceans by Austin B. Williams, chair ; Lawrence G. Abele ... [et al.] (Committee on the Names of Decapod Crustaceans of the Crustacean Society).
Call Number: QL 444 .M33 C66 1989
Common and scientific names of fishes from the United States and Canada by C. Richard Robins, chairman ... [et al.] (Committee on Names of Fishes)
Call Number: QL 627 .C66 1991 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
Handbook of Snakes of the United States and Canada by Albert Hazen Wright; Anna Allen Wright; Jonathan A. Campbell (Foreword by)
Call Number: QL 666 .O6 W7 1994
The main section of Volume I comprises in-depth accounts of twenty-nine snake species, from Leptotyphlopidae (blind snakes) to Opheodrys (green snakes). Volume II includes species accounts of nineteen species, from Oxybelis (pike-headed tree snakes) to Sistrurus (ground rattlesnakes, pigmy rattlesnakes, and massasaugas), as well as a glossary and an index for both volumes
Peterson Field Guide to Mammals of North America by Fiona Reid
Call Number: QL 717 .R45 2006
The only guide to include paintings and photographs of the animals as well as photographs of mammal skulls, it has 80 color plates, plus 46 additional color illustrations and black-and-white drawings, nearly 400 range maps, and more than 100 color photographs.
Compendium of pharmaceuticals and specialties [electronic resource] by Canadian Pharmaceutical Association
Call Number: QV 738 .C739 2007 (Online)
This resource lists commonly used pharmaceuticals in Canada. It provides full colour reproduction of products, a therapeutic guide,
directories and a comprehensive index of generic and brand names

The electronic version only allows for 2 concurrent users. When finished, please use the "logout" button otherwise the session is locked out for another user.
Hortus third : a concise dictionary of plants cultivated in the United States and Canada by initially compiled by Liberty Hyde Bailey and Ethel Zoe Bailey ; revised and expanded by the staff of the Liberty Hyde Bailey Hortorium
Call Number: SB 45 .B22 1976
“Includes the description [uses, propagation and cultivation] and correct botanical name with its author or authors for 281 families, 3301 genera and 20, 397 species.” Includes index of common names.

Article Databases

What's a Database?

Article databases contain information about articles, and often include the full-text of the articles as well.

While searching our discovery service will find articles for you, databases allow you do more controlled and precise searching.

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database spans nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains: about 2,000 journals; approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews; citations to abstracts of dissertations. Updates: unknown.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains over 17,000 business, legal and news sources
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.
Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
Research reports and webinars on Economic Trends (Canadian, Provincial, Metropolitan and International); Industry Sector Economics; Consumer and Business Confidence; Travel and Tourism; Organizational Performance and Public Policly. Updated regularly.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
The Canadiana Online collection contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications over the past three and a half centuries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.

Other Suggestions

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Monthly updates.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and retrospective citations and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals. Weekly updates.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Updates: unknown
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.

Websites

Related Associations & Societies

Websites

Web Resources

AlbertaSource.ca : the Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Atlas of Canada
Provides topographical, reference, as well as Census maps, Toporama topographical maps, and a wide range of maps on socio-economic, industry, and environmental topics.
British Columbia Local Histories Bibliography (UBC Library)
Canada Year Book (CYB) Historical Collection
Discover Canada's social and economic past through the people, events and facts from 1867 to 1967. Browse individual issues by years, by theme, or by tables, chart, maps and photos.
The Canadian Literature Centre
Canadian Pamphlets and Broadsides
Provides access to pre-1930 Canadian pamphlet and broadside holdings of the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library at the University of Toronto. Includes items printed in Canada, by Canadian authors, or about Canadian subjects.
Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia
Website. Information on Canadian plays, playwrights and theatre practitioners.
CBC Digital Archives
Provides clips from CBC coverage back to the 1930s on topics relating to Canada's peoples, arts & entertainment, conflict & war, politics & economy, life & society, disasters & tragedies, science & technology, and sports.
Civilization.ca - Online Resources for Canadian Heritage
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Historical Maps on the Internet | ActiveHistory.ca
Historical Perspectives on Canadian Publishing | Historical Perspectives on Canadian Publishing
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Industry Canada (previous name). Provides access to Canadian business and industry statistics, company information, regulations and standards, as well as international trade statistics.
Internet Archive Canadian Libraries Collection
Website. Digitized collections are from the Government of Canada, selected universities, associations, public libraries and schools. Many collections are being updated on an ongoing basis.
New Brunswick Literary Encyclopedia
Peel's Prairie Provinces
Contains both an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of 7,500+ digitized books, 4.8 million+ newspaper articles, 16,000 postcards, and 1,000 maps.
Robarts Centre for Canadian Studies
VPL - BC Index: Simple Search

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

ACS Citation Style (American Chemical Society)
APA Citation Style 7th ed (American Psychological Association)
Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. But check with your instructor!
APA Citation Style 6th ed. (American Pscyhological Association)
guide to citing your sources for Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. Check with your instructor for which edition to use.
ASA Citation Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Sociology and other social sciences, but check with your instructor to be sure.
Chicago Manual of Style
Style guide. Commonly used for History, the Humanities and various other disciplines. However, check with your instructor.
CSE Citation Style (Council of Science Editors)
Biology and other sciences.
MLA Citation Style (Modern Language Association)
Style guide. Frequently used in English and Humanities studies. Check with your instructor to be sure.

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Some really great resources to consult are:

Guide to Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to recognize high quality information on the internet and in print.
Following a Citation Trail
Discover how to find a book from a reading list or a bibliography/reference list.
Citation Management
This guide provides an overview of citation management, its benefits, and information about getting started with citation management software.

Quick Links

Article Databases
See the full list of all TRU article databases
Find your Subject Librarian
Connect with the librarian best able to help you in your research
Forms
Find the right form to request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), book a group study room, suggest a book purchase, and more!
TRU Library Events & Workshops Calendar
Calendar listing current workshop offerings at the TRU library

Canadian Studies

Live Help

Home

Search the Library

KEY RESOURCES

Books to Get You Started

Why Reference books?

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and General Works

History and Geography

Arts and Literature

Social Sciences and Business

Science and Medicine

Article Databases

What's a Database?

Best Bets

Other Suggestions

Websites

Related Associations & Societies

Websites

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Quick Links

Ask a Question

How to Ask for Help