New Books in the TRU Law Library

This timely book explores the impact of the shift from voluntary to mandatory due diligence and the sustainability challenges on global value chains. It examines how businesses, regulators, and stakeholders navigate this transition to align economic growth and liability regimes in supply chains with environmental and human rights protections.

This book provides clear, pragmatic guidance on the legal, commercial, and practical issues in outsourcing agreements and relationships. The authors draw on extensive experience and deep industry knowledge to present strategies and tactics for drafting and negotiating different kinds of outsourcing contracts.

Financial institutions raise unique problems for corporate governance and culture that are not found in other corporate sectors. This book examines the various forms of organisational culture in financial institutions and its interplay with corporate governance and regulatory regimes.

This significantly updated second edition of European Fashion Law explores the fundamental legal issues that fashion businesses should be aware of in order to thrive in the modern marketplace. Using an easy-to-follow structure, Burbidge outlines the lifecycle of a brand and highlights relevant legal considerations at each stage of the development of the business.

This comprehensive book provides an up-to-date and accessible overview of the relevant law and key issues surrounding company voluntary arrangements (CVAs). Andrew Keay and Peter Walton discuss the historical background as well as the procedural and legal requirements of CVAs.

This book constitutes the first holistic and comprehensive analysis of corporate debt restructuring law through the lens of viability. Viability has been a largely unexplored notion in European and English scholarship, and in the US there has not yet been any systematic examination of the Chapter 11 provisions through the lens of viability.

This Research Handbook examines contemporary animal law and its relationship to the philosophical and legal idea of animal rights. Adopting an inter- and multidisciplinary approach, it explores the role of legal theory, legal practice, strategic litigation and advocacy in the global development of laws protecting animals.

This book considers how we might conceptualize European ways of life. It critically examines the political, legal and social implications of European values in the face of challenges such as climate change, war and global insecurity. It outlines European histories of colonialism and imperialism, delving into the role of the European intellectual in the age of technical reason.

This thoroughly revised second edition examines the current state of literature in law and political economy, drawing on scholarship across a variety of subject areas, geographies and orientations. Capturing recent developments in the field, it expands upon the range of debates and themes explored by the previous edition.

This book provides a strong introduction to the principal domains of legal knowledge by examining a structured list of legal maxims, many originating in medieval Roman and canon law. Oriented by historical and methodological approaches, it explores legal thought and reasoning through a comparative lens.

This book highlights the inequity and lack of sustainability generated by the modern conception of property as the cornerstone of the world-capitalist economy that has led to the Anthropocene. The book challenges existing paradigms around property, focusing on the commons as a defining element of its ecosocial function.

This timely and comprehensive book reveals the multifaceted nature of modern contract law and practice. Providing a broad overview of research methods in contemporary contract law, it identifies the various modes of inquiry and argumentative techniques in this dynamic field.

This thought-provoking Research Handbook explores accountability for human rights violations in terms of international law from a rich spectrum of angles. The volume brings together experts on this topic from many different backgrounds, and offers both inspiration and practical guidance.

This book examines the exhaustion doctrine of intellectual property (IP) rights, under which the rights of an IP owner are terminated after a predetermined exercise of those rights. It situates the law of IP exhaustion against a backdrop of legislative debate, policy, and technological developments across jurisdictions.

This book provides a cross-cultural analysis of how legislatures, judiciaries, NGOs, and corporations worldwide address workplace sexual harassment. Informed by the ongoing cultural relativism v. universalism debate, Cher Weixia Chen draws upon four theoretical models of gender and policy.

Tom Hadden presents a much-needed critique of the current state of human rights law and explains how its standards and procedures can be developed to meet major economic, social and environmental change. The book highlights the inconsistencies between established human rights conventions and other international law regimes.

This Research Handbook examines the many ways in which health engages human rights law. It also explores current debates which challenge traditional perspectives of rights and identifies potential new directions in which human rights law might venture, including the legal status of medical devices, a human right to medicines and conscientious objections to assisted dying.

Since its establishment, the work of the Human Rights Council (UNHRC) has been subject to many interpretations, with differing theories proffered and conclusions drawn. This thoroughly revised second edition of The UN Human Rights Council dissects every aspect of the organisation's work.

In this timely Research Handbook, leading legal scholars join forces with political scientists to discuss court adjudication in common and civil law systems. Ultimately, the Research Handbook advances the understanding of the judiciary by highlighting elements of the justice system that are conducive to trust and judicial legitimacy, while suggesting avenues for further research.

This incisive book fills a critical gap in understanding the future of international law in the Hydrocene, an era defined by profound impacts on the global water cycle. It outlines the entire gamut of legal mechanisms available for the three natural states of water: liquid, gaseous, and solid.

This unique Research Handbook examines voluntary assisted dying (VAD) laws through the lens of regulatory theory. It sheds light on interdisciplinary perspectives and outlines policy debates around the revision and implementation of these laws. Ben P. White brings together global experts to discuss the law and practice of VAD in all permitting jurisdictions.

This Concise Encyclopedia provides a definitive and comprehensive overview of the emerging field of sports law. Entries identify the core principles, relevant regulatory basis and seminal jurisprudence of each topic. Leading international experts examine the most pressing aspects of sports law such as good governance, regulation and sports integrity, as well as influential cases.

This insightful book examines the U.S. Supreme Court in a broad historical context, concentrating on the influence of political movements, military and economic developments, the arts and technology on the law and vice versa. This fascinating book is a vital resource for lawyers and policymakers interested in understanding the U.S. Supreme Court and society.

This timely book examines European and national standards and institutions for sustaining judicial independence and upholding the foundational value of the rule of law. It highlights the nuanced and essential role of independent courts in fostering the shared values of the EU against a background of democratic backsliding.

This Research Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of European anti-discrimination law, outlining developments in both intenational and national law, as well as in EU law and the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights. Critically assessing both legal doctrine and social impact, it describes and analyses emerging trends in this dynamic area of law.

This Research Handbook provides a critical examination of the landscape of EU securities law, including crypto-markets, financial innovation and the Capital Markets Union. It explores the enforcement of EU securities regulation and related instruments, such as the EU Takeover Regulation. Leading specialists discuss the full length and breadth of the subject.

With perceptions of crisis and the need for the EU to fund its objectives, including debt repayment, becoming increasingly important, this timely book considers the potential of EU tax law for revenue raising. Previous attempts to harmonize EU tax law have been impacted by questions over State sovereignty and EU competence in matters of taxation.

This Research Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of Third World Approaches to International Law (TWAIL) with chapters exploring different facets of TWAIL scholarship. It covers major doctrines and topics of international law, as well as TWAIL perspectives on central historical and theoretical debates.

This timely book explores how the domestic courts of states across Europe, North America and Oceania have defined and applied their substantive laws in universal jurisdiction trials for core international crimes. It considers what 'universal justice' actually looks like in the national courtrooms of diverse states.

This timely book explores the contribution of international human rights and investment law to advancing climate action. It presents a unique perspective on climate change in an international law context, analyzing areas of law that are critical to the achievement of the Paris Agreement's goals in the absence of sufficient state ambition.

A timely guide to the growing and fast-changing body of sustainability law in mining and energy, this book navigates the increasingly complex picture as the world struggles with the energy transition and climate change.