A quick introduction to the concept of open access in universities.
For more information on how you can make your research more visible, visit:
This video was produced by the Canadian Association of Research Libraries and McGill University Library.
Licence by Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0
Open Access (OA) literature is:
After an author or copyright-holder consents to making their work free on the Internet, minimal or no restrictions are attached to the work.
In most fields scholarly journals do not pay authors. Authors can therefore consent to OA without loss of revenue. OA is compatible with peer-review and all major OA initiatives for scientific and scholarly literature support the importance of OA. Most journal editors and referees participating in peer-review donate their time and expertise.
OA literature is not free to produce but is often less expensive to produce than conventionally published literature. Issues surrounding OA center around whether scholarly literature can be made available at no charge and whether there are alternative methods to fund OA than by charging readers or creating access barriers.
Suber, P. (2012). Open Access Overview. Retrieved from http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/fos/overview.htm.
Learn more about the benefits of Open Access resources, see:
Open Access initiative began over 40 years ago. The most important at the time was the Project Gutenberg. As the Internet was increasingly used as a research tool, several developments advanced Open Access sources:
Listing of Open Access articles in Physics, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science, and Quantitative Biology.
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
This service offers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject and laguages. The collection of over 6,000 journals is searchable at both the article and journal level with access to over 500,000 articles. This is an invaluable Open Access resource.
OpenDOAR allows you to search for respositories or search repository contents.
About 13000 scientific journals are now available in the Open Science Directory. This directory is established in support of scientific work in developing countries.
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
The Open Access Directory is a wiki where the open access community can create and maintain simple factual lists about open access to science and scholarship.
The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.