Newspapers

Contains over 17,000 business, legal and news sources

Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.

This collection is an archive of early English news media, housed at the British Library. With over 1,000 historical documents, it traces the evolution of newspapers from parliamentary reports to coffeehouse news culture. Now digitized, students and researchers can search nearly 1 million pages covering everything from government debates to 1600s humour.
 

Accessibility Information

With over 240 newspaper titles and around 6.4 million pages, this collection captures regional perspectives, dialects, and attitudes, offering an alternative view to London’s national press from the 18th to the 20th century. These newspapers played a key role in spreading information in towns and cities, giving unique insight into history as it unfolded.
 

Accessibility Information

Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896–2004 provides full-text access to over a century of the Daily Mail, one of Britain’s most influential newspapers. Students can explore articles, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations that reflect British society, politics, and culture from the late Victorian era through the early 21st century. It’s a valuable resource for studying media history, public opinion, and major historical events as reported in the press.
 

Accessibility Information

Searches a wide scope of historical newspapers from the 17th - 20th century

This archive offers over 100 years (1888-2010) of global financial, economic, and political reporting from the Financial Times, known for its distinctive salmon-colored pages. Coverage spans topics like industry, international politics, management, and culture. With global reach and authoritative analysis, it’s a key resource for studying business and economic history. 

 

Accessibility Information
 

The full facsimile run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper.

The Times Digital Archive provides access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.

As an online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Sunday Times (London), The Sunday Times Digital Archive is an essential resource for teachers, students and researchers interested in history, politics, social and cultural history, law, genealogy and criminology

Associated Press Collections Online is a digital archive that gives you a behind-the-scenes look at how news was made throughout the 20th century. You’ll find original news stories, notes from reporters, internal memos, and tons of photos and videos. It’s a great resource for exploring topics in journalism, history, politics, sociology, and more, especially if you're curious about how major events were covered at the time.

Accessibility Information
 

Access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.