Research Guides: Geology: Home

Subject Guide

She/Her

Email Me

Subjects: Adventure Studies, Agricultural Related Sciences, Chemistry, Geology, Physics, Tourism Management, Trades & Technology, Veterinary Technology

Live Help

Profile

Elizabeth Rennie

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

House of Learning 448

250-371-5775

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, English, Environmental Science, Literatures, Languages, and Performing Arts, Natural Resource Science, Science, Social Work, Using the TRU Library

Home

Key Resources

Science Citation Index

Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
ScienceDirect

Access to 2,500 full-text journals from of scientific, technical and medical fields. NOTE: Not all titles are available in full text. Full text online access to articles is limited to the journals that the TRU library subscribes to through Science Direct.

GEOSCAN
GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan).
This database features over 85,000 records primarily of the Earth Sciences (Geological Survey of Canada publications, National Atlas maps, Topographic maps, Remote sensing publications), and we are continually adding records on Mining, Materials and Energy. We also have external publications authored by NRCan scientists and specialists.
GEOSCAN also provides links to publications available online or for free download, as well as other information regarding NRCan programs.
USGS Multimedia Gallery
Images, videos, and audio from the USGS (US Geological Survey)

Encyclopedia of Geology by Robin Cocks (Editor); Ian Plimer (Editor); Richard C. Selley (Editor)
Call Number: QE 5 .E516 2005 Volumes 1-5

This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by Paul L. Hancock (Editor); Brian J. Skinner (Editor); David L. Dineley (Editor)
Call Number: QE 5 .O94 2000

Publication Date: 2001

Over 900 entries, from acid rain to zoogeomorphology, and over 200 expert contributors Complete coverage of the Earth sciences, including geology, geophysics, geochemistry, geodesy, geomorphology, soil science, glaciology, oceanography, climatology, meteorology, enviromental and resource development, volcanology, and the history of the Earth sciences Over 800 pages with 600 illustrations and 16 pages of full colour plates Useful appendices, including detailed index, geological timescale, facts and figures about the Earth and its near neighbours, table of chemical elements. The Companion is a unique and important reference source which will be invaluable to anyone with an interest in the Earth, its history, formation, and environment.

Collections of Visualizations in Geoscience Topics

Books to Get You Started

In addition to the books listed in Key Resources, here are a few titles of interest.

Geoscience Handbook, AGI Data Sheets 2016, 5th Edition by edited and compiled by Mark B. Carpenter and Christopher M. Keane ; graphics by Kat Cantner.
Call Number: QE 5 .G35 2016

Publication Date: 2016

"The Geoscience Handbook is the quick reference tool for key metrics and concepts, a guide to cornerstone papers and recent developments, as well as short tutorials on topics that may not be familiar to all geoscientists." -- Provided by publisher.
Geology of British Columbia by Sydney Cannings; Richard Cannings; JoAnne Nelson; Nelson C. Cannings
Call Number: QE 187 .C36 2011

ISBN: s

Sydney Cannings and Richard Cannings tell the story of the province's geology and the history of its living creatures. Starting 200 million years ago, when there was no British Columbia west of the present Rocky Mountains, the authors take us on a journey through time, describing the collisions of island chains called terranes, the sliding of plates, the erupting of volcanos, and the movement of glaciers that created British Columbia as we know it today. They also describe the rich legacy of fossils left behind as a result of all this geological activity.
Geotour guide for Kamloops by R.J.W, Turner
Call Number: G 155 .B7 T87 2008 E-Book & (Government Documents)

Publication Date: 2008

This GeoTour field guide explores how the community of Kamloops lives on, lives from, and lives with, the land.-- Introduction.
Four Billion Years and Counting by Robert Fensome [and 6 others], editors.
Call Number: QE 13 .C2 F68 2014

Four Billion Years and Counting unveils the geological history of Canada and makes connections between geology and social issues such as climate change, hazards such as landslides and earthquakes, and other environmental factors. The text features contributions from some 100 specialists, and is richly illustrated with over 500 colour photographs and diagrams.
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by Haraldur Sigurdsson (Editor); Bruce Houghton (Editor); Steve McNutt (Editor); Hazel Rymer (Editor); John Stix (Editor)
Call Number: QE 522 .E53 2015 Print & E-book

The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes; it provides a comprehensive source of information on the causes of volcanic eruptions and both the destructive and beneficial effects.
Quaternary Geology of Canada and Greenland by R. J. Fulton (Editor)
Call Number: QE 71 .G48 1989 V. 1-2 House of Learning & Williams Lake Library

Publication Date: 1990
Geology of the Cordilleran Orogen in Canada by edited by H. Gabrielse and C. J. Yorath
Call Number: QE 185 .G46 1992 V.1-2

Publication Date: 1992
Writing for Science by Robert Goldbort
Call Number: T 11 .G626 2006

Publication Date: 2006

This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today’s experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals.

Open Textbooks and Select Ebooks

Open Access Textbooks

Physical geology by Steven Earle
Call Number: QE 28.2 .E27 2015 E-book

Publication Date: 2015

"Physical Geology is a comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada, especially British Columbia, and also includes a chapter devoted to the geological history of western Canada. The book is a collaboration of faculty from Earth Science departments at Universities and Colleges across British Columbia and elsewhere."--BC Campus website.

Select Ebooks (Available to TRU Students, Faculty and Staff Only)

The Geology of Washington and Beyond by Eric Swenson Cheney (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: 2016

The 20 chapters of The Geology of Washington and Beyond--an outgrowth of a geologic symposium--present the substantial advances in recent research on the geologic history of Washington State. The 32 contributors used new conceptual developments such as sequence stratigraphy, identification and matching of terranes, and neotechtonics, as well as breakthroughs in technology such as lidar mapping, paleomagnetism, and new methods of radiometric dating, to examine the fascinating geology of Washington State and beyond. Also included is geologic mapping in areas previously known only by reconnaissance. This book will influence resource management decisions, as well as disaster and land-use planning in the region. The introductory chapters make the book accessible for undergraduate courses in geology and to the general public.
The Geology Companion by Gary Prost; Benjamin Prost
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: 2017

This practical guidebook provides a basic grounding in the principles of geology and explains how to apply them. Using this book, readers will be able to figure out whether they are standing on an ancient seafloor, coal swamp, or sand dune. They will be able to determine the geologic hazards in their neighborhood, where to look for fossils and minerals, or where best to drill a water well. In plain English, The Geology Companion sheds light on the processes that shape the earth and how geology affects people in their daily lives.
Why Geology Matters by Doug Macdougall
Call Number: QE 28.3 .M334 2011 Print & E-book

Publication Date: 2011

Volcanic dust, climate change, tsunamis, earthquakes--geoscience explores phenomena that profoundly affect our lives. But more than that, as Doug Macdougall makes clear, the science also provides important clues to the future of the planet. In an entertaining and accessibly written narrative, Macdougall gives an overview of Earth's astonishing history based on information extracted from rocks, ice cores, and other natural archives. efforts to predict earthquakes progressing? Macdougall also explains the legacy of greenhouse gases from Earth's past and shows how that legacy shapes our understanding of today's human-caused climate change.

Article Databases

What's a Database?

Article databases contain information about articles, and often include the full-text of the articles as well.

While searching our discovery service will find articles for you, databases allow you do more controlled and precise searching.

Best Bets

Science Citation Index

Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
ScienceDirect

Access to 2,500 full-text journals from of scientific, technical and medical fields. NOTE: Not all titles are available in full text. Full text online access to articles is limited to the journals that the TRU library subscribes to through Science Direct.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is the world's largest academic search engine providing some free access to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, technical reports). See http://libguides.tru.ca/google/scholar for more information on how to link to Google Scholar results through the TRU library.

Other Suggestions

Geoscience World
This site can be used to find references to articles in journals covered by Geoscience World. TRU does not have access to the fulltext. Students and faculty need to check the Library's Discover service or use Interlibrary loan to get fulltext articles.

SpringerLINK

Provides online access to electronic journals and covers the sciences, technology, life sciences, and engineering. Update frequency: N/A
Wiley Online Library

Provides full online content (complete full text of articles) from over 1500 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals and books. Weekly updates.
Academic Search Complete

Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.

Websites

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

ACS Citation Style (American Chemical Society)
APA Citation Style 7th ed (American Psychological Association)
Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. But check with your instructor!
APA Citation Style 6th ed. (American Pscyhological Association)
guide to citing your sources for Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. Check with your instructor for which edition to use.
ASA Citation Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Sociology and other social sciences, but check with your instructor to be sure.
Chicago Manual of Style
Style guide. Commonly used for History, the Humanities and various other disciplines. However, check with your instructor.
CSE Citation Style (Council of Science Editors)
Biology and other sciences.
MLA Citation Style (Modern Language Association)
Style guide. Frequently used in English and Humanities studies. Check with your instructor to be sure.

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Some really great resources to consult are:

Guide to Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to recognize high quality information on the internet and in print.
Following a Citation Trail
Discover how to find a book from a reading list or a bibliography/reference list.
Citation Management
This guide provides an overview of citation management, its benefits, and information about getting started with citation management software.

Quick Links

Article Databases
See the full list of all TRU article databases
Find your Subject Librarian
Connect with the librarian best able to help you in your research
Forms
Find the right form to request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), book a group study room, suggest a book purchase, and more!
TRU Library Events & Workshops Calendar
Calendar listing current workshop offerings at the TRU library

Geology

Subject Guide

Live Help

Profile

Home

Key Resources

Books to Get You Started

Books to Get You Started

Open Textbooks and Select Ebooks

Open Access Textbooks

Select Ebooks (Available to TRU Students, Faculty and Staff Only)

Article Databases

What's a Database?

Best Bets

Other Suggestions

Websites

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Quick Links

Ask a Question

How to Ask for Help