Research Guides: Data and Statistics: Home

Librarian

He/Him

Subjects: Architectural & Engineering Techology (ARET), Communication and Visual Arts, Computing Science, Data Science, Engineering, Horticulture, Mathematics, Science, Statistics

Live Help

Statistics by subject area: TRU Library Guides

Home

KEY RESOURCES

Odesi This link opens in a new window
Odesi contains over 3,535 datasets for the social sciences, with more than 13,000 additional dataset descriptions available for searching. Use Odesi to directly access DLI microdata from Statistics Canada
BC Stats This link opens in a new window
The following publications' current issues, in full text, can be found on this site:- Current Statistics (latest issues)- Business Indicators (latest issues)- Consumer Price Index (Victoria) (latest issues)- Exports (B C Origin)- Tourism Sector Monitor Earnings & Employment Trends (latest issues)- Labour Force Statistics (Victoria) (latest issues)- Migration Highlights- Immigration Highlights- Small Business Quarterly- Quarterly Regional Statistics (Victoria)

CANSIM
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada. Provides access to the Canadian Censuses, the Agricultural Censuses, Aboriginal Peoples Survey, environmental data, Elections Canada data, and the time series in CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System).

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to industry reports, infographics, and consumer research in many different sectors.

Google Dataset Search
From Google: Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful. Dataset Search is still in beta. If you notice an issue with the product or have a recommendation on how we could improve the product, please submit feedback to Google.
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Industry Canada (previous name). Provides access to Canadian business and industry statistics, company information, regulations and standards, as well as international trade statistics.
Statistics Canada Library
Search the contents of Statistics Canada's holdings. Much of the content has been digitized and is available online. Print materials may be made available upon request: biblionet@statcan.gc.ca

Data Liberation Initiative

Through the Statistics Canada Data Liberation Initiative (DLI), student, faculty and staff at TRU have access to Statistics Canada's non-confidential microdata files, databases, and geographic files. Access to these files is restricted to the TRU community and their usage is governed by an agreement between TRU and Statistics Canada: see the Data Acquisition and Use Agreement.

Raw data files require knowledge of SPSS, SAS, or an open source alternative such as PSPP, and geographic files are available in two formats: MapInfo or ArcInfo.

To access data available through the DLI, please contact Amy Paterson.

Tools

OpenStreetMap
Global map database that uses digitized satellite photos with crowd sourced GPS tracks.
Google Earth
wikimapia
Open content, collaborative mapping project.
TRU Computer labs - SPSS
QGIS
Free, open source Geographical Information System (GIS).
PSPP
PSPP is a free, open source statistical software package that is sometimes used as an alternative to SPSS.
Scribble Maps
Very easy to use, web-based program that lets you draw (scribble) on and share maps. Uses Google Earth, ESRI, Open Street and other base maps. Import/export KML data for use with Google Earth.

Social Science Data

Canada

Aboriginal Statistics & Data
TRU Library research guide that provides links to key sources of statistics and data about aboriginal peoples in Canada.
Canadian Crime and Justice Statistics
CANSIM
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada. Provides access to the Canadian Censuses, the Agricultural Censuses, Aboriginal Peoples Survey, environmental data, Elections Canada data, and the time series in CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System).
Census Data & Statistics (Canada)
Government of Canada Open Data
The GC Open Data Portal is a collaborative effort amongst Government of Canada departments and agencies to provide access to data managed by the government that can be leveraged by citizens, businesses, and communities for their own purposes. Find data sets on topics related to health, the environment, agriculture and natural resources.
Canadian Opinions, Polls & Surveys Guide
This guide suggests some resources available from the TRU Library and on the Internet that contain information related to Canadian Opinions, Polls & Surveys.
Health Indicators
This Statistics Canada file contains a subset of the Health Indicators Database. It provides a set of indicators which measure the health of the Canadian population and the health care system. Health indicators are designed to provide comparable information at the health region and provincial/territorial level.
Historical Statistics of Canada
This electronic document contains about 1,088 statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s. The statistical tables can only be viewed with Excel or another spreadsheet program.
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Industry Canada (previous name). Provides access to Canadian business and industry statistics, company information, regulations and standards, as well as international trade statistics.
Statistics Canada Library
Search the contents of Statistics Canada's holdings. Much of the content has been digitized and is available online. Print materials may be made available upon request: biblionet@statcan.gc.ca

British Columbia

BCStats
BC STATS is the statistical agency for British Columbia. This web site provides access to British Columbia statistics.
BC Vital Statistics Agency
This site provides birth-related, death-related and marriage-related statistics for British Columbia.
Crime Statistics for British Columbia
This site provides crime related and policing statistics for British Columbia.

USA & International

EuroStat
A comprehensive selection of statistical data on the European Union, its member states and candidate countries. Most data cover the period 1995-2005 and some data include other countries such as the USA & Japan. Data is accessed through predefined tables.
FedStats
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies including the U.S. Census Bureau.
Statistics and numeric data
The University of Auckland Library's link to international and national web-based sources of official statistics organized by country or theme.
Penn World Table
Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. A very useful tool for cross-country economic comparisons.
Population Reference Bureau: DataFinder
This database contains data on 133 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables.)
University of Toronto Map & Data Library
The University of Toronto's Data Library has compiled an excellent resource list of electronic statistical information with a strong Canadian presence.
UN Data
Provides access to free UN statistical databases and reference sources on topics including economics, health, environment, gender, food and agriculture, human development, and industry. Also provides links to data services by country
World Bank Open Data
Development data by country and indicator.
World Health Organization: Data
International health-related statistics from the World Health Organization.

Geographic Data

Statistics Canada Products

Census Geography Portal
Statistics Canada provides a wide range of information about the geography of the census. Find maps, spatial information products, reference sources and guides, and attribute information products.
GeoSearch
Clickable web-based tool for mapping census data.
Geography Index of Terms
Index of geographical units and terms used by and in relation to Canadian Census data from 2016
GEOSCAN
GEOSCAN is a bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan). The database features over 98,000 publication records primarily of the earth sciences (Geological Survey of Canada, National Atlas, Topographic maps, Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation, Remote Sensing and Geodesy, and Surveyor General), and is continually growing with records on energy efficiency, metals, minerals and mining. GEOSCAN also contains records on external publications authored by NRCan scientists and specialists or with NRCan support.

Geographical Data & Reference Products

Atlas of Canada
Provides topographical, reference, as well as Census maps, Toporama topographical maps, and a wide range of maps on socio-economic, industry, and environmental topics.
BC Economic Atlas
The BC Economic Atlas is a user friendly, publicly available web-based mapping application. It is a hub for business and investment information and gives you a picture of what’s happening with B.C.’s economy. Having easily accessible and integrated data allows you to access critical information quickly at no cost. [Description from website]
City of Kamloops: GIS & Maps
City of Kamloops Geographical Information Systems departmental webpage. Find Kamloops base maps using ARCGIS.com, static PDF maps, open data downloads (development, drainage, parks, hydrography, etc.), and more.
Community Mapping Network
With the objective of planning sustainable communities, the CMN integrates and makes accessible data from a variety of sources.
DataBC (BC Government: Open Data)
The BC Government's open data catalogue includes KML and SHP files on a range of topics, from Agricultural Land Reserve Lines to Caribou Herd Locations, to FloodPlain maps etc. Open data is free & downloadable from the www.
Floodplain Maps: BC Ministry of Environment
FrontCounter BC Discovery Tool
Tool that allows you identify current land usage within B.C. Find out whether land is privately held, designated as a Provincial or National Park, a First Nations Reserve, privately owned, etc.
GeoBC
Free maps and statistics related to BC.
GeoGratis
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada which provides geospatial data including raster data, vector data, and a database of ground control points.
Kamloops Sustainable Community Atlas
A project of the Kamloops-South Thompson Mapping and Capacity Partnership, the atlas is part of the Community Mapping Network. Sub-atlases include the community food security atlas, the species and habitat atlas, the socio-economic atlas, the community asset atlas, the geology atlas and others.
TNRD Mapping Services & GIS
Static PDF maps and an interactive mapping application available.