Research Guides: Political Science: Books to Get You Started

Live Help

Why Books?

Books and eBooks can provide a solid foundation for topic background or introductory research, helping scholars refine questions, select keywords, and navigate topic-specific vocabulary. Many academic texts also offer references and bibliographies, pointing to other valuable sources you may wish to explore. In short, they’re an essential starting point for any research project.

Books to Get You Started

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

The ethnopolitical encyclopaedia of Europe by edited by Karl Cordell and Stefan Wolff
Call Number: GN 492 .E86 2004

This reference book examines the politics of ethnicity throughout the continent as a whole. This book looks at the nature of the politics of ethnicity and analyzes those politics on a country-by-country basis. Provides thorough entries, maps, tables and easy-to-use country guides.
The Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: JA 51 .S7 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake (Stacks)

This general reference source provide up-to-date information on a country by country basis. It includes brief summaries on each country’s economy, energy and natural resources, labour, finance, and international trade.
Concise Oxford dictionary of politics by edited by Iain McLean and Alistair McMillan
Call Number: JA 61 .C665 2003

Includes over 1,700 entries on a wide range of topics such as NGOs, butterfly ballots, decentralisation, ethnic cleansing, and direct action. This dictionary takes and international approach in its coverage.
Encyclopedia of government and politics by edited by Mary Hawkesworth and Maurice Kogan
Call Number: JA 61 .C66 V. 1-2 2004

Examines political theory, processes and behaviour, policy-making, pressure groups, contemporary ideologies, international relations, nationalism, arms control and disarmament, human rights and democratization. Entries are lengthy and contain references guiding the reader to more authoritative sources.
Encyclopedia of political theory by Mark Bevir, editor
Call Number: JA 61 .E515 2010 V.1-3

"Encyclopedia of political theory" is a 3 volume set that describes the political structures around the world, discusses the various types of government and legal systems, and major political theories are examined.
Political keywords : a guide for students, activists, and everyone else by Andrew Levine
Call Number: JA 61 .L48 2007

This work brings together an alphabetical listing of contemporary political terminology with suggested readings and a comprehensive glossary.
The Routledge dictionary of twentieth-century political thinkers by edited by Robert Benewick and Philip Green
Call Number: JA 83 .R725 1992

This book identifies important contemporary thinkers (including non-Western theorists) and provides information on how they have influenced political thought.