Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.
Subject headings to explore: • Archaeology--Methodology--Handbooks, manuals, etc. • Mayas--Material culture. • Land settlement patterns--Peru--Andahuaylas (Province)--History. • Archaeological thefts--Iraq. • Historic sites--Conservation and restoration--Moral and ethical aspects. • Excavations (Archaeology)--Utah--Great Salt Lake Desert.
Books to Get You Started
Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note:E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty
Call Number: CC 70 .E53 2008 v. 1-3 Main Library Reference
Publication Date: 2007-10-23
The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe.
This handbook gathers original, authoritative articles from leading archaeologists to compile the latest thinking about archaeological theory. The authors provide a comprehensive picture of the theoretical foundations by which archaeologists contextualize and analyze their archaeological data. Student readers will also gain a sense of the immense power that theory has for building interpretations of the past, while recognizing the wonderful archaeological traditions that created it. An extensive bibliography is included.
Call Number: CC 77 .H5 E53 2002 Main Library Reference
Publication Date: 2002-05-31
The Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology is a ground-breaking compendium of information about this ever-growing field. Concentrating on the post-1400 period as well as containing generic explanations of historical archaeology where needed, the encyclopedia is compiled by over 120 experts from around the world and contains more than 370 entries covering important concepts and sites.
Call Number: E 159.5 .A68 2009 V.1-4 (Main Library Reference)
This set is organized geographically into four volumes with eight sections representing general regions of North America north of Mexico. Includes over 350 essays written by experts and suggestions for further research.
This essential handbook explores the relationship between the postcolonial critique and the field of archaeology, a discipline that developed historically in conjunction with European colonialism and imperialism. In aiding the movement to decolonize the profession, the contributors to this volume--themselves from six continents and many representing indigenous and minority communities and disadvantaged countries--suggest strategies to strip archaeological theory and practice of its colonial heritage and create a discipline sensitive to its inherent inequalities.