JSTOR represents over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Does not provide access to current issues of periodicals. JSTOR provides archival access to journals and access to journals varies from publisher to publisher. In most cases two to five years plus the current calendar year are excluded.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by 
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.
Subject headings to explore:
• Photography
• Photography history
• Photography, artistic
Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why should you bother to consult these books?
Answer: Reference books help create a framework around your topic. They can help guide you in asking the right questions. Reference books can help researchers become more efficient database searchers - in formulating which keywords (or search terms) to use. Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies (!!) - a listing of some of the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic. In a nutshell.... reference books are a great way to begin your research.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by 
Looking at Photographs : A Guide to Technical Terms by 
The Focal encyclopedia of photography by 
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by 
The Abrams Encyclopedia of Photography by 
The photography encyclopedia by 
Understanding a Photograph by Some really great resources to consult are: