This guide lists some resources you may find useful for the Tree Wiki assignment. Use the tabs at left to navigate. Please note: You will need to log in with your TRU ID and password to access many of these resources.
Here are some suggestions for eBooks to get you started with research. Tip: If an eBook has an index (typically at the end), look there for tree names with page number(s). Also, for some eBooks there is a "search within" option (usually in the top left column of the page).
Trees of Western North America by
Covering 630 species, more than any comparable field guide, Trees of Western North America is the most comprehensive, best illustrated, and easiest-to-use book of its kind. Presenting all the native and naturalized trees of the western United States and Canada as far east as the Great Plains, the book features superior descriptions; thousands of meticulous color paintings by David More that illustrate important visual details; range maps that provide a thumbnail view of distribution for each native species; "Quick ID" summaries; a user-friendly layout; scientific and common names; the latest taxonomy; information on the most recently naturalized species; a key to leaves; and an introduction to tree identification, forest ecology, and plant classification and structure. The easy-to-read descriptions present details of size, shape, growth habit, bark, leaves, flowers, fruit, flowering and fruiting times, habitat, and range. Using a broad definition of a tree, the book covers many small, overlooked species normally thought of as shrubs, as well as treelike forms of cacti and yuccas. With its unmatched combination of breadth and depth, this is an essential guide for every tree lover. The most comprehensive, best illustrated, and easiest-to-use field guide to the trees of western North America Covers 630 species, more than any comparable guide, including all the native and naturalized trees of the United States and Canada as far east as the Great Plains Features specially commissioned artwork, detailed descriptions, range maps for native species, up-to-date taxonomy and names, and much, much more An essential guide for every tree lover
Trees of Vancouver by
Trees of Vancouver is an invaluable guidebook for visitors and residents and an authoritative tool for horticulturists, landscape architects, naturalists, and the nursery industry. It provides detailed, easy-to-understand information on over 470 kinds of trees. Each entry contains particulars about the origins, general appearance, merits, problems, and uses in landscaping of individual species. To aid further in identification, entries specify locations where outstanding examples can be seen. The text is complemented by hundreds of the author's delicate drawings of the leaves, flowers, fruits, or other distinctive features of individual trees, and by colour plates of 86 trees. For the reader who wants to spend a pleasant day exploring and identifying specimens, there are detailed maps of several locations in the city where a wide variety of trees can be seen.
An Atlas of the World's Conifers by
A 2014 Choice Magazine "Outstanding Academic Title"An Atlas of the World's Conifers is the first ever atlas of all known conifer species. It is a comprehensive work describing the natural distribution, biogeography, diversity and conservation status of the conifers on all continents.
New Trees by
New Trees complements the existing standard encyclopaedic references to trees by Bean and Krüssmann, providing comprehensive botanical descriptions and horticultural commentary on over 800 tree species introduced to cultivation in recent decades, for which there is no comparable source of information.Commissioned and produced by the International Dendrology Society, this major reference work covers species grown in the United Kingdom, Europe and North America, with horticultural notes from a network of growers and enthusiasts backed up by recent scientific studies. The resulting accounts are packed with information presented in an accessible style. The book is illustrated with over a hundred line drawings by Hazel Wilks, and 580 photographs, portraying many rarely seen trees. Introductory chapters discuss conservation issues and modern techniques of tree-growing as well as a background to the species accounts. A unique feature is the cross-referencing to other texts, making it easy to locate information on species not described here. There is a comprehensive glossary and bibliography.
Trees and Forests, a Colour Guide by
Trees are one of the dominant features of our existence on earth and play a fundamental role in the environment. This book gives the reader an overview and understanding of trees. Subject areas covered include ecology and conservation, tree anatomy and evolution, pathology, silviculture, propagation, and surgery. The different chapters cover trees from various world habitats, from northern boreal and montane coniferous forests to tropical and subtropical rainforests. The book is fully illustrated throughout with the highest quality color photos and is invaluable to professionals and students in plant science, plant biology, ecology, and conservation and to those working in forestry and arboriculture.
A Primer of Botanical Latin with Vocabulary by
Latin is one of two acceptable languages for describing new plants, and taxonomists must be able to translate earlier texts in Latin. Providing a simple explanation of Latin grammar along with an in-depth vocabulary, this is an indispensable guide for systematic botanists worldwide. All relevant parts of speech are discussed, with accompanying examples as well as worked exercises for translating diagnoses and descriptions to and from Latin. Guidelines for forming specific epithets are also included. The authors cross-reference their grammar to Stearn's Botanical Latin and to articles in the International Code of Nomenclature for Algae, Fungi and Plants. The comprehensive vocabulary is enhanced with terms from recent glossaries for non-flowering plants - lichens, mosses, algae, fungi and ferns - making this an ideal resource for anyone looking to hone their understanding of Latin grammar and to translate botanical texts from the past 300 years.
People, Forests, and Change by
We owe much of our economic prosperity to the vast forested landscapes that cover the earth. The timber we use to build our homes, the water we drink, and the oxygen in the air we breathe come from the complex forested ecosystem that many of us take for granted. As urban boundaries expand and rural landscapes are developed, forests are under more pressure than ever. It is time to forgo the thinking that forests can be managed outside of human influence, and shift instead to management strategies that consider humans to be part of the forest ecosystem. Only then can we realistically plan for coexisting and sustainable forests and human communities in the future. In People, Forests, and Change: Lessons from the Pacific Northwest, editors Deanna H. Olson and Beatrice Van Horne have assembled an expert panel of social and forest scientists to consider the nature of forests in flux and how to best balance the needs of forests and the rural communities closely tied to them. The book considers the temperate moist-coniferous forests of the US Pacific Northwest, but many of the concepts apply broadly to challenges in forest management in other regions and countries. In the US northwest, forest ecosystem management has been underway for two decades, and key lessons are emerging. The text is divided into four parts that set the stage for forests and rural forest economies, describe dynamic forest systems at work, consider new science in forest ecology and management, and ponder the future for these coniferous forests under different scenarios. People, Forests, and Change brings together ideas grounded in science for policy makers, forest and natural resource managers, students, and conservationists who wish to understand how to manage forests conscientiously to assure their long-term viability and that of human communities who depend on them.
Forestry and Biodiversity by
As global demand for forest products increases, conserving biodiversity has become more urgent and challenging. Forestry and Biodiversity advocates adaptive management - a structured approach to learning by doing - to sustain biodiversity in managed forests. It draws on the theory and principles of conservation biology and forest ecology and illustrates them, and the challenges they pose, through a practical, real-world study of commercial forestry in a coastal temperate rainforest. This book will be of interest to those who plan, or hope to influence, forest practices and the future of the environment.
The Rain Forests of Home by
This work brings together a diverse array of contributors, including conservationists, botanists, zoologists, Native Americans and ecologists, to present a multilayered portrait of the coastal temperate rain forest and its people.
The World of Northern Evergreens by
Global warming and human-driven impacts from logging, natural gas drilling, mining of oil sands, and the development of hydropower increasingly threaten North America's northern forests. These forests are far from being a uniform environment; close inspection reveals that the conifers that thrive there--pines, larches, spruces, hemlocks, firs, Douglas-firs, arborvitaes, false-cypresses, junipers, and yews--support a varied and complex ecosystem. In The World of Northern Evergreens, the noted ecologist E. C. Pielou introduces the biology of the northern forests and provides a unique invitation to naturalists, ecologists, foresters, and everyone living in northern North America who wants to learn about this unique and threatened northern world and the species that make it their home. Through identification keys, descriptions, and life histories of the conifer tree species, the author emphasizes how different these plants are both biologically and evolutionarily from the hardwoods we also call "trees."
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Frequency of updates: N/AContains scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
A bilingual index for publications from agencies and departments of the Canadian, provincial and municipal governments. Updated monthly.
