Research Guides: Engineering: Home

Librarian

He/Him

Subjects: Agricultural Related Sciences, Architectural & Engineering Techology (ARET), Chemistry, Communication and Visual Arts, Computing Science, Data Science, Engineering, Geology, Horticulture, Mathematics, Physics, Science, Statistics, Trades & Technology, Veterinary Technology

Live Help

Profile

Elizabeth Rennie

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

House of Learning 448

250-371-5775

Subjects: Biological Sciences, English, Environmental Science, Literatures, Languages, and Performing Arts, Natural Resource Science, Science, Using the TRU Library

Home

KEY RESOURCES

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Digital Library provides fulltext access to more than 140 technical journals, over 1000 standards, and approximately 900 annual conference proceedings published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access to all ACM journals and magazines online, as well as conference proceedings; more than 750,000 pages of downloadable text. In addition, it has non-ACM journals and proceedings available from affiliated organizations, such as the Computing Research Repository (CoRR). Updates: varies.

Additional Sources

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Access to 2,500 full-text journals from of scientific, technical and medical fields. NOTE: Not all titles are available in full text. Full text online access to articles is limited to the journals that the TRU library subscribes to through Science Direct.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full online content (complete full text of articles) from over 1500 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals and books. Weekly updates.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to electronic journals and covers the sciences, technology, life sciences, and engineering. Update frequency: N/A
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. Daily updates.

Books and E-books

Selected Book Titles

Ten Essential Skills for Electrical Engineers by Barry Dorr
Call Number: TK 169 E-book
Publication Date: 2014
The book is a review of essential skills that an entry-level or experienced engineer must be able to demonstrate on a job interview and perform when hired. It will help engineers prepare for interviews by demonstrating application of basic principles to practical problems. Hiring managers will find the book useful because it defines a common ground between the student's academic background and the company's product or technology-specific needs, thereby allowing managers to minimize their risk when making hiring decisions.
The electrical engineering handbook by Wai-Kai Chen, editor
Call Number: TK 147 .E36 2005 E-book
Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary by Steven M. Kaplan
Call Number: TK 9 .K39 2004
Electrical engineering is one of the largest professional disiplines in the world and as such has collected an enormous amount of unique terminology and jargon. This dictionary is the essential source of definitions of electrical engineering terms and acronyms used in todays electrical and electronics literature. It is meant to save time, to present the desired information in the place it is first looked up, and in a manner that allows the content to be more readily assimilated. Key features include: Contains over 35,000 detailed terms. Sponsored by the Institite of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the world's largest professional organization and the creator of electrical engineering standards.
Electrical Engineer's Reference Book by D. F. Warne (Editor); M. A. Laughton (Editor)
Call Number: TK 145 E-book
For ease of use, this edition has been divided into the following subject sections: general principles; materials and processes; control, power electronics and drives; environment; power generation; transmission and distribution; power systems; sectors of electricity use. New chapters and major revisions include: industrial instrumentation; digital control systems; programmable controllers; electronic power conversion; environmental control; hazardous area technology; electromagnetic compatibility; alternative energy sources; alternating current generators; electromagnetic transients; power system planning; reactive power plant and FACTS controllers; electricity economics and trading; power quality.
Making Sense by Margot Northey; Judi Jewinski
Call Number: T 11 .N67 2007
This concise guide is essential for any undergraduate student enrolled in engineering and the technical sciences. Making Sense examines the core elements of effective writing - style, grammar, punctuation, and usage - while providing guidelines and examples of five major reference styles. The text also affords excellent coverage of such issues as how to prepare proposals and project reports, how to write lab reports, and how to incorporate diagrams and other graphics into written work.

Open Textbooks

A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering
The first three chapters of this book provide a fairly complete coverage of complex numbers, the functions ex and ej and phasors. Our department philosophy is that these topics must be understood if a student is to succeed in electrical and computer engineering. These three chapters may also be used as a supplement to a circuits course. A measured pace of presentation, taking between sixteen and eighteen lectures, is sufficient to cover all but the advanced sections in Complex Numbers through Phasors. Written by Louis Scharf. -- Open Textbook Library
Notes on Diffy Qs: Differential Equations for Engineers
A one semester first course on differential equations, aimed at engineering students. Written by Jirí Lebl -- Open Textbook Library.

Websites

National Science and Engineering Research Council of Canada
NSERC aims to make Canada a country of discoverers and innovators for the benefit of all Canadians. The agency supports university students in their advanced studies, promotes and supports discovery research, and fosters innovation by encouraging Canadian companies to participate and invest in postsecondary research projects. NSERC researchers are on the vanguard of science, building on Canada’s long tradition of scientific excellence.
engrXiv - Engineering Archive
"The Open Archive of engineering".
Engineers Canada
National organization of twelve engineering regulators that licenses Canada's 290,000 members of the profession.
Engineering Institute of Canada
A federation of twelve Canadian engineering societies whose mission is to develop and promote continuing education, interdisciplinary activities and services.
Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of British Columbia
The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of British Columbia regulates and governs the engineering and geoscience professions under the authority of the Engineers and Geoscientists Act.
Engineering Careers.ca
Engineering career opportunities site.
National Academy of Engineering (US)
The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. - NEA website.

IEEE Style

IEEE Style Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab IEEE Style Overview
A basic overview of formatting papers and citations according to IEEE requirements. Good as a quick reference.