Water Treatment Technology

A concise guide to the ins and outs of water treatment plants Water Treatment Made Simple is an easy-to-understand introductionto the increasingly complex functions of water treatment plants.It's a perfect primer for anyone pursuing Water Treatment PlantOperator certification, and a succinct refresher for new hiressince it covers all the fundamental proficiencies of watertreatment, including laboratory testing, hydraulics, mathematics,chemistry, water transmission, disinfection, and microbiology.

Water purification is the process of removing undesirable chemical and biological contaminants from raw water. The goal is to produce water fit for a specific purpose. Most water is purified for human consumption (drinking water) but water purification may also be designed for a variety of other purposes, including to meet the requirements of medical, pharmacology, chemical and industrial applications. In general, the methods used include physical process such as filtration and sedimentation, biological processes such as slow sand filters or activated sludge, chemical process such as flocculation and chlorination and the use of electromagnetic radiation such as ultraviolet light. The purification process of water may reduce the concentration of particulate matter including suspended particles, parasites, bacteria, algae, viruses, fungi; and a range of dissolved and particulate material derived from the minerals that water may have made contacted after falling as rain. This new book gathers the latest research from around the globe in this field.

AWWA's most popular training handbook for water treatment operators, this handy guide provides a complete introduction to water treatment operations and equipment. It is excellent for certification exam study

Most water operators cite mathematics as the subject giving them the most difficulty on their operator certification exams, as well as on the job. This math study text is designed to help water treatment operators improve their math skills, pass certification exams, perform their jobs better, and advance their careers.The book provides hundreds of math problems in all areas of water treatment operations, from beginner to advanced. Each problem is immediately followed by the answer and the method for solving the problem. Many problems include explanatory comments to aid your understanding of the mathematical logic behind the solution.

Guidance for Professional Development in Drinking Water and Wastewater Industry recognises the water practitioners journey from the novice student phase all the way to an established expert position, both on technological and professional fronts. This book reviews various career phases and helps realise purpose, motivation, responsibilities and milestones for each professional stage. Since professional journeys are significantly different for individuals and designations, titles vary widely from organization to organization, general terminologies are used for describing career phases, mainly Student Phase, Entry-Level Professional, Mid-Level Professional and Established Practitioner.    This guide helps the reader to understand a step-by-step professional development process in the industry and at the same time receive key inputs to minimise or avoid common mistakes related to the drinking water or wastewater occupations.

Water risks and security are a major global hazard in the 21st century and it is essential that water professionals have a solid grounding in the principles of preventative risk management.This second edition of the key textbook, Risk Management for Water and Wastewater Utilities, extends beyond first principles and examines the practicalities of resilience and vulnerability assessment, strategic risk appraisal and the interconnectedness of water utility risks in a networked infrastructure. It provides an up-dated overview of tools and techniques for risk management in the context of the heightened expectations for sound risk governance that are being made of all water and wastewater utilities. Risk Management for Water and Wastewater Utilities provides a valuable starting point for newly appointed risk managers in the utility sector and offers MSc level self-paced study with self-assessment questions and abbreviated answers, key learning points, case studies and worked examples.

This book is about water - in Britain, and in the world. It is about water resources, their conservation, protection of water quality for human consumption and aquatic ecosystems. Since the publication of the first edition in 1998, major political and regulatory changes have taken place; this book provides a clear and comprehensive update of conservation and water resource management issues in the UK over the past two decades, and - in an expansion of its original UK perspective - now includes examples of global best practice. The UK's 2003 adoption of the EU Water Framework Directive has had enormous implications for the conservation and management of our water resources. In 2016, with the UK's decision to leave the EU, the governance scene is entering upon an unpredictable future regarding its major water resource policies. The Protection and Conservation of Water Resources, Second edition provides a clear and comprehensive update of conservation and water resource management issues.