Searching for videos and images in the library collections works a little differently from searching for text-based materials. We recommend exploring databases and collections directly, rather than using the Discovery Search.
Videos and images can bring your research and coursework to life.
Academic and educational videos help you visualize concepts, hear from experts, and stay engaged with the material. Try using videos to:
Videos are especially useful if you're a visual learner or working on subjects that benefit from seeing and hearing.
Images are more than just illustrations—they’re powerful tools for analysis and storytelling. Use them to:
Images help you interpret meaning beyond the text and can add depth to your arguments.
This list of databases and collections include both library-licensed and open-access materials, covering a wide range of subjects and disciplines. Please respect copyright and licensing restrictions when using media in your research and/or presentations.
This is a specialised anatomy learning resource. It used 3-D animations and imagery that demonstrate anatomical function, biomechanics and surgical procedures.
Criterion-on-Demand is an online feature film digital delivery platform designed for Educational institutions with access to over 4000 feature films.
From Publisher's website: Four Seasons of Reconciliation is a series of bilingual online resources which promote a renewed relationship between Indigenous Peoples and Canadians, through transformative and engaging learning towards anti-racism education. This initiative assists the workplace and education organizations to provide diversity and inclusion awareness through self-paced online courses featuring award-winning films, slideshows, videos, quizzes and a completion certificate provided by First Nations University of Canada.
Provides access to hundreds of NFB documentary films, animated shorts, and dramas. Update frequency: N/A.TRU Library has an institutional license for educational, non-commercial public exhibition of these streaming video films, including both publicly accessible films, and those marked "CAMPUS". This license entitles faculty to broadcast NFB streaming videos in the classroom. The content may not be downloaded, reproduced, duplicated or altered, in whole or in part. No admission or fee may be charged by the institution.
O’Reilly for Higher Education covers business and technology resources with more than 46,000 ebooks, 30,000 hours of video, learning paths, case studies and playlists.
Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Hamlet, Othello, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, and others. Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, and more. Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This first release contains over 50 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Update frequency: N/A
This list of databases and collections include both library-licensed and open-access materials, covering a wide range of subjects and disciplines. Please respect copyright and licensing restrictions when using media in your research and/or presentations.
Pro tip: Many primary source databases also include images, like photographs, maps or posters, so be sure to check them out if they fit your research topic.
