Research Guides: Natural Resource Science: Article Databases

Live Help

Home

KEY RESOURCES

Science Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
Academic Search Complete
Research articles on multidisciplinary topics.

Dictionary of Natural Resource Management
Comprehensive collection of words and concepts that have one or more aspect within the field of natural resource management.
BC Conservation Data Centre
The British Columbia Conservation Data Centre systematically collects and disseminates information on plants, animals and ecosystems at risk in British Columbia.
Citation Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc..)
Style guide. Check with your instructor to find out which citation style to use.

Books to Get You Started

General Sources

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Botanical Latin : history, grammar, syntax, terminology, and vocabulary by William T. Stearn
Call Number: QK 10 .S7 1992

Provides the description, history and names of plants used internationally by botanists.
Plants of British Columbia by Hong Qian and Karel Klinka
Call Number: QK 203 .B7 Q25 1998 House of Learning & Williams Lake

Lists the common and scientific names of vascular plants, bryophytes and lichens
Ainsworth and Bisby's dictionary of the fungi by by P.M. Kirk ... [et al.] ; with the assistance of A. Aptroot ... [et al.]
Call Number: QK 600.35 .A35 2001

Covers lichens, mushrooms, slime moulds, water moulds and yeasts. The dictionary claims to provide an entry point into the total sum of knowledge on mycology.
Dictionary of Natural Resource Management by Julian and Katherine Dunster
Call Number: S 922 .D86 1996 E-Book

Comprehensive collection of words and concepts that have one or more aspect within the field of natural resource management.
The biodiversity atlas of British Columbia by written by M.A. Austin and A. Eriksson
Call Number: SD 146 .B7 D45 2009 E-book, House of Learning & Williams Lake

Provides a broad overview of BC's range of terrestrial and freshwater biological diversity as well as human-induced threats affecting biodiversity.
Concise encyclopedia of plant pathology by P. Vidhyasekaran
Call Number: SB 782 . V525 2004

This book addresses the latest nomenclature and classification of bacterial, fungal, viral, and phytoplasma pathogents and the systematic position of each crop pathogen.

Trees

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Trees in Canada by John L. Farrar
Call Number: QK 201 .F37 1995 House of Learning & Williams Lake Library

Ten years in preparation, this is the most comprehensive book on the trees of Canada and the northern United States ever published. Aids in tree identification by organizing tree species into 12 groups, based primarily on leaf shape and arrangement. Includes sections on the meaning of tree names, maps of forest regions of Canada, plant hardiness zones in Canada, an index of English and Latin Names, and an index of French common names.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees by David More, John White
Call Number: QK 474.87 .M67 2002

Details over 1000 species of trees. Identifies the popular and Latin names for trees. Gives a description of the bark, tree shape, species hardiness and best growing zones. Beautiful colour illustrations.
Silvics of North America v.1 Conifers v.2 Hardwoods by Russell M. Burns and Barbara H. Honkala
Call Number: QK 481 B.875 1990 v.1-2

Considered the authority on North American species. Gives detailed information on habitat, life history, growth and yield, special uses, genetics and provides a list of works cited for each species.
Conifers : the illustrated encyclopedia by text by D.M. van Gelderen ; photographs by J.R.P. van Hoey Smith
Call Number: SB 428 .G452 1996 v. 1 & 2
Field guide to pests of managed forests in British Columbia by Kelly E. Finck, Patricia Humphreys, Graham V. Hawkins
Call Number: SB 764 .C3 F56 1989

Categorizes and lists pests by: defoliators, sucking insects, woody tissue feders, branch/stem rust, broom rust, dwarf mistletoe, needlecasts, blights and rusts, root diseases, abiotic injuries and animal damage.
Encyclopedia of forest sciences by editor-in-chief, Malcolm E. Sumner
Call Number: SD 126 .E529 2004 v.1-4

Entries in this 4 volume set range over biophysical and socio-economic aspects of forestry, forests, forest products, forest conservation, forest management and forest services.
Silvicultural terms in Canada by Policy, Economics and International Affairs Directorate, Canadian Forest Service, Natural Resources Canada.
Call Number: SD 126 .S54 1995

Provides the definitive description of the major terms within this discipline.
Silviculture : concepts and applications by Ralph D. Nyland
Call Number: SD 391 .N96 2002

Provides updated information on different methods and treatments in silviculture and gives practical applications for each method.

Soils

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Canadian system of soil classification by Soil Classification Working Group. Canadian Agricultural Services Coordinating Committee
Call Number: A53-1646 1998 E-Book & (Government Documents)

Presents the current state of soil taxonomy in Canada. Each chapter is devoted to each of the nine soil orders and the great groups and subgroups within each order. Every chapter defines soil, soil horizons, and other basic terms, and explain how to key out the classification of soil.
Soil conservation surveys guidebook
Call Number: BC .FO-14/53 2001 (Government Documents)

Developed to support the Forest Practices Code (act and regulations), this item provides an overview of post-harvest, post-treatment inspection procedures, and how soil conservation surveys should be carried out.
Long-term soil productivity study in British Columbia by R. W. Holcomb
Call Number: BC .FO-18/256 1996 (Government Documents)

Describes the implementation of British Columbia's Long-term Soil Productivity (LTSP) project.
Handbook of Soil Science by editor-in-chief, Malcolm E. Sumner
Call Number: S 591 .H23 2000

ISBN: 0849331366

Covers soil physics, soil chemistry, soil biology and biochemistry, soil fertility and nutrition, pedology and soil mineralology.
Soils in our environment by Duane T. Gardiner, Raymond W. Miller
Call Number: S 591 .G228 2008
Elements of the nature and properties of soils by Nyle C. Brady, Ray R. Weil
Call Number: S 591 .B792 2004

Discusses soil formation, properties of mineral soils, soil water characteristics and behaviour, soil colloids, organisms of soil, soil erosion and its control, and soil taxonomy.

Ecology/Environment

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Forest ecology : a foundation for sustainable forest management and environmental ethics in forestry by J.P. Kimmins
Call Number: QH 541.5 .F6 K55 2004

Looks at ecosystems as a functional whole, with chapters that touch on: biogeochemistry, solar radiation, temperature, wind, soil, fire, human population, and forest management.
The atlas of global conservation : changes, challenges and opportunities to make a difference by Jonathan Hoekstra ... [et al.] ; edited by Jennifer L. Molnar.
Call Number: S 936 .A75 2010

Birds

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

North American bird folknames and names by by James Kedzie Sayre
Call Number: QL 677 .S28 1996
Birds of North America by Fred J. Alsop III
Call Number: QL 681 .A625 2001
Field guide to birds of North America by written by Edward S. Brinkley ; foreword by Craig Tufts ; photographs supplied by VIREO, the Academy of Natural Sciences
Call Number: QL 681 .B75 2008
Peterson field guide to birds of North America by Roger Tory Peterson ; with contributions from Michael DiGiorgio
Call Number: QL 681 .P455 2008
Birds of Southwestern British Columbia by Richard Cannings; Tom Aversa; Hal Opperman
Call Number: QL 685.5 .B7 C38 2005

ISBN: 1894384962

Publication Date: 2005

Now in its 7th printing! Discover more than 200 birds species in Birds of Southwestern BC. This guide covers the Lower Mainland, including Greater Vancouver, the Fraser Valley, Fraser Canyon, Manning Park and Whistler; the mid-coast as far north as Bella Coola; Vancouver Island; the Gulf Islands; and the Sunshine Coast. Aimed at beginning and intermediate birders who wish to identify the birds they regularly spot in their area, the book will also appeal to more experienced local and visiting birders who want to learn more about the behaviour, habitat and seasonal occurrence of local birds. Packed with useful information, this handy, portable guide tells you how to identify local birds, find out where they live and what they eat, how to attract birds to your yard and how to select a pair of binoculars. Birds of Southwestern British Columbia features colour coding by species a checklist to record your sightings 400+ full-colour photos a compact, easy-to-carry size insights from three expert birders
Birds of Interior BC and the Rockies by Richard Cannings
Call Number: QL 685.5 .B7 C37 2009

ISBN: 9781894974592

Publication Date: 2009

More than 250 bird species are included in this handy guide to the birds of Interior BC and the Rockies. The region covered runs from the east slopes of the Coast Mountains to the Rockies, including the Okanagan, Thompson, Kootenays, Cariboo-Chilcotin; Jasper, Banff and Waterton national parks; and Highway 16 west from Jasper to Smithers. Birds of Interior BC and the Rockies is aimed at beginner and intermediate birders who wish to identify the birds they regularly spot in this area. However, the book will also appeal to more experienced local and visiting birders who want to learn more about the behaviour, habitat and seasonal occurrence of local birds. Packed with useful information, this handy, portable guide tells you how to identify local birds, find out where they live and what they eat, how to attract birds to your yard and how to select a pair of binoculars. Birds of Interior BC and the Rockies features colour coding by species a checklist to record your sightings 400+ full-colour photos a compact, easy-to-carry size insights from expert birders
Owls of the world by Claus König & Friedhelm Weick
Call Number: QL 696 .S8 K657 2008

This work provides information on: identification features, habitat, geographical variation, food, breeding, and habitats, conservation efforts, and the latest taxonomy based on DNA analysis.

Fish

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Pacific fishes of Canada by [by] J. L. Hart
Call Number: QL 623.4 .H37 1973
McClane's Field guide to freshwater fishes of North America by edited by A.J. McClane : illustrations by Frances Watkins, Richard E. Younger, and Ned Smith.
Call Number: QL 625 .M28 1978
Field guide to the freshwater fishes of British Columbia by J. D. McPhail, R. Carveth.
Call Number: QL 626.5 .B74 M32 1993
Encyclopedia of fishes by consultant editors, John R. Paxton & William N. Eschmeyer ; illustrations by David Kirshner
Call Number: QL 614.7 .E52 1998
The freshwater fishes of British Columbia by J.D. McPhail ; illustrated by D.L. McPhail.
Call Number: QL 626.5 .B7 M364 2007
Common and scientific names of fishes from the United States and Canada by C. Richard Robins, chairman ... [et al.] (Committee on Names of Fishes)
Call Number: QL 627 .C66 1991 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library
Biology of fishes by Quentin Bone, Richard H. Moore
Call Number: QL 615 .B674 2008

Grasslands and Range Management

Grasses and grassland ecology by David J. Gibson
Call Number: QH 541.5 .P7 G53 2009

Covers the morphology, anatomy, physiology and systematics of grasses, their population, community and ecosystem ecology, their global distribution, and the effects of disturbance and grassland management.

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Grasslands of the world by edited by J.M. Suttie, S.G. Reynolds and C. Batello
Call Number: QH 541.5 .P7 G735 2005

"This book brings together information on the contrasting characteristics, condition, present use and problems of the world's main natural grasslands."
Grasslands of the Southern Interior by text by Kristi Iverson.
Call Number: QH 541.5 .P7 I93 2004 (Government Documents)

Discusses one of Canada's most endangered ecosystems.
Range management : principles and practices by Jerry L. Holechek, Rex D. Pieper, Carlton H. Herbel.
Call Number: SF 85 .H56 2004

Includes fundamental topics, such as range plant physiology, range plant ecology, stocking-rate considerations, and grazing system selection and the most recent research.
Rangeland health field guide by D.A. Fraser.
Call Number: BC .FO-7/23 2007 E-book & (Government Documents)

This guide is intended for field use and to supplement the Ministry of Forests and Range training courses in rangeland monitoring, rangeland, assessments, designing remedial measures, rangeland soils, and grass identification.

Article Databases

Best Bets

Science Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.
GreenFILE
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Frequency of updates: N/AContains scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Agricola
Encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
BioOne Complete
Electronic journal collection in biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Coverage ends in 2020

Other Suggestions

Canadian Research Index
A bilingual index for publications from agencies and departments of the Canadian, provincial and municipal governments. Updated monthly.

Websites

Related Associations & Societies

Canada:

Related Associations and Societies

United States:

Websites

British Columbia

BC Conservation Data Centre
The British Columbia Conservation Data Centre systematically collects and disseminates information on plants, animals and ecosystems at risk in British Columbia.
BC Fisheries and Aquaculture
BC Government Publications
Environment - Province of British Columbia
B.C. Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development
BC Natural Resources Library - E-publications
Biological Control : A Guide to Natural Enemies in North America
E-Fauna BC
Forest and Range Practices Act
Forest Practice Code Guidebooks
Glossary of Forestry Terms in British Columbia
Grasslands Conservation Council of British Columbia
Ministry of Agriculture and Lands
Mountain Pine Beetle Action Plan
Provincial Agricultural Land Commission (B.C.)
Environmental Reporting BC

Websites

Canada

Canadian Forest Service
Canadian Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Canadian Soil Information Service
Environment Canada
Environment Canada - Publications
Natural Resources Canada
National Forestry Database Program
Canadian Forests
Canada's Forest History
International Development Research Centre
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Canadian Wildlife Service
Natural Resources - Library of Parliament Research Publications
Canadian Agriculture Library
Digital collection of departmental publications that showcase the Canadian Department of Agriculture’s history, organization and work over the past century.
Species at Risk Public Registry

Websites

United States and Other Jurisdictions

Citation Guides

Common Citation Styles

ACS Citation Style (American Chemical Society)
APA Citation Style 7th ed (American Psychological Association)
Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. But check with your instructor!
APA Citation Style 6th ed. (American Pscyhological Association)
guide to citing your sources for Psychology and other social sciences, e.g., Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, Criminology. Also Nursing and sometimes Business. Check with your instructor for which edition to use.
ASA Citation Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Sociology and other social sciences, but check with your instructor to be sure.
Chicago Manual of Style
Style guide. Commonly used for History, the Humanities and various other disciplines. However, check with your instructor.
CSE Citation Style (Council of Science Editors)
Biology and other sciences.
MLA Citation Style (Modern Language Association)
Style guide. Frequently used in English and Humanities studies. Check with your instructor to be sure.