Research Guides: Biology: Books to Get You Started

Live Help

Why Books?

Books and eBooks can provide a solid foundation for topic background or introductory research, helping scholars refine questions, select keywords, and navigate topic-specific vocabulary. Many academic texts also offer references and bibliographies, pointing to other valuable sources you may wish to explore. In short, they’re an essential starting point for any research project.

Books to Get You Started

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty

Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology by managing editor, A.D. Smith
Call Number: QD 415 .A25 O94 2000 E-Book

This electronic book presents broad coverage of terms encountered in the literature of biochemistry and molecular biology.
A student handbook for writing in biology by Karin Knisely
Call Number: QH 304 .K64 2005

This handbook helps students learn the conventions required to be successful in the biological field.
- understanding the scientific method
- learning to read scientific journal articles
- tips for writing research papers, presenting posters, etc...
Dictionary of gene technology: genomics, transcriptomics, proteomics by Günter Kahl
Call Number: QH 506 .K333 2001

Over 6,500 terms that focus on nucleic acids, their structure, modification, processing, transfer and function analysis.
World atlas of biodiversity : earth's living resources in the 21st century by Brian Groombridge & Martin D. Jenkins
Call Number: QH 541.15 .B56 G76 2002

This book provides a comprehensive map-based view of global biodiversity. It provides a wealth of facts and figures on the importance of forests, wetlands, marine and coastal environments and other key ecosystems.
Magill's encyclopedia of science : plant life by editor, Bryan D. Ness
Call Number: QK 7 .M34 2003 E-book

This 4 volume has been completely digitized and available to read through your computer. Topics covered include: adaptations, greenhouse gases, natural selection, ecosystems, and more. The appendices include charts on plant names, classification, authoritative websites, etc.
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia by Bernhard Grzimek
Call Number: QL 7 .G7813 2004 v. 1-17

This 17 volume set details all aspects of animal life. Volume 1: Lower Metazoans and Lesser Deuterostomes, Volume 2: Insects, Volume 3: Protostomes, Volume 4-5: Fishes, Volume 6: Amphibians, Volume 7: Reptiles, Volume 8-11: Birds, Volume 12-16: Mammals, and Volume 17: Cumulative Index. Each entry includes colour illustrations and bibliographies identifying other key resources.
Encyclopedia of marine mammals by editors, William F. Perrin, Bernd Würsig, J.G.M. Thewissen
Call Number: QL 713.2 .E53 2009

This 2nd edition contains revised and updated entries on all aspects of marine mammals, including information on climate change, ecology and conservation.
Animal behavior desk reference : a dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution by Edward M. Barrows
Call Number: QL 750.3 .B37 2001

This annotated dictionary defines over 1200 terms in the fields of animal behaviour, ecology, evolution and related branches of biology. At the back of this reference book, is a list of all the sources the author used to determine the definitions.
Encyclopedia of animal behavior by edited by Marc Bekoff ; foreword by Jane Goodall
Call Number: QL 750.3 .E53 2004 V.1-3

Entries cover a variety of topics from species and behaviour patterns to analysis of populations, species and ecosystems. Entries are signed and contain a list of sources directing the user to further information.
Dictionary of microbiology and molecular biology by Paul Singleton, Diana Sainsbury
Call Number: QR 9 .S56 2006

Over 14,000 terms from such fields as mycology, protozoology, virology, etc. Extensively cross-referenced.
Encyclopedia of applied plant sciences by editor-in-chief, Brian Thomas ; editors, Denis J. Murphy, Brian G. Murray
Call Number: TP 248.16 .E537 2003 v.1-3

This 3 volume set addresses the core knowledge, theories, and techniques employed by plant scientists, while also concentrating on applications in research and industry.
A dictionary of zoology by edited by Michael Allaby
Call Number: QL 9 .C66 2009 Print & E-book

Terms defined cover the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, genetics and physiology.