Skip to main content

ARTstor

ARTstor is an online resource with over one million images for use in coursework. This guide will help you with searching and saving its images or with its other many tools.

Live Help

Chat loading...

Home

About ARTstor

ARTstor is a database that contains more than one million images of art, architecture, and photography which span various cultures and time periods.

ARTstor YouTube Channel

How to use ArtStor

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lKqRgVIS5pw&list=PLO02jn_Rv19qfosyGkk3oZ6g6bo9Xp68o  provides instructional and various informative videos.  These videos present such topics as, how to:

  • register for an account
  • make image groups
  • download images to presentations
  • manage your profile
  • perform a faceted search

How do I access ARTstor?

From the Library homepage, click on the "Article Databases" tab located above the centre search box.

Click on "Alphabetical List of Databases" link and then the letter "A".

Scroll down through the list and click on "ARTstor".

Create An Account

Unregistered users can search, save, and print images, and can view the contents of public Shared Folders.

Registering for an account with ARTstor enables you to save image groups, add personal notes, and download the Offline Image Viewer.

The option to register is located in the "Log in to ARTstor" box in the upper right hand corner.

Click on "Not Registered?" to create your account.

An account with ARTstor also allows you easier access from your home computer.

However, your first log-in must be from a campus computer.

You have 120 days from each campus log-in to directly access ARTstor at www.artstor.org and via the links provided on this site.

If you are logging in for the first time from a non-campus computer, you must access ARTstor through the Library database page (please see "Where is ARTstor" above).

ARTstor Tutorials (Online videos and handouts)

ARTstor General Guide: How to find, view, use, organize, present, and download images; also how to include your own personal collection of images.
    
ARTstor 3-minute Tutorials on YouTube:  More than one million images: Interdisciplinary collections in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences

    1. "Registering" for an ARTstor account
    3. "Faceted Search"
    3. "How to Unlock a Password Protected Folder"More than one million images: Interdisciplinary collections in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences
    4. "Folder and Image Groups"
    5. "Export to PowerPoint"

ARTstor Handouts & Subject Guides

Handouts for students, faculty, interdisciplinary topics, and outlines of training sessions. Instructions on how to upload personal collections and how to teach with ARTstor.

ARTstor Support

ARTstor is an interdisciplinary collection of over one million digital images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Be sure to view this Quick Tour tutorial video help you understand all the features of ARTstor.

Find Images

Browse

You can browse by:

  • geography
  • classification (painting, photography, etc)
  • collection
  • featured group

Browsing is available from the Welcome Page or from the navigation menu at the top of the page via Find > Browse ARTstor by. . .

Search

Basic Search

Enter a phrase or word into the keyword search box on the Welcome Page. Results listed will be from all ARTstor collections.

Advanced Search

Limit results by keywords, dates, geography, and collections. The Advanced Search option opens a separate pop-up window; be sure your computer is set to allow for pop ups.

The Advanced Search option can be found under the basic serach box on the welcome page or from the navigation menu at the top of the page. Choose File > Advanced search.

 

Faceted Search

A Faceted Search is a set of classifications or values that provide an intuitive way to refine search results by category.

This tutorial explores user options for narrowing search results within the ARTstor Digital Library.

Using Images

Printing Images


To print a single image: in the Image Viewer, click the print icon. If you zoom in on any detail when you were viewing the image, that view will print.

To print an image group: your selected image group must be open. Click on Share and choose Print Image Group. You can choose to print the full record or a brief record with instructor notes.

Sharing Images

You can save jpegs and print images, and share images by using the URL link.

To share, click the image caption to open the information window. Use the "File Properties" tab, select and copy the "Image URL" link, and paste it into an email, website, or presentation.

Viewing Images

Default view for images is thumbnail.  You can change how you view images in your Profile settings.

View: Double-click on the thumbnail view to enlarge the image in the Image Viewer window. Click on the icons at the bottom of window in ARTstor to access the following options:

Zoom: Click on the area of the image that you would like to see in more detail.

Pan: To explore within an image, this icon will allow you to click and drag to see different details in the work.

Rotate: Use this icon to turn the image around a central point. Click within the image and drag the pointer to either the right or the left.

Download & Save

 

Download: Click on the download icon  in the Image Viewer. ARTstor's Terms & Conditions will appear in a pop up. Click Accept and choose a location to save the image. Do not change the file name at this time - you will be able to do this once the download is complete. Along with the image file, an html image information file will also be saved.

You can also save an image detail. Once you zoom and pan and find the image detail that you like, click on the same download icon and it will save your chosen detail.

Organizing Images

Help with Groups

For more help with the technical aspects of creating and editing groups, click on the link below.

Image Groups

Creating an image group allows you to easily keep track of important images, put together study guides for yourself and share several images at one time. You must have an ARTstor account to save images to an image group.

Save images to a group: Single-click the thumbnails of images you want to save. Once you have selected your images, click on Organize from the navigation bar at the top and then choose "save selected images to." You can choose to save to a new image group or an existing image group.

Edit a group: To delete images from a group, click on Organize > Delete selections from image group. To rearrange the order of the images, click and drag the images between groups. A vertical black line will indicate the new location of the image.

Print: Choose Share > Print image group and choose which format you prefer. Click the print icon or File > Print in the new window that opens.

Locate your group: To revisit your image group during a new session, click on the red Open button in the middle of the welcome screen. Your personal image groups are located in "My Work Folder".

Folders and Image Groups

This tutorial explores user options for organizing images within the ARTstor Digital Library.

Presenting Images

Citing Images

Refer to ARTstor's guide on how to properly cite images obtained from an image database. This guide discusses how to export citations to RefWorks, an online citation management program available for TRU Library users.

Offline Image Viewer (OIV)

The Offline Image Viewer (OIV) is ARTstor's presentation software. You can easily download it to your computer and you do not have to be logged in to ARTstor to present your chosen images. The OIV gives you two presentation options:

  • Image Palette Presentation: You can zoom and pan images during presentation, switch from single pictures to side by side comparisons when, and access image information.
  • Slideshow Presentation: You create slides, choose between static and zoomable images, and input text. This format is compatible with PowerPoint.

 For further instructions, see ARTstor OIV Help Topics.

Using ARTstor Images with PowerPoint

To insert images into your PowerPoint presentations, save files as jpegs and insert or paste into your slides. You can also insert the image URL or image group URL into your presentation, but you must have internet access for the link to work.

See ARTstor Presentation Help for great suggestions for creating presentations.

Exporting to PowerPoint

This tutorial walks you through the process of exporting your ARTstor image groups into a single PowerPoint presentation.