Call Number: BF 176 .T43 2003 at Main Library (Reference)
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The fifth edition of this valuable resource contains the latest information on over 2,000 assessment instruments. The update of the 1997 edition reflects test revisions, new tests, and tests that have gone out of print. Tests has three sections--psychology, education, and business. These sections are further divided into 90 sections, enabling users to readily identify tests that meet their assessment needs. This book does not review or evaluate assessments, but does present concise descriptions in a quick-scanning, easy-to-read format. Each entry contains a statement of the instrument's purpose, a description of the instrument, intended populations, scoring procedures, cost, and publisher information. In addition to primary classifications, entries are thoroughly cross-referenced in the index section. The fifth edition of Tests has five indexes, making this reference user-friendly. Besides the Test Titles and Authors indexes, you also get indexes of Publishers, Tests Not in the Fifth Edition, and Publishers Not in the Fifth Edition. A listing of publisher's web site addresses is also included.
The most widely acclaimed reference series in education and psychology, the Mental Measurements Yearbooks are designed to assist professionals in selecting and using standardized tests. The series, initiated in 1938, provides factual information, critical reviews, and comprehensive bibliographic references on the construction, use, and validity of all tests published in English. Now available as a searchable database: http://libguides.tru.ca/mmy
Fourteen types of special-needs students are discussed in this handbook on meeting the needs of a diverse student population within a mainstream classroom. Ranging from students with behavior disorders, ADHD, and mental retardation to the blind, terminally ill, and gifted and talented, each profile includes a clear definition, characteristic behaviors, and suggestions for working with that student's specific strengths and weaknesses. A section devoted to inclusion strategies helps educators set goals for special needs students, define the roles of other students in the classroom, and work with the administration if mainstream placement is unsuccessful.
This encyclopedia represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1,000 entries --in a clear, accessible style--with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.
Call Number: LB 1050.9 .E63 2008 V.1-2 at Main Library (Reference)
Publication Date: 2008-01-17
The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation, and teaching. And within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy. In fact, when taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through adult education. Educational psychology can be defined as the application of what we know about learning and motivation, development, and measurement and statistics to educational settings (both school- and community-based).
Each of the twenty-four strategies included in the book has a substantial research base, a sound theoretical rationale, clear practical guidelines on how they can be employed, as well as cautions about their use. The book covers: strategies for arranging the context of learning, such as inclusive education, cooperative group teaching and the classroom climate cognitive strategies, including self-regulated learning, memory enhancement and cognitive behavioural therapy behavioural strategies, addressing issues of functional assessment and direct instruction formative assessment and feedback assistive technology and opportunities to learn While the book focuses on learners with special educational needs, most of the strategies are applicable to all learners.
The SAGE Handbook of Special Education brings together the most up to date knowledge of this area and will serve as the major source book of authoritative information and ideas about current and future directions for special education. It aims to examine the intricate relations between theory, research, and practice, and places a particular emphasis on international policies such as Education for All, and inclusive education as a strategy for achieving it. This comprehensive, research-based work, assembles scholarship on an international level, and covers topics that transcend national boundaries.
Call Number: LC 3981 .S624 2007 Main Library Stacks
Publication Date: 2006-02-17
A practical handbook designed to help special education administrators, principals and assistant principals address many of the issues they will confront relating to students with disabilities. nbsp; This unique book is developed specifically to help new administrators survive the pressure of working with students with disabilities.nbsp; Many texts are filled with theories, but very little practical advice has been available specifically about day-to-day operations.nbsp; This book is organized to give new special education administrators that practical advice.nbsp; Current administrators with extensive knowledge of special education share their experience through contributed chapters.nbsp; The practical, real world advice will prove useful not only for special education administrators, but also for principals and assistant principals.nbsp;
The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.
Making clear connections between assessment and instruction that so many similar texts lack, this first edition special education assessment textbook uses current research and standards-based assessment material grounded in field-based case studies to highlight the contemporary issues affecting students in classrooms today. With a strong emphasis on diversity, this robust and practical book offers current teachers and pre-service teachers alike an eye-opening and clear exploration of current formal and informal assessment tool analysis with respect to accommodations, modifications, legal and technology matters. Real-life case studies are incorporated into each chapter, helping readers to hone their decision-making skills and to understand how the chapter material relates to practical applications. At the same time, break point practices, illustrations of assessment tools, and website references provide students with multiple opportunities for self-assessment, higher-level analysis and classroom applications.
This important resource is an update of the best-selling book The Special Educator′s Resource Guide to 109 Diagnostic Tests. The greatly expanded second edition contains 301 new and enhanced tests, which are vital to understanding assessment in special education. Designed as an easy-to-use, hands-on resource, the book is filled with practical tools, information, and suggestions. Step-by-step, this practical guide explores the various stages of evaluation, interpretation, diagnosis, prescription, and remediation.
The definitive resource for special educators, school psychologists, and child group study teams This comprehensive guide provides all the information needed -- including definitions, symptoms, characteristics, and types -- for the most significant educational disabilities and disorders, presented in a user-friendly format. Using the reauthorized IDEA 2004 Act as a frame of reference, this book is ideal for coding and mapping to IEPs -- the individualized education plans that are key to special education funding. The very first manual created specifically for education professionals, this book addresses a range of disorders and relates their significance to classroom practice, including: Autism Spectrum Disorder, Developmental Delays, Mental Retardation, Traumatic Brain Injury, and many others. Roger Pierangelo, PhD (Manhasset, NY), has over 30 years of experience as a teacher, psychologist, and director of a private clinic. George Giuliani, JD, PsyD (Melville, NY), is an Associate Professor at Hofstra University's School of Education.
Call Number: WM 13 .T87 2007 House of Learning Reference
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
500+ entries for parents and professionals! The best A-Z reference available on autism spectrum disorders and pervasive developmental disorders, this comprehensive encyclopedia includes more than 500 terms, alphabetically listed and clearly described. Today's most respected autism experts have contributed essential terminology from various disciplines--including pediatrics, speech-language pathology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, education, psychology, and psychiatry--to bring you reliable information on classification systems signs and symptoms causes incidence and prevalence diagnosis screening and assessment interventions behavior education assistive technology daily living medical issues legislation Synonyms and relevant cross-references are included for the terms, and the two appendixes describe assessment tools and curricula and list autism-related study centers and organizations. Every professional whose work involves autism spectrum disorders needs a copy of this essential resource--to keep on hand as a daily reference and to share with parents of children who have these complex disorders.
The Childhood Disorders Diagnostic Desk Reference provides detailed information on the identification, prevalence, treatment, and ramifications of hundreds of childhood disorders. Written in nonmedical terms, this go-to reference presents in a single source the critical information you need to refer an affected child to a qualified physician or other specialist, hold a conference with the child's caregivers, and appropriately tailor an educational experience to fit the child's abilities. Spanning the pediatric medical, psychiatric, and educational fields, the range of disorders and diseases covered includes rare disorders coupled with hard-to-find information regarding more frequently encountered childhood disorders. Each of the nearly 700 entries provides: A definition of the disorder Special education concerns Incidence and prevalence rates Prognosis and future research Characteristics of the disorder References Treatment methods Complete with both an extensive symptom index and resources for further investigation, Childhood Disorders Diagnostic Desk Reference is the ideal volume for administrators, educators, social workers, and mental health professionals working in schools.