An updated introduction reflecting new research and trends in early childhood health and fitness and information on how movement benefits children’s learning and development More than 100 activities that fall under five categories: openers and closers, basic movement, cooperative activities, educational gymnastics, and rhythm and dance Extension ideas and adaptations to use with children who have special needs Curriculum connections for each activity and explanations about how activities are aligned with and meet early learning standards from NAEYC and AAHPERD Original music to add joy and energy to the activities
Call Number: GV 363 .G68 2008 Main Library Curriculum
Publication Date: 2008-06-23
Future teachers will learn the skills and techniques that master teachers employ, and experienced teachers will be challenged to consider some new techniques for designing their classes, developing lessons, and adjusting tasks for individual children. All readers will learn the skills and techniques that successful teachers use to make their classes vibrant, fun, and developmentally appropriate.
Call Number: GV 445 .D344 2011 Main Library Stacks
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
The sports featured in this book are wheelchair basketball, wheelchair indoor soccer, sitting volleyball, wheelchair tennis, goalball, slalom, and boccia. The games are organized by skill, so teachers can select games based on the skills they want to teach. The skills for each sport are task analyzed to help teachers address the needs of students with disabilities. Teachers will learn how to make psychomotor modifications to games to include students with and without disabilities; teachers will also learn how to involve all students in making decisions about the modifications.
This one-of-a-kind Encyclopedia presents physics in a refreshing new way -- by emphasizing the sports and not the science! Without the intimidating jargon, scientific information is cleverly interwoven with sports facts and stories. This balance between technical scientific information and interesting sports references makes the Encyclopedia accessible to readers of all types.
Exceptionally clear definitions of the many scientific and technical terms used in kinesiology and sports science are provided in this sports reference. Covering many subdisciplines that include biochemistry, biomechanics, functional anatomy, epidemiology, kinanthropometry, motor behavior, nutrition, psychology, physiology, and sociology, and with references to key books and journal articles, these volumes help to gain a clear overview of sports science.
Sport and Physical Education: The Key Concepts offers an up-to-date companion to the changing face of sport studies. This accessible and fully cross-referenced A-Z guide, written specifically for students of sport studies and physical education, introduces basic terms and concepts as well as offering excellent suggestions for further reading." "A complete guide to the disciplines, themes, topics and concerns current in contemporary sport, this book is an invaluable resource for students at every level studying sport and physical education.
This three-volume work provides students and scholars with a historical and cross-cultural survey of sports from around the world, together with articles on such topics as violence, ritual, and the legal and medical aspects of sport.
The 3 volume Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the science, social science and medicine of sport. The Encyclopedia is alphabetically organised and consists of: principal entries of 3000 words covering disciplinary areas, e.g. sports economics, sports history large informational entries of 1200 words on broad topics, e.g. resistance training, diagnosis of sports injuries medium informational entries of 600 words on more specific topics, e.g. cross training, projectile motion small entries of 300 words comprising entries on narrower topics and small overviews directing the reader onwards, e.g. metabolism, overview, motivation, overview, muscle tension length relationship. The aim of the editors has been to produce a comprehensive work which will be of use to a wide variety of users: students, teachers, researchers, and professionals (coaches, development officers, physiotherapists, etc.). Entries are accessibly written and both facts-fronted and critical. Entries carry cross-references and lists of further reading. There is a full index.
Psychologyis an integral element of sport today, from the applied techniques of coaches and athletes, to the socio-psychological behaviour of sport fans. Sport and Exercise Psychology: The Key Concepts offers an introductory guide to the vocabulary of sport psychology, to its central theories and most important avenues of research, and to its application in sports performance. Modern and historical illustrations are used throughout the text, while an extensive bibliography and index ensure that the book is an indispensable research tool for any student of sport psychology.
It is important for anybody involved in sport and physical recreation to be aware of the legal context in which their activity takes place, to develop an understanding of their legal responsibilities and to know what might happen if something goes wrong. Sport, Physical Recreation and the Lawis the first textbook on this difficult subject for students and practitioners in sport and physical recreation. Covering a wide range of legal principles and cases, this textbook introduces the reader to legal systems, terminology, databases and the use of case law. Designed to encourage analysis, reflection and the application of examples and ideas from the reader's own experience, the book clearly and comprehensively explains key topics such as: socio-legal aspects of sports violence and criminal liability negligence and defences against negligence manslaughter by individuals and organizations in sport principles of natural justice, disciplinary tribunals and doping discrimination, harassment and child protection risk management, statutory duties, and breaches of health and safety criminal liability - recognized sports, hazing, and cage fighting. Including over 300 exercises, hypothetical scenarios, investigative tasks and seminar activities, this book is an essential course text for all students of sport, recreation and the law, and an invaluable reference for coaches, physical education teachers and those who play, lead or organize sport and physical recreation.
The 87 cases in Case Studies in Sport Law have been carefully curated by a team of experts in the field and represent many of the multifaceted aspects of sport law. Some of the areas covered in the text are school districts, colleges and universities, interscholastic and recreational programs, professional sport franchises, sporting goods manufacturers and trademarks, and governing bodies. This broad approach encourages students to understand the impact of legal issues on the sport industry, including many of the areas that students are hoping to pursue as a career.
Call Number: QT 13 .O355 2005 (House of Learning: Reference)
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Today Americans participate in sports more than ever before, and with increased activity follows an increased chance of injury. Sports medicine is therefore no longer relevant only to college and professional athletes, but also parents, amateur athletes, leisure sportsmen, and aging people maintaining a fitness regime everywhere. Orthopedic surgeons, nutritionists, physical therapists, sports psychologists, athletic trainers, and exercise physiologists are just a few of the various professionals whose work with patients and clients may cross over into the field of sports medicine.. The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine delivers more than 150 in-depth, A-to-Z entries that define and explain the many fields of specialization within sports medicine while providing broad coverage of the terms relevant to each discipline. Using everyday language, basic descriptions of various sports medicine terms introduce the reader to many important topics and provide an at-home reference that can supplement and accompany the information received from sports medicine professionals. Entries on individual sports detail their most common injuries and how to prevent them. Appendixes offer additional resources and directories of relevant organizations, as well as detailing safety tips by sport, common injuries by body part or area, nutrition information by sport, and five commonly misdiagnosed sports injuries.