The market-leading text for the Elementary School Music Methods course, INTEGRATING MUSIC IN THE ELEMENTARY CLASSROOM boasts an author team who helped set the national standards for teaching music in elementary schools. The first to emphasize the theme of integrating music throughout the school day, Anderson and Lawrence show future educators how to make music an effective part of the entire elementary curriculum. The text introduces the songs, instruments, sources of age-appropriate music, and methods of making music in a multicultural environment--making the text perfect for students with no prior knowledge of the fundamentals of music. With easy-to-use techniques for teaching young children how to sing, play instruments, move to music, create music, listen to music, and understand music, this text relates music to all subject areas. Notably, the authors provide sample lesson plans for kindergarten through grade six, along with more than 150 songs from different cultures and historical periods.
As inspirational as it is informative, this text combines the best research and practical knowledge to give music education students the necessary tools to take to their future classroom. This comprehensive text presents contemporary theories and practices of music education including strategies for developing pitch, vocal, rhythmic, instrumental, listening, movement and creative responses in children. It includes chapters on technology, multiculturalism, motivation and management, special learners, assessment, and curriculum integration and development.
Level 1 (K-1) covers topics like listening to environmental sounds, what keeps a beat, fast/slow, loud/soft, and high/low. It includes the complete Carnival Of The Animals, excerpts from Peter And The Wolf and The Nutcracker, and several additional selections for movement and activities.
Level 2 (Grade 2) includes dozens of selections from Carnival Of The Animals, The Nutcracker, The Four Seasons, Bach, Grieg, Tchaikovsky, Handel, Schumann, and Debussy. It includes note, worksheet, and listening examples from the composer featured on the DVD Bach's Fight For Freedom.
Level 3 (Grade 3) has a variety of selections from Mozart, Schumann, Handel, Beethoven, Purcell, and Kodály. It comes with note, worksheet, and listening examples from the composers featured on the DVDs Strauss: The King Of Three-Quarter Time and Beethoven Lives Upstairs.
Level 4 (Grade 4) includes selections from Handel, Bach, Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Beethoven, Liszt, Scott Joplin, and Grieg, as well as early music. There are also four recorder themes and three recorder selections. It includes note, worksheet, and listening examples from the composers featured on the DVDs Liszt's Rhapsody and Handel's Last Chance, plus a 2-part Hallelujah Chorus for your students to sing!
Level 5 (Grades 5-6) features music by Vivaldi, Boehm, MacDowell, Schubert, Tchaikovsky, Strauss Sr., Beethoven, Grieg, Bizet, Strauss Jr., and Rossini. Forms studied include theme and variations, rondo, and canon. This level includes note, worksheet, and listening examples from the composers featured on the DVDs Bizet's Dream and Rossini's Ghost.
"There is no question that music makes a significant contribution to the quality of human life and that music can play a valuable role in the learning of virtually all subjects taught in the elementary schools. Hoffer's text is a concise, easy-to-understand book that covers the essentials, enabling future elementary classroom teachers to contribute to their students' learning of music. It emphasizes the cooperative-supportive role of elementary classroom teachers with music teachers and demonstrates how music can be used with other curricular and classroom activities to enhance and enrich the learning of all subjects. Futhermore, the text's comprehensive coverage is more than adequate for those teachers who find themselves responsible for all the music instruction their students will receive."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved