The Kamloops Art Gallery's School Programs are designed for specific grades (K-3, 4-6 and 7-9). The program highlights the BC Curriculum to make it easy for teachers to apply KAG field trips to the classroom. A Teachers' Guide accompanies each exhibition, including in-class art making activities for each grade, references for further research and a glossary of terms.
Geared for a wide variety of age and skill levels, we offer hundreds of Lesson Plans designed to meet the National Standards for Visual Art Education and bring the value of creativity to any teaching experience.
Call Number: GE 77 .B59 1993 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 1993-09-01
This lively & colorful book helps kids discover the earth & develop an appreciation for the environment. The bright & whimsical illustrations & color photographs throughout highlight dozens of hands-on projects & simple experiments, from gardening to attract butterflies to making a solar snack. Nature activities ranging from special hikes to crafts projects show kids how they can help the earth through their own actions. Basic earth systems are explained simply to help kids understand how each of us affects the rest of the earth's family. Specific, positive, action-oriented suggestions inspire & empower children, giving them a feeling that "I can do it!" Also available in this kid-tested & approved series are the BEST KIDS COOK BOOK. 112p. 1992. $9.99 (0-376-02083-0), BEST KIDS GARDEN BOOK. 96p. 1992. $9.99 (0-376-03076-3), & BEST KIDS COOKIE BOOK. 112p. 1993. $11.99 (0-376-02388-0). These innovative books capture a child's imagination & give him or her a sense of accomplishment. Sunset Publishing Corporation, 80 Willow Rd., Menlo Park, CA 94025; 800-227-7346, in CA 800-321-0372.
Call Number: N 350 .C385 V.3 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Each volume in this innovative series is devoted to a subject that every child already knows from personal experience. The works of art chosen for each book show the many different ways great artists have perceived and expressed that very subject. Author Colleen Carroll's engaging, conversational text is filled with thought-provoking questions and imaginative activities that spark children's natural curiosity both about the subject of the artwork and about the way it was created. This direct, interactive approach to art -- and to the world -- promotes self-exploration, self-discovery, and self-expression. As it introduces basic artistic concepts, styles, and techniques, it also provides loads of fun. For children who want to know more about the artists whose works appear in the book, biographies are provided at the end, along with suggestions for further reading and an international list of museums where each artist's works can be seen. As they begin to understand the multitude of ways that artists see, children will deepen their appreciation of art, the world around them, and, most importantly, their own unique visions.
Call Number: N 350 .W26 1997 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
The authors has written a book that reflects the latest trends in art education and demonstrates how to motivate children to learn by integrating art with other content areas. Emphasis Art promotes hands-on learning, through technical directions for art-studio experiences as well as helpful suggestions for classroom management, writing, lesson plans, and teaching are to gifted children and students with special needs. This book focuses on the intrinsic worth of art-studio experience and the process of implementing art education into classroom practice with a new emphasis on cultural understanding. In addition to a wealth of creative ideas and clear technical direction, this popular text promotes art appreciation and provides educators with lesson plans that incorporate instructional objectives.
Call Number: N 350 .W74 2001 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
This popular series gives teachers practical advice and guidance, along with resource ideas and materials for the classroom. The tasks and activities are clearly presented, and offer teachers the information they need about level, time, preparation, materials, classroom management,monitoring, and follow-up activities. Each book offers up to 100 ideas, as well as variations that encourage teachers to adapt the activities to suite their individual classrooms.
Call Number: N 361 .K64 2005 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
The long-awaited sequel to First Art and Preschool Art is finally here! In Primary Art, award-winning author MaryAnn F. Kohl offers children ages five to eight over 100 art experiences that value the process of art more than the final product. Budding artists get their feet wet with preliminary art experiences and then progress to more complex creativity within each art medium. Encourage artistic expression at every level, from beginning to advanced, with hard-to-resist activities such as Shimmer Paint, Squeezy Batik, Sunbright Collage, Crinkle Scruncher and Jellie Dangles.
Call Number: N 361 .S39 2009 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2001-07-11
This comprehensive, practical and easy-to-read text offers a child-centred approach to art education. Designed for those who are preparing to work with children in child care, preschool or a Kindergarten through third grade setting, this new edition blends theory with practical application.
Call Number: N 362 .K688 2000 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2000-07-25
This text shows prospective teachers practical ways to create classroom environments in which children become artists as they also become readers and writers. Based on the mind-expanding work of Howard Gardner and other teacher-researchers on the relationship between art and literacy, this book emphasizes the integration of all the arts into the elementary curriculum. It also addresses the immediate need of pre-service teachers for clear practical advice on how to set up effective art programs.
Call Number: N 6540 .R46 2001 CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
A fascinating introduction to the rich, varied texture of Canada's art and artistsA First Book of Canadian Art is a remarkable voyage of discovery. From the earliest art of Canada's native peoples to the latest contemporary artists, this beautifully written overview introduces young people to major artists and artistic movements that tell the story of Canadian art.Stunning paintings, photography and sculpture give the book its drama and visual excitement. The art itself is the jumping-off point for concise and fascinating descriptions of the artists, their work and important themes about making art in general. Anecdotal stories about the personal interests and intent of the artists, how they worked and the world they lived in, vividly personalize the subject for young readers.Laying a foundation of key names and images, this splendid tour of Canadian art begins with the ancient petroglyphs, totem poles and inuksuit of Canada's indigenous peoples. It moves through giants of Canadian art, from Paul Kane, Cornelius Kreighoff, Tom Thompson and Emily Carr to Jack Chambers, Alex Colville, Bill Reid and Michael Snow, and on to leading-edge contemporary artists, including Jana Sterbak, Ian Carr-Harris and Jane Ash Poitras, as well as recent trends in photography and video art. This richly varied journey takes the reader through hundreds of years of artistic expression across Canada.What better time to celebrate Canada's internationally renowned artists than on the cusp of a new millennium? A First Book of Canadian Art gives young readers an excellent understanding of the history of Canadian art and brings them up to date on the evolving methods for creating art today.This special volume, with over 150 color images, makes a landmark contribution to Canadian children's culture.
In COME LOOK WITH ME: EXPLORING LANDSCAPE ART WITH CHILDREN art educator Gladys S. Blizzard introduces boys and girls to 12 magnificent landscape paintings. Through these carefully selected works and a thought-provoking text, the author guides students toward an imaginative new way of looking at art. This book is suited both for family reading and for sharing with a small group. Each full-color reproduction is accompanied by a brief biological sketch of the artist and a series of open-ended questions designed to make the most of a child's natural curiosity.
For ages 4 to 8 years. As unique as fingerprints, hand-print art is the ultimate in self-expression. Every child's natural instinct is to stick a whole hand in a plate of paint. Add an array of paint colours, visions of real animals or those drawn in their imaginations, and creativity explodes in a burst of colour and fun! Make simple palm-out prints of a silly frog, delicate fingertip points of a giraffe, and N a spectacular, colourful peacock print. Over 60 active-learning experiences explore the unique world of fish, fowl, beasts, pets, and insects. Hand-print techniques show how to create special effects using outstretched fingers, cupped hands, pinky fingerprints, smudged thumbprints, flat-fingered ridges, and much more. Hand-Print Animal Art is designed for children aged four to ten -- and their families! Carolyn Carreiro has had a lifelong interest in working with children. As a teacher, she realises that kids of all ages gravitate to hand-print art for creative expression.
Background information, objectives, directions, and illustrations for paper, textile, jewelry, and other crafts are given in a detailed handbook providing teachers with ideas for nurturing their students' artistic spirit.
With these inventive recipes for making inexpensive materials for art and craft projedts, you can cook up your own paste, paint, ink, clay, and dough with ingredients readily available at a grocery store, a drugstore, or in your own kitchen cupboards. Each of the seventy recipes includes step-by-step instructions, special hints for making projects go more smoothly, and safety tips. An ideal reference book to use both at home and at school.
Native peoples have always turned to the natural world to make everything from clothing to cooking utensils to ceremonial items. In the same tradition of using materials and designs inspired by nature, kids can make their own beautiful native crafts and musical instruments. Photos, diagrams and step-by-step instructions make it easy! Kids will also find out more about the many Native peoples of North America. Kids can make * seed and bead jewelry * clay pinch pots * totem poles * moccasins * hoop drums * corncob and cornhusk dolls
For ages 4-8. An exciting hands-on feast of multicultural art and craft experiences. With this book, children learn by doing -- reaching across continents with paper, paste, and paints, while developing basic sensibilities about the wondrous cultures of others. Over 400 outstanding how-to illustrations.
Internationally recognized artist Barbara Reid reveals her secrets for turning lumps of modeling clay into fun, fantastic pictures and characters of all kinds. Easy-to-follow illustrated instructions show kids how to make a zoo full of animals, a rocket launch pad, a 3-D prehistoric dinosaur hangout -- and much more! All they need to get started is some modeling clay (any kind will do), a few easy-to-find tools, a good imagination and these helpful tips from an expert.