Call Number: PS 8609 .U87 S58 2004 at Main Library & Williams Lake (Stacks)
Journey into Shuswap country in the time of early colonization. A neighbouring Indian tribe from over the Rocky Mountains abducts a group of Shuswap women and a great tale of trouble and triumph unfolds. Based on a traditional Shuswap legend, the story is told by a captured girl—a Shuswap chief's daughter. Harold Eustache takes us back to a time in the memory of his ancestors.
Call Number: E 99 .T8 V518 2016 CHILDREN'S COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2016-05-28
The children of the Tsimshian village of Kitkatla love to play at being hunters, eager for their turn to join the grown-ups. But when they capture and mistreat a crow, the Chief of the Heavens, angered at their disrespect, brings down a powerful storm. The rain floods the Earth and villagers have no choice but to abandon their homes and flee to their canoes. As the seas rise, the villagers tie themselves to the top of Anchor Mountain, where they pray for days on end and promise to teach their children to value all life. The storm stops and the waters recede. From that point on, the villagers appoint a chief to perform the Peace Dance at every potlatch and, with it, pass on the story of the flood and the importance of respect. With eighteen new illustrations from Roy Henry Vickers and exceptional narrative, Peace Dancer will delight readers of all ages and add to the collection of global flood stories.
Call Number: E 99 .S2 B43 2005 at Main Library (Curriculum Collection)
A long time ago, fire belonged only to the animals in the land above, not to those on the earth below. Curlew, keeper of the sky world, guarded fire and kept it from the earth. Coyote, however, devised a clever plan to steal fire, aided by Grizzly Bear, Wren, Snake, Frog, Eagle, and Beaver. These brave and resourceful animal beings raided the land above and risked all to steal fire from Curlew. Beaver Steals Fire is an ancient and powerful tale springing from the hearts and experiences of the Salish people of Montana. Steeped in the rich and culturally vital storytelling tradition of the tribe, this tale teaches both respect for fire and awareness of its significance, themes particularly relevant today. This unforgettable version of the story is told by Salish elder Johnny Arlee and beautifully illustrated by tribal artist Sam Sandoval.
Call Number: E 99 .K55 V53 2014 Main Library CURRICULUM COLLECTION
Publication Date: 2014-05-24
Cloudwalker, describing the creation of the rivers, is the second in a series of Northwest Coast legends by Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd. Astace, a young Gitxsan hunter, is intent on catching a group of swans with his bare hands. He is carried away by the birds' powerful wings and dropped in the clouds. With only a cedar box of water Astace wanders the clouds, growing weaker, stumbling and spilling the contents. When he finally returns to earth he discovers lakes, creeks, and rivers where there were none before. The Gitxsan rejoice at having him home, and name the new river they live alongside Ksien--"juice from the clouds."
Call Number: PZ 7 .C1436 S556 2008 at Main Library (Children's Collection)
Winner of the TD Canadian Children's Literature Award and finalist for the Governor General's Award: Children's Illustration This moving sequel to the award-winning Shi-shi-etko tells the story of two children's experience at residential school.
Call Number: PZ 7 .C1436 S55 2005 at Main Library (Children's Collection)
Shi-shi-etko just has four days until she will have to leave her family and everything she knows to attend residential school. She spends her last precious days at home treasuring and appreciating the beauty of her world -- the dancing sunlight, the tall grass, each shiny rock, the tadpoles in the creek, her grandfather’s paddle song. Her mother, father, and grandmother, each in turn, share valuable teachings that they want her to remember. Shi-shi-etko carefully gathers her memories for safekeeping. LaFave’s richly hued illustrations complement Campbell’s gently moving and poetic account of a child who finds solace around her, even though she is on the verge of great loss -- a loss that native people have endured for generations because of Canada’s residential schools system.
Call Number: E 99 .T4 F66 2009 at Main Library (Curriculum Collection)
Fox is howling, crying, for he lost his leg to Bear, all the people wanted to help Fox, but didn't know what to do. Raven is called upon to help retrieve his leg. Will Raven succeed in the quest for Fox's leg?
Call Number: E 99 .T4 B563 2008 at Main Library (Curriculum Collection)
It is winter and the people are starving. There are no fish. They must seek the help of a medicine man to save them. The Man with the Otter Medicine tells of medicine power, the struggle for survival and an important part of the history and culture of the Dene people as it has been passed down through stories and legends for generations.
Call Number: E 99 .K9 S63 2006 at Main Library (Curriculum Collection)
In 1935, a nine-year-old boy's family held a forbidden Potlatch in faraway Kingcome Inlet. Watl'kina slipped from his bed to bear witness. In the Big House masked figures danced by firelight to the beat of the drum. And there, he saw a figure he knew. Aboriginal elder Alfred Scow and award-winning author Andrea Spalding collaborate to tell the story, to tell the secret of the dance. Click here for background information on the making of Secret of the Dance.