Steven Pfeiffer, a leading expert in the field of gifted assessment, discusses what it means to be gifted, why we should identify gifted students, and the purposes of gifted assessment. Well-organized and engaging, the book examines key principles of gifted assessment and provides an up-to-date overview of gifted assessment measures. Topics include the use of local norms, measuring creativity and motivation, nonverbal measures, the importance of recurring gifted assessment, multi-potentiality, gifted testing and minority group students, and evaluating the twice-exceptional student. Early identification and intervention greatly benefits gifted students, who may otherwise never realize their full potential.
This edited volume discusses the theoretical, ethical and practical considerations involved in the assessment of Second Language Learners (SLLs) with Specific Language Learning Disorders (SpLD), such as dyslexia and Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder, and with other disabilities like visual and hearing impairments. The volume contains 14 chapters. These explore various theoretical models and research findings that identify and evaluate the language and special needs of SLLs with SpL...
This book provides an introduction to many-facet Rasch measurement (MFRM), a psychometric approach that establishes a coherent framework for drawing reliable, valid, and fair inferences from rater-mediated assessments, thus answering the problem of fallible human ratings. Revised and updated throughout, the Second Edition includes a stronger focus on the Facets computer program, emphasizing the pivotal role that MFRM plays for validating the interpretations and uses of assessment outcomes.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods (two volumes) presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative methods in a non-intimidating and accessible style. The encyclopedia is specifically written to appeal to beginning, intermediate, and advanced students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of information across the social sciences, humanities, and health sciences.
Call Number: LB 1051 .H2354 2006 Main Library Reference
In 41 chapters, the editors of this work cover topics such as: learners' development, cognition, motivation, socio-cultural perspectives on teaching and learning, instructional design, teacher assessment and much more. Each chapter provides an extensive reference list guiding the reader to more books and articles.
Call Number: LB 1119 .H25 2006 Main Library Reference
This book is divided into 4 sections: Early Childhood Education and Child Development; Early Childhood Educational Curriculum; Foundations of Early Childhood Educational Policy; and Research and Evaluation Strategies for Early Childhood Education. Each entry includes a very comprehensive list of books and articles guiding you to further information.
Designed to complement the Mental Measurements Yearbooks, Tests in Print VII contains information on more than four thousand testing instruments. Detailed descriptions of each test include specific data on its purpose, target population, scoring, and pricing. Indexes of test titles, publishers, acronyms, and subject classifications are provided as well as notations on out-of-print tests. Tests in Print VII provides the specific information about testing required by professionals in diverse areas such as education, psychology, counseling, management, personnel, health care, career planning, sociology, child development, social science, and research. It also serves as a comprehensive index to the Mental Measurements Yearbooks series by directing readers to the appropriate volume for reviews of specific tests.
In this classic introduction to educational and psychological measurement, Thorndike and Thorndike-Christ provide a technically rigorous treatment of the core issues in measurement in an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand presentation. In preparing students to become independent users of test information, it describes problems in measurement, explains how these problems are approached and solved, surveys a broad range of sources, and provides guidance in how to find, evaluate, and use information about specific tests.
Ruth Ravid concentrates on the essential concepts in educational statistics including when to use various statistical tests and how to interpret the results. Testing and test score interpretation, reliability, and validity are included to help students understand these topics which are essential for practitioners in education. Real-life examples, used generously throughout, are taken from the field of education and presented to illustrate the various concepts and terms.
This important resource is an update of the best-selling book The Special Educator′s Resource Guide to 109 Diagnostic Tests. The greatly expanded second edition contains 301 new and enhanced tests, which are vital to understanding assessment in special education. Designed as an easy-to-use, hands-on resource, the book is filled with practical tools, information, and suggestions. Step-by-step, this practical guide explores the various stages of evaluation, interpretation, diagnosis, prescription, and remediation.
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.