This reference book provides a rich, comparable and up-to-date array of indicators on the performance of education systems such as - who participates in education, what is spent on it and how education systems operate, and at the results achieved.
Irma Collins's Dictionary of Music Education is more than just a lexicon. It is a journey through time and the story of the evolution of music education, including entries on notable individuals, crucial terms, important events, and key organizations--a broad survey of the field. Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe. Biographical entries profile musicians and music educators who were among the founders or first implementers of significant pedagogical tools and methods. Terms include standard concepts in the field of music education. Event and organization entries are those crucial to the advancement of music education regionally, nationally, and internationally. Dictionary of Music Education also includes a timeline, cross-references, and a significant bibliography.
Call Number: LA 418 .B7 G54 1992 Main Library Reference & House of Learning Government Document
This is a compilation of sources that describe the physical settings, social environment, and prevailing ideas surrounding education in British Columbia. Sources include academic texts as well as popular publications, pamphlets, and community histories. Coverage is from 1849 to 1989.
Call Number: LB 15 .E47 2003 V. 1 - 8 Main Library Reference
This 8 vol. set contains over 850 articles exploring all aspects of education: K-12, higher education, international education, policy, legislation, learning and instruction, out-of school influences, teacher preparation and testing. Included in this edition are biographical sketches of 121 influential educators. Also included in this revision are articles discussing the state of education in several international countries (including Canada ).
Call Number: LB 15 .I565 2013 V. 1-2 Main Library Reference
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
This encyclopedia is the most current and exhaustive reference available on international education. It provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of approximately 180 national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.
Call Number: LB 15 .L4695 2002 Main Library Reference
Defines learning theories for K-12, higher education, industry education and training environments, as well as over 500 terms related to learning theories and environments. Each term is categorized: cognitive, constructivism, behaviorism, and humanism.
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .E523 2005 Main Library Reference
More than 250 articles that include some of the latest research on learning, motivation, and educational assessment. A list of references are included at the end of each entry that guides the reader to further resouces.
Call Number: LB 1050.9 .E63 2008 V.1-2 at Main Library (Reference)
Publication Date: 2008-01-17
The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation, and teaching. And within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy. In fact, when taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through adult education. Educational psychology can be defined as the application of what we know about learning and motivation, development, and measurement and statistics to educational settings (both school- and community-based).
Call Number: LB 1051 .H2354 2006 Main Library Reference
In 41 chapters, the editors of this work cover topics such as: learners' development, cognition, motivation, socio-cultural perspectives on teaching and learning, instructional design, teacher assessment and much more. Each chapter provides an extensive reference list guiding the reader to more books and articles.
Call Number: LB 1139.5 .L35 H37 2001 v. 1 & 2 Main Library Reference
Covers major theories of early literacy, writing development, early intervention approaches, socioeconomic factors effecting literacy development, and more. Each lengthy entry contains an exhaustive bibliography.
Call Number: LB 1139.25 .E53 1992 at Main Library (Reference)
This work covers the education of children from birth through to age 8. Although American in focus, this book does provide important information on early childhood education programs, policies, history, politics and much more. Includes an index.
Call Number: LB 1623 .E53 2005 Main Library Reference
Alphabetically organized entries that address important concepts, ideas, terms, people, organizations, and seminal publications related to middle grades education. Entries contain lengthy bibliographies.
Call Number: LC 3707 .E52 2008 V.1-2 Main Library Reference
Entries look a multiple perspectives of bilingual education: history, policy & legislation, classroom practice, instructional design, and society. Entries have a substantial list of references guiding the reader to further books and articles on the topic.
This book will be an original and indispensable resource for all who believe in the importance of art in the wider educational realm. Framing the recent "educational turn" in the arts within a broad historical and social context, this anthology raises fundamental questions about how and what should be taught in an era of distributive rather than media-based practices. Among the many sources and arguments traced here is second-wave feminism, which questioned dominant notions of personal and institutional freedom as enacted through art teaching and practice. Similarly, education-based responses by the art community to the catastrophes of World War II and postcolonial conflict critically inform contemporary art confronting the interrelationships of education, power, market capitalism, and--as Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri describe it--the global condition of war. These writings by artists, philosophers, educators, poets, and activists center on three recurring and interrelated themes: the notion of "indiscipline" in theories and practices that challenge boundaries of all kinds; the present and future role of the art school; and the turn to pedagogy as medium in a diverse range of recent projects. Other writings address such issues as instrumentalism and control, liberation and equality, the production and the politics of culture, and the roots of research-based practice and experimental participatory works.