Skip to main content

Databases that track citations: measuring research impact

Live Help

Database Information

Coverage: 1990 - present. (EBSCO) Updated daily.

Region: International

Scope: A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Citation Capabilities: The EBSCO interface offers a "Cited References"  tool.  

 Quirks: You have to know where to find the tool from the top navigation bar.

 

 

Citation Tracking

 Browse cited references; find articles related to a particular research area; and browse frequently cited, influential articles in a particular research area.

  • Cited References - Option available from both the result list and full record screens and only for a portion of articles in the database. If you click on a Cited References hyperlink, a Cited References screen will appear with a select list of articles referenced within the article you selected. If you check mark one or more references and click the Related Records button, a Related Records screen will appear with a list of articles in the database related to the article/s you selected. These articles are sorted by relevance, based on the greatest number of shared references.
  • Times Cited in this database - Option available from both the result list and full record screens and only for a portion of articles in the database. If you click a Times Cited in this database hyperlink, a Citing Articles screen will appear with a list of articles in the database that reference the article you selected.