Skip to main content

Current Awareness Alerts

Directions on how to create Current Awareness Alerts in a wide variety of TRU databases

Live Help

What is a Current Awareness Alert

A Current Awareness Alert will help you to stay up to date with emerging research in your field. If you have an ongoing research project, a current awareness alert will notify you when new research is published, based on specified keywords or other parameters. Examples of Current Awareness Alerts include email notifications and RSS feeds.

Alphabetical listing

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

Academic Search Complete

- see Ebsco

ACM Digital Library

Offers two types of free email alerts:

  • My binders: Save search results and queries. Share binders with colleagues and build bibliographies.

  • TOC Service: Receive the table of contents via email as new issues of ACM journals, magazines, newsletters, or proceedings become available.

To register for either of these services, log in on the main page, (either at the top of the screen or next to "Personalized Services"), click on "Create my ACM Web Account Now," click on the "Continue" button next to "I am Not an ACM or SIG Member," and then follow the instructions.

ACP Journal Club

- see Ovid

America: History and Life

- see Ebsco

American Chemical Society (ACS)

Offers two types of free e-mail alerts:

  • ASAP Alerts - daily or weekly e-mail alerts that are sent when individual articles (Articles ASAP) are released on the Web, prior to being assigned to an issue; and

  • Table of Contents Alerts—e-mail alerts of the Table of Contents (TOC) for specific issues which are sent on the day that the issue is posted on the Web.

American Mathematical Society (AMS)

AMS Journals Email Notification Program: A free service available to anyone wanting to be notified about recently posted research articles in AMS electronic journals. To register for this service and to set up your individual profile, follow the instructions at http://www.ams.org/jemail/.

Math Digest provides short summaries of articles on mathematics in the popular press.

Anthropology Plus

- see Ebsco

Applied Science and Technology

- see Ebsco

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

- see Web of Science

B

BioMed Central

Registered users can save searches, receive e-mail updates, and customize My BioMed Central to suit their research needs. To register for this free service, follow the instructions at http://www.biomedcentral.com/my/.

Business Source Complete

- see Ebsco

C

Cambridge University Press

"Cambridge Alerts" offers two types of alerts:

Journals Content alerts:
For Alerts in journals only, please go to our Journals Contents Alerts (you will have the chance to subscribe to Journals Alerts after following the process for Cambridge Alerts).

Education E-newsletter:
Keep up-to-date with news, products and initiatives by subscribing to CUP's termly Education E-newsletter

Canada NewsWire

Provides news releases relating to time-critical news and information from more than 10,000 sources across Canada and around the world.

Canadian Newsstand

- see ProQuest

CBCA Education

- see ProQuest

CBCA Reference & Current Events

- see ProQuest

Choose Your News

35 Government of Canada Newsroom RSS feeds that include the date, title, summary and a link to the full news article. To view the fulltext of an aritcle, simply link to the full text document found on the Newsroom Web site.

CINAHL Complete

- see Ebsco

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)

- see Ovid

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

- see Ovid

Current Cites

Current Cites is a team of librarians that selects the best items in current information technology literature (in both print and digital forms). Once a month, the resulting 10-15 annotated citations are sent via e-mail to a mailing list or on an RSS feed.

D

The Daily

"The Daily" sends the latest information from Statistics Canada on current social and economic conditions and announces new products relating to the subjects that you have selected. Designed to be a comprehensive one-stop overview of new information available from Statistics Canada

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)

- see Ovid

Discover

- see Ebsco

E

Ebsco databases

Saved Searches
A Saved Search allows you to save advanced searches and then retrieve those searches for reuse so you don't have to recreate the same search over and over again. You can also print your Search History. Once you have saved a search, it can be retrieved at any time. 
Note: Searches performed on the Basic Search Screen cannot be saved. To save searches:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the EBSCO database in which you would like to save a search to open the database. Click on the "Advanced Search" tab at the top of the screen, run your search(es). Then, click on the "Search History/Alerts Tab" to view your search history. Click on the "Save Searches/Alerts" Link.
  2. If you have not already logged in to My EBSCOhost, you will be prompted to log in. Enter your user name and password. If you decide not to proceed with saving your search, click on Cancel to return to the Advanced Search Screen. (If you have not created a MyEBSCOhost profile before, click on the "I'm a new user" link to create a profile.)
  3. Enter a Name and Description for the search (e.g., mysearch1). Be sure to use a name that describes what your search is looking for so that, if you save multiple searches, you can keep track of what you have done. To save the search, click on Save; otherwise, click on Cancel, then click on OK.
  4. You are returned to the Advanced Search Screen.
  5. If you would like to save additional searches, repeat the process.

To retrieve your search history once you have created your saved searches:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the EBSCO database in which you have saved a search to open the database. Click on the "Advanced Search" tab at the top of the screen. Click on the "Retrieve Searches/Alerts" Link.
  2. If you have not already logged in to My EBSCOhost, you will be prompted to log in. Enter your user name and password. If you decide not to proceed with saving your search, click on Cancel to return to the Advanced Search Screen.
  3. To retrieve a search from the list presented, click on the "Retrieve Saved Search" Link. Note: If you already have the Search History/Alerts Tab open, you are prompted to save your current search. If you don't do this, your current search will be erased.
  4. You are returned to the Advanced Search Screen. The Search History/Alerts Tab now includes all information for the search you retrieved. All search counts are replaced with a hyperlink "Display." When you view the results (by clicking on the link in the Results column), a new search is launched and its results are added to your Search History.

To print your search history:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the EBSCO database in which you have saved a search to open the database. Click on the "Advanced Search" tab at the top of the screen. Be sure that the Search History you want to print is open (i.e., you have just saved your search of you have just retrieved it). Then, click on the "Print Search History"link. A browser screen appears with the Search History formatted for printing (Note: this prints the search history screen NOT the results).
  2. To print, click the Print icon on the browser toolbar. To close the browser window, click on the “X” in the upper right corner of the window. You will then be returned to the Advanced Search Screen.

Search Alerts
You can save advanced searches as alerts and have EBSCOhost e-mail you with any new results. You may also retrieve those alerts to perform the search immediately instead of waiting for the alert. 
Note: An alert is set up for the last search performed on the Advanced Search Screen.

To save a search as an Alert:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the EBSCO database in which you would like to create a search alert. Click on the "Advanced Search" tab at the top of the screen. Run your search (i.e., type in your search terms and click on the submit button). Click on the Search History/Alerts Tab to view your search history. Click on the Save Searches/Alerts Link.
  2. If you have not already logged in to My EBSCOhost, you will be prompted to log in. Enter your user name and password, or click on Cancel and return to the Advanced Search Screen. (If you have not created a MyEBSCOhost profile, click on the "I'm a new user" link to create a profile.)
  3. Enter a Name and Description for the search, e.g., mysearch1. Be sure to use a name that describes what your search is looking for so that, if you save multiple searches, you can keep track of what you have done.
  4. Choose the Alert radio button.
  5. Choose how often you would like the alert to be performed, and how far back the articles should go.
  6. In the Run Alert for field, select how long the journal alert should run: 
    • One month (the default) 
    • Two months 
    • Six months 
    • One year (Note: the maximum length of time that a search alert will run is one year!! After a year, you will have to recreate the Journal Alert if you would still like the alert to work.)
  7. In the E-mail Properties section, click the E-mail notification field to be notified by e-mail when new articles are available.
  8. In the Address(es) field, enter your e-mail address(es). To enter multiple e-mail addresses, place a semicolon between e-mail addresses. (e.g., me@tru.ca; me@hotmail.com)
  9. Accept the default subject line or enter new information in the Subject for e-mail field. (The latter is recommended if you are making more than one search alert).
  10. Select the desired e-mail format (ASCII or HTML).
  11. To have your search string included in the e-mail, click Include query string in e-mail. When you have finished making changes, click "Save." You are returned to the Advanced Search Screen.

Journal Alerts
EBSCOhost allows you to create an automatic email alert notification each time a new issue for a selected title is made available in a specific database. The email notice will contain a list of article titles available for that specific journal issue. Once an alert has been created, a flag will appear for this title on the Publication Overview Screen.

Note: If you have not already logged in to My EBSCOhost, you will be prompted to log in.

To set up a Journal Alert:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the EBSCO database in which you would like to create a journal alert. Click on the Publications button at the top of the screen. Type in the journal title into the search box next to "Browse Publications." Click on the "Browse button." Click on the publication name of the journal for which you would like to make an alert. This will open the title's Publication Overview Screen. Then click the "Journal Alert" link on the right hand side of the screen..
  2. The "Save Journal Alert Screen" will appear, with the journal alert name, date created and database name automatically filled in.
  3. In the "Run Alert" for field, select how long the journal alert should run: 
    • One month (the default) 
    • Two months 
    • Six months 
    • One year (Note: the maximum length of time that a search alert will run is one year!! After a year, you will have to recreate the Journal Alert if you would still like the alert to work.)
  4. In the "E-mail Properties" section, click the E-mail notification field to be notified by e-mail when a new issue is made available. Select the desired e-mail format (ASCII or HTML).
  5. To have your search string included in the e-mail, click "Include query string in e-mail."
  6. Select whether you want the e-mail to include a link to the journal table of contents, or links to individual articles.
  7. Accept the default subject line or enter new information in the Subject for e-mail field. (The latter is recommended if you are making more than one journal alert).
  8. In the Address(es) field, enter your e-mail address(es). To enter multiple e-mail addresses, place a semicolon between e-mail addresses. (e.g., me@tru.ca; me@hotmail.com)
  9. When you have finished making changes, click "Save" to retrn you to the Publication Overview Screen. The screen will indicate that a Journal Alert has been set up for the publication. You may edit your Journal Alerts by accessing your alerts from within your folder.

Ebsco RSS Alerts Ebsco RSS Feeds allows TRU students, faculty and staff to set up Search and Journal Alerts and view updated alert results in their news feed readers. Only TRU students, faculty, and staff will have off-campus access to read fulltext articles.

EBM: Evidence Based Medicine Reviews

- see Ovid

EconLIT

- seeEbsco

Emerald

Emerald is a multidisciplinary publishing house that has several management, technology, engineering, and applied science journals. Provides free Saved Search and TOC (Table of Contents) Alert services via email, as well as a weekly digest option that provides a summary of all Emerald Fulltext journals updated each week.

ERIC

- see Ebsco

Eureka Alert

An online press services created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) to provide a forum for the distribution of science-related news and to archive these press releases and make them easily available to the public. Registration is not required to view the public information.

G

GeoBase

Includes an email alerting service. To take advantage of this service, enter GEOBASE and run a search. When you have created a successful search, click "Search History", and then the "Save" button. You will be prompted to login or create an account.

Globe & Mail Newsletters

Provides free daily, weekly or monthly email newsletters. Possible newsletters include news, finance & investing, technology, and leisure. To subscribe, click on the link to "sign up for one of their newsletters".

H

Highwire Press

Hosts one of the largest free fulltext archives of life science articles, particularly biomedical journals. HighWire Press is a division of the Stanford University Libraries, which produces the online versions of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content. HighWire partners with influential scholarly societies, university presses and publishers to create a collection of the finest, fully searchable research and clinical literature online. Provides the following free current awareness services:

  • eTOCs: send e-mail to notify you of either complete Tables of Contents (from both current and future content) or notification that an issue has just gone online. Also possible to sign up to receive announcements from journal publishers and, where available, weekly or daily pre-print publication announcements.
  • CiteTrack: send an e-mail alert whenever new content in participating journals is published that matches the profile you have set such as specific journals, topics (keywords/subjects of interest), authors (individuals whose work you are following), and articles (when a paper of interest is referenced by another paper or letter) you want to track.
  • Subscription Alerts: to help you manage your different journal subscriptions by providing email alerts about subscription expiration dates.
  • HighWire: provides email notifications about the following types of changes: when HighWire Press adds a journal to the "Upcoming Journals" list, launches a journal, a journal adds significant back files of full text content, when sites begin to require subscriptions, or when sites add or change a free back issues policy.

To register for any or all of these services, please follow the instructions under the "My Alerts" heading at http://highwire.stanford.edu/customize/#myalerts

Historical Abstracts

- see Ebsco

Hospitality & Tourism Complete

- see Ebsco

I

Institute of Physics (IOP)

IOP Provides two types of free e-mail alerts:

  • Table of Contents (TOC) alerts: emails the Tables of Contents of IOP (Institute of Physics) journals as soon as the issues are published online. Will also send updates on other journal services such as IOP Select and IOP Physics Reviews.
  • Enhanced alerts: allows you to enter more flexible alerting criteria such as keywords, so that whenever articles matching your criteria are published, you automatically receive alerts containing their details.

Interactions.org (Particle Physics News and Resources)

Interactions.org is maintained by the InterAction collaboration (members represent the particle physics laboratories in Europe, North America and Asia). Designed to serve as a central resource for communicators of particle physics. Provides links to the following: current particle physics news from the international press; high-resolution photos and graphics from particle physics laboratories; education and outreach programs; information about science policy and funding; universities; a glossary; and a conference calendar. Website is updated daily.

J

Journals TOC

Journals TOC, created by Heriot-Watt's Institute for Computer Based Learning, provides TOC (Table of Content) alerts on a wide variety of journals.

JSTOR

Tables of Contents can be emailed & RSS feeds generated upon the creation of a free MyJSTOR account.

L

Lippincott, Williams, and Wilkins

- LWW is a major publisher of nursing and allied health journals and provice free TOC alerts emailed to registered users.

M

MEDLINE with Fulltext

- see Ebsco

MLA International Bibliography

- see Ebsco

N

Nature

Nature.org (the website for the premier journal Nature) has a TOC and other e-alerts upon registration.

O

Ovid databases

Saved Searches

Ovid's Save Search/Alert function allows you to save searches created during any search session, log off, and return at a later time without having to manually recreate searches.

To save a search strategy:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the Ovid database in which you would like to create a search alert.
  2. Run your search (i.e., type in your search terms and click on the search button).
  3. Click on the Save Search/Alert button.
  4. You will be prompted to log in. Enter your Personal Account name and password. (If you have not created a Personal Account, click on the "Create a new Personal Account" link to create a profile.)
  5. Enter a Name for the search. Be sure to use a name that describes what your search is looking for so that, if you save multiple searches, you can keep track of what you have done. (NOTE: Saved Search names are case sensitive.)
  6. Enter any comments to describe your search in the Comments field.
  7. Select the temporary or permanent save search option from the drop-down menu.
  8. Click the "Save" button.
  9. Once you have saved a search, a confirmation message displays on the main search page's search history.

To retrieve a saved search:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the Ovid database in which you would like to retrieve your saved search.
  2. In the database, click on the Saved Searches/Alerts icon (located at the top of the screen) to open the Saved Searches Page to access previously saved searches.
  3. If you have not already logged in to Ovid, you will be prompted to log in to your Personal Account. Enter your Personal Account name and password to access your saved searches.
  4. You will now have access to your saved searches to run, copy, delete, rename, edit, display, or email jump start previously saved searches.

AutoAlert

Ovid's AutoAlert function will automatically email you a report of any new records associated with your Saved Search strategy that have been added to an Ovid database.

To create an AutoAlert:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the Ovid database in which you would like to create a search alert.
  2. Run your search (i.e., type in your search terms and click on the search button).
  3. Click on the Save Search/Alert button.
  4. You will be prompted to log in. Enter your Personal Account name and password. (If you have not created a Personal Account, click on the "Create a new Personal Account" link to create a profile.)
  5. Enter a Name for the search. Be sure to use a name that describes what your search is looking for so that, if you save multiple searches, you can keep track of what you have done. (NOTE: Saved Search names are case sensitive.)
  6. Enter any comments to describe your search in the Comments field.
  7. Select the AutoAlert option form the search type dropdown box. The Save Search options will change to panels of AutoAlert options.
  8. These panels contain all of your AutoAlert content, format, and schedule options. In the email section, select information about where and how you want the AutoAlert to be sent.
  9. In the "Recipient's Email Address" field, enter the email address to which you want the alerts to be sent.
  10. For "Email Subject," you might want to type in the name of your search which describes what kinds of records your search is retrieving so that if you save multiple searches, you can keep track of them easily.
  11. In the "Email Options" section, select whether you want the search report to appear inline (within the email) or as an attachment that can be opened separately.
  12. Select the "Output Type" that you would prefer (either HTML or ASCII).
  13. OPTION: You can select to have search strategy from which the results were derived to be included in each AutoAlert.
  14. Select which type of report you would like to be sent to you.
  15. In the "Fields" section, choose what information you want included in your alert (e.g., citation, citation and abstract, citation and abstract and subject headings, etc.)
  16. In the "Result Format" section, select a data format for your records.
    • Ovid: The format resembles Ovid's Search Result Display
    • BRS/Tagged: Field labels display as two-letter abbreviations. All fields with multiple items display on the same line, one after another. Results can be imported manually into RefWorks.
    • Reprint/Medlar: Field labels display as two-letter abbreviations. All fields with multiple items display on separate lines.
    • NOTE: If you selected HTML as your output option (see step 12), Ovid will not support BRS/Tagged or Reprint/Medlar formats. To have BRS/Tagged or Reprint/Medlar data format, please select ASCII as your output option (step 12).
  17. Once you have chosen a results format, go to the "Sort" panel of AutoAlert options to select which order your would like your records to display (e.g., alphabetically by journal name).
  18. Under "Scheduling Options," select how frequently you want to receive AutoAlerts (e.g., weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or whenever the database is updated) .
  19. Under "Deduping Options", you can define your deduplication preference. This means that each time the AutoAlert runs Ovid reviews results from previous runs and removes duplicate records from within the range of time specified. Deduplication options are defined in terms of days previous to the scheduled runs of the AutoAlert (30, 60, 90, 120, and 180 days) .
  20. Once you have selected all preferences for your AutoAlert, click the "Save" button. A confirmation message will then appear on the main search page's search history indicating that your search was saved.

To view a saved AutoAlert:

  1. Go to the Article Databases page on the library website and click on the title of the Ovid database in which you would like to retrieve your AutoAlert.
  2. In the database, click on the Saved Searches/Alerts icon (located at the top of the screen) to open the Saved Searches Page to access previously saved searches/AutoAlerts.
  3. If you have not already logged in to Ovid, you will be prompted to log in to your Personal Account. Enter your Personal Account name and password to access your saved searches.
  4. You will now have access to your saved searches/AutoAlert to run, copy, delete, rename, edit, display, or email jumpstart previously saved searches.

Oxford University Press

The Content Alerting service provides free email notification of tables of contents of all Oxford Univeristy Press (OUP) journals. To add alerts, put an email address in the box at the top of the screen, select the journal(s) of interest, and click the "subscribe" button at the bottom of the page. To remove a TOC alert, simply put your email address in the box at the top of the screen, select the particular journal(s) concerned, and then click on the "unsubscribe" button at the bottom of the screen.

P

Palgrave MacMillan

- Free registration for TOC alerts from a number of multidisciplinary journals.

PLoS (Public Library of Science)

- Free registration to receive PLoS Updates for a variety of open access scholarly scientific journals.

PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences)

- Free registration to receive TOC alerts.

Project Muse

- this multidisciplinary database provides TOC and RSS alert services

Proquest databases

To create an alert, simply search for items on a specific topic or in a specific publication. Then, click on the "Set up Alerts" button. The "Set up Alerts" button is available through the following screens: Basic Search Results; Advanced Search Results; Recent Searches; Publication Search; or My Research Summary. ProQuest alerts only require an email address. They do not require any registration. When setting up an alert, it is possible to specify the following:

  • How often you wish to receive email
  • An expiration date for the alert
  • Custom subject line and message

PsycINFO

- see Ebsco

PubCrawler

Free "alerting" service that searches the NCBI PubMed (Medline) and Entrez (GenBank) databases daily according to the research interests that you specify (keywords, author names, etc.) in your profile.  There is no limit on the number of searches that can be carried out.  Previous search hits are stored and only the newest PubMed or GenBank records are shown each day.  The results are presented as an HTML Web page which can be located on the PubCrawler WWW-Service, on your computer, or sent to you via e-mail. To register, see http://pubcrawler.gen.tcd.ie/www.html.

R

Royal Society of Chemistry

Offers a free Journals Emailing Alerting Service. Receive an email each time new content is available for a particular set of Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) journals. Select titles from the list of RSC journals and fill in your email address. Abstracts and table of contents for online journals RCS journals can also be accessed.

S

Sage Publications

Multidisciplinary publisher that focuses on the social sciences. Offers free search alerts (called Content Alerts) and table of contents alerts (My Favourite Journals ). To register for either of these alerts, follow the instructions at: https://online.sagepub.com/cgi/register

Science Citation Index

- see Web of Science

Science Direct

- set up TOC, search alerts and citation alerts

Social Sciences Citation Index

- see Web of Science

Sociological Abstracts

- see ProQuest

Springer

SpringerAlerts provides free email alerts of the latest research developments in your specified field of interest -- includes journal tables of contents and announcements about new books, journals and other products. Set up a profile.

U

US Geological Survey (USGS)

Researchers can either visit the USGS newsroom for news releases or sign up to USGS listservs to have news releases emailed to them. Listservs are organized by topics such as biology, geology, geologic hazards, mapping, water, the monthly Science Picks, and selected new products.

W

WatchThatPage.com

Free service that enables you to automatically collect new information from your favorite webpages. Select which pages to monitor, and WatchThatPage will find which pages have changed, collect the new content, and present the new information to you in an email and/or on a personal web page. You can specify when the changes will be collected. To receive updates, register your profile, and select the pages that you want to monitor.

Web of Science

You can create email alerts and RSS feeds from your saved Search History. To set up, first go to the main Web of Science page.

  • Click on "My Tools" in the upper right hand corner
  • Sign in to your Web of Science account with your email and password
  • If you do not have a Web of Science account, click on Register to sign up
  • After signing in/registering, search the database as usual
  • When you have a search that you would like to save or create an alert for, click on "Create Alert" in the left side navigation bar

Wiley

Wiley e-Alerts: Free e-mail alerting service that sends e-mails of journal tables of contents (with links to abstracts), and/or news of the latest books in a specific field. You can either choose which discipline interests you, they will send you a message every two weeks or you can specify exactly which books and journals you'd like to hear about, and how often you'd like to receive your messages.