The Blackwell Companion to Criminology provides a contemporary and global resource to scholarship in both classical and topical areas of criminology. Written accessibly, and with its international perspective and first-rate scholarship, this is truly the first global handbook of criminology. Editors and contributors are international experts in criminology, offering a comparative perspective on theories and systems Contains full discussion of key debates and theories, the implications of new topics, studies and ideas, and contemporary developments Coverage includes: class, gender, and race, criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, punishment, mass media, international crimes, and social control
The Handbook of Deviance is a definitive reference for professionals, researchers, and students that provides a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the sociology of deviance. Composed of over 30 essays written by an international array of scholars and meticulously edited by one of the best known authorities on the study of deviance Features chapters on cutting-edge topics, such as terrorism and environmental degradation as forms of deviance
With over 1000 entries on key concepts and theorists, The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology provides full coverage of the field, clarifying the technical use of apparently common words, explaining the fundamentals concepts, and introducing new and unfamiliar terms. A humorous, enjoyable read, this book provides authoritative, reliable definitions; accessible 'digests' of key arguments; contemporary, and appealing illustrations of points.
This book is a readily available introductory reader not only for the students of Criminology, but also for the general reader who may be interested in the problems of crime, crime control and prevention.
Call Number: HM 425 .B53 2007 v.1-11 at Main Library (Reference)
Publication Date: 2007-01-23
Arranged across eleven volumes in A-Z format, it is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field. An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts Presents materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe Offers sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities Features a timeline, lexicon by subject area, bibliography, and index 11 Volumes
Deviance, Crime, and Control: Beyond the Straight and Narrow, second edition, assumes that deviance is normal behaviour and conformity is socially constructed. The 'discovery' of deviant behaviour indicates society's degree of cohesion, tolerance, and control over individuals. The benchmarksfor what constitutes 'deviance' are in a constant state of change. This book studies contemporary notions and forms of deviance and control against the backdrop of history. In addition, the author takes a multi-paradigm approach and discusses deviance and conformity from functionalist, conflict,social constructionist/symbolic interactionist, feminist, and postmodern perspectives. Using health and well-being as a measure of tight social control, this text focuses on the outcomes of deviance. Emphasizing the need to find new solutions to social problems.
Call Number: HV 5804 .E53 1995 v. 1-4 Main: Reference
Publication Date: 1995-05-01
Covers a wide range of issues including the history of drug and alcohol use, the workings of the international drug trade, the use of drugs in the treatment of disease, drugs and AIDS, drugs in the workplace, the legalization of drugs, and prescription drug abuse.
This unique Encyclopediais separated into four volumes, covering Historical, Conceptual, and Theoretical Issues and Self Destructive and Disvalues Identity. There are over 550 entries each with 2,000 to 3,500 words covering a multitiude of topics related to criminology, deviant behavior, and other unusual sociological phenomena. Each entry includes a comprehensive definition of the term, concise practical information (such as tables and/or diagrams) and a bibliography; they are written in such a way to be accessible not only to professionals or those familiar with the terminology, but also to students and non-expert professionals.
Call Number: HV 6017 .E5295 2005 v.1-3 at Main Library (Reference)
Publication Date: 2005-01-02
This three-volume work offers a comprehensive review of the pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices that comprise criminology and criminal justice. More than 525 alphabetically arranged entries by the leading authorities in the discipline comprise this definitive, international resource. The pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices of the field are addressed with an emphasis on comparative criminology and criminal justice. While the primary focus of the work is on American criminology and contemporary criminal justice in the United States, extensive global coverage of other nations' justice systems is included, and the increasing international nature of crime is explored thoroughly.
Call Number: HV 6025 .P65 2016 Main Library Stacks
Publication Date: 2016-01-15
While the general public is only beginning to grasp it, the fact that the social definition of individuals and groups plays a major role in how they are addressed by law enforcement has become common knowledge among scholars. This book sets that understanding for the first time in a philosophical context, showing how we can use phenomenology to help us understand how and why police make decisions about legitimacy and illegality based on social constructions. Written by an internationally known specialist in the intersection of criminology and philosophy, the book will be essential reading for scholars and students in both fields and for those working with social policy as well.
This is the first reference work to offer the wealth of material on women and crime to a general audience. More than 200 authoritative contributors from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia examine the subject from the perspectives of offenders, offenses, and theories on offending, victims and victimology, the criminal justice system, punishment and treatment.
Research on gender, sex, and crime today remains focused on topics that have been a mainstay of the field for several decades, but it has also recently expanded to include studies from a variety of disciplines, a growing number of countries, and on a wider range of crimes. The Oxford Handbookof Gender, Sex, and Crime reflects this growing diversity and provides authoritative overviews of current research and theory on how gender and sex shape crime and criminal justice responses to it.
Social tensions between majority and minority populations often center on claims that minorities are largely responsible for crime and disorder. Members of some disadvantaged groups in all developed countries, sometimes long-standing residents and other times recent immigrants, experienceunwarranted disparities in their dealings with the criminal justice system. Accusations of unfair treatment by police and courts are common. The Oxford Handbook of Ethnicity, Crime, and Immigration provides comprehensive analyses of current knowledge about these and a host of related subjects.Topics include legal and illegal immigration, ethnic and race relations, and discrimination and exclusion, and their links to crime in the United States and elsewhere.
The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity at specific groups or at least punishing those who have committed such crimes.
The Encyclopedia of Terrorism presents authoritative coverage of what is currently one of the world's most important topics. With more than 300 articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed discussions of the who, what, where, when, and why of terrorism. Up-to-date and timely, the articles cover such topics as Al-Qaeda, biological terrorism, extremism, Saddam Hussein, jihad, Zacarias Moussaoui, and suicide bombers. Its concise, readable format and detailed chronology, photographs, maps, and charts make this an essential reference.
The Oxford Handbook takes a global perspective with first-rate contributions from around the world covering the main regions and countries in which organized crime activity is at its greatest. It is divided into four sections: concepts and research methods, actors and interactions, markets and activities, and, finally, national and international policies to fight criminal organizations.
The primary goal of the Encyclopediais to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon. The coverage of the Encyclopediais broad and diverse, encompassing the entire life span from infancy to old age. The entries include the traditional research areas, such as battered women, child abuse and dating violence. However, this Encyclopediais unique in that it includes many under-studied areas of domestic violence, such as ritual abuse-torture within families, domestic violence against women with disabilities, pseudo-family violence and domestic violence within military families.
Understanding Crime in Canada: An Introduction to Criminology provides an overview of the foundations of criminology, and is intended for an introductory-level university and college audience. In addition to surveying the key theoretical approaches, it also examines important aspects in the study of criminology, including the role of the media; key points of criminal law; ways of measuring crime; and a thorough survey of the various types of crime. Case studies and boxes are used throughout to illustrate the theoretical aspects of the text in a real-world context. The concise chapters, accessible presentation, and Canadian content make it an ideal introduction to the field.
The Juristat Reader is intended as a supplemental text for Canadian university and college students taking courses in the fields of criminology, law and justice. It is also intended for practitioners in these fields wanting a single reference source for justice statistics. Included is an introductory article on the Canadian legal system
Updated and expanded to reflect the most recent developments and revisions in Canadian national and provincial law, this book is a concise guide to legal citation in Canada. Legal terms are listed A-to-Z with concise definitions. Supplemented with information on relevant source materials, particularly in cases and statutes, this handy and easy-to-use reference source defines important legal terms, describes the Canadian court system, and presents The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in its entirety.
The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice presents a timely compilation of state-of-the-art critical reviews of knowledge about causes of delinquency and their significance for justice policy, and about developments in the juvenile justice system to prevent and control youth crime. The first half of the handbook focuses on juvenile crime and examines trends and patterns in delinquency and victimization, explores causes of delinquency-at the individual, micro-social, and macro-social levels, and from natural and social science perspectives-and their implications for structuring a youth justice system. The second half of the handbook concentrates on juvenile justice and examines a range of issues-including the historical origins and re-invention of the juvenile court; juvenile offenders' mental health status and considerations of trial competence and culpability; intake, diversion, detention, and juvenile courts; and transfer/waiver strategies-and considers how the juvenile justice system itself influences delinquency.