This is the "Books to Get You Started" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry science  

This guide outlines books, article databases and other sources to guide students and faculty researching a topic within the field of Chemistry.
Last update: Jul 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.tru.ca/content.php?pid=2170  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books to Get You Started            Print Page
  
 

Books to Get You Started

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic.  Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty
  • Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry - edited by John H. Moore and Nicholas D. Spencer
    Call Number: QC 5 .E62 2001 v. 1 -3 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 0750303131
    Compiles the experimental and theoretical tools that form the basis of physical chemistry and chemical physics. Provides a synopsis of the fundamentals and an overview of the range of activities in which physical principles are applied to chemical problems. Also defines the scope of each subdiscipline and offers recommendations on where to go for more information.
  • The organic chemist's desk reference : a companion volume to the Dictionary of organic compounds - P.H. Rhodes
    Call Number: QD 251 .D4954 1995 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 041264410X
    Includes practical information on organic chemistry such as properties of reagents and solvents, freezing mixtures, drying agents; storage and disposal methods for hazardous chemicals; tables of spectroscopic data (including nmr shift values, ir and uv absorption bands); key data on reference sources; nomenclature and a glossary of terms; and hints on searching the chemical literature.
  • Van Nostrand's encyclopedia of chemistry
    Call Number: QD 4 .V36 2005 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 0471615250
    This encyclopaedia not only covers the traditional topics in chemistry, but also covers subjects in nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, forensic chemistry, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, proteomics, and materials chemistry. The entries range in length from a few sentences to several pages. The longer entries are signed and include a list of additional readings.
  • Concise encyclopedia biochemistry and molecular biology - by Thomas A. Scott and E. Ian Mercer
    Call Number: QD 415 .A25 B713 1996 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 3110145359
    More than 4,500 entries and over 1,000 figures, formulas and tables, covering all areas of biochemistry.
  • The elements - written and compiled by John Emsley
    Call Number: QD 466 .E48 1998 Reference at: KAM & WLK
    ISBN/ISSN: 0198558198
    Collects the major facts about the various chemical elements. Divided into five sections: chemical, physical, nuclear, electron shell, and environmental properties. Covers an element's standard potentials, oxidation states, melting and boiling points, molar heat capacities, crystal structure, key isotopes, NMR properties, ionization energies, atomic spectrum lines, natural abundance, discoverer, date of discovery, and origin of name.
  • Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary -
    Call Number: QD 5 .C5 2007 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 0471768650
    Provides a compendium of technical data and descriptive information on industrial chemicals, terms, processes, reactions and related terminology. Identifies chemical substances by name, physical properties, source of occurrence, shipping regulations, Chemical Abstracts Registry (CAS) number, chemical formula, potential hazard, derivations, synonyms and applications. Also contains brief biographical sketches of Nobel laureates, contact information for professional associations and societies within the chemical industry, and an appendix on the origin of some chemical terms.
  • A Dictionary of chemistry - edited by John Daintith
    Call Number: QD 5 .D57 2008 Reference at: KAM & previous edition at: WLK
    ISBN/ISSN: 0199204632
    Contains over 4,000 clear and concise definitions of the commonly encountered terms and concepts in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. Also covers laboratory techniques, pollutants, and chemical engineering. Appendices include a full alphabetical table of elements and their properties.
  • The Cassell dictionary of chemistry - Percy Harrison and Gillian Waites
    Call Number: QD 5 .H347 1998 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 0304350389
    Offers clear and brief explanations of key terms from organic and inorganic chemistry and related subjects. Also provides reaction schemes that denote how particular compounds are formed and behave in the laboratory or in nature as well as explanatory charts and diagrams.
  • CRC handbook of chemistry and physics : a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data -
    Call Number: QD 65 .H3 2006-2007 Reference at: KAM & previous edition at: WLK
    A key resource. Gives authoritative, up-to-date information about chemical and physical data. Information is divided into 16 sections: basic constants, units, and conversion factors; symbols, terminology, and nomenclature; physical constants of organic compounds; properties of the elements and inorganic compounds; thermochemistry, electrochemistry, and kinetics; fluid properties; biochemistry; analytical chemistry; molecular structure and spectroscopy; atomic, molecular, and optical physics; nuclear and particle physics; properties of solids; polymer properties; and geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics; practical laboratory data; and health and safety regulations. Appendices include mathematical tables and sources of physical and chemical data. Updated annually.
  • Lange's Handbook of chemistry - John A. Dean
    Call Number: QD 65 .L36 2005 Reference at: KAM & previous edition at: WLK
    ISBN/ISSN: 0071432205
    A standard reference source for information in the major areas of chemistry. Compiles facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in the following areas: organic chemistry; conversion tables and mathematics; inorganic chemistry; properties of atoms; radicals and bonds; physical properties; thermodynamic properties; spectroscopy; electrolytes; electromotive force and chemical equilibrium; physiochemical relationships; polymers; rubbers; fats, oils and waxes; and practical laboratory information.
  • Handbook of basic tables for chemical analysis - Thomas J. Bruno, Paris D.N. Svoronos
    Call Number: QD 78 .B78 2003 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 0849315735
    Covers organic chemistry, chemical engineering, pharmaceutical science, forensics, or environmental science. New and updated sections on on solutions, electroanalytical methods, electrophoresis, laboratory safety, and chromatography. It also includes new information on qualitative tests, unit conversions, physical constants, hazardous materials, and fittings for gas and liquid transfer lines.
  • The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals - Maryadele J. O'Neil, editor
    Call Number: QV 772 .M542 2006 Reference at: KAM & previous edition at: WLK
    ISBN/ISSN: 091191000X
    Standard drug reference which describes over 10,000 drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents, naturally occurring substances and plants, elements and inorganic chemicals, compounds of agricultural interest, and endogenous substances and biological agents. Entries include the chemical abstracts name, alternate chemical names, percentage composition, molecular weight, molecular formula, patent and chemical information, literature references, biological and pharmacological information, structure, physical data, drug code number, derivatives, trademarks and/or synonyms of derivatives, and therapeutic category (in humans).
  • Inorganic materials chemistry desk reference - D. Sangeeta, John R. LaGraff
    Call Number: TP 200 .S26 2005 Reference at: KAM
    ISBN/ISSN: 0849309107
    Discusses new topics such as combinatorial chemistry, nanostructures, and biomaterials. Emphasizes new applications of inorganic materials. Includes a glossary of over 200 terms.
  • Kirk-Othmer concise encyclopedia of chemical technology -
    Call Number: TP 9 .K54 2007 V. 1-2 Reference at: KAM & previous edition at: WLK
    The concise edition of this encyclopedia provides an update and acts as a companion to previous editions of this encyclopedia. This set emphasizes sustainable and environmental conscious chemical technology, analytical techniques, and new synthesis and fabrication methods.
  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology - editorial board, Herman F. Mark ... [et al.] ; executive editor, Martin Grayson, associate editor, David Eckroth
    Call Number: TP 9. K54 1999 v. 1 - 26 Reference at: KAM
    Presents information on chemical technology and the major chemical industries. Covers biotechnology, analytical techniques, environmental concerns, fuels, solid-state chemistry, materials, process development and design, regulations, patents and licensing, marketing and economic data. Also includes CAS registry numbers, photographs, charts, graphs, and figures.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageElizabeth Rennie
Need help? Got a question? Ask a TRU Librarian!


Contact Info:
Office: Library 212
Phone: 250.371.5775

Winter 2009
Mon - Fri: 9am to 5pm
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait