Created in 2002, the NIST Data Gateway provides an index of many NIST scientific and technical databases by keyword, property and substance name. These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to free online NIST data systems, NIST SRD products and article searches for the Journal of Physical Chemical Reference Data and The National Standard Reference Data System.
This database contains the CAS Registry Number®, chemical names (both formal and common), molecular formulas, and structures or sequences for ~7900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. These substances are of global commercial use or importance and have been cited 1,000 or more times in the CAS databases. Examples of substances included are aspirin, biotin, benzoyl peroxide, and boric acid. The Common Chemistry database also includes all 118 elements of the Periodic Table, although not all of the elements may meet the 1,000 references threshold.
Every other month the Nature journals are publishing a FREE audio show, 'ChemPod', specifically for the chemistry community, from interviews with Nobel Prize winners, to discussions on nanotechnology research and much, much more...
ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books. The development of the ChemWiki is currently directed by UC Davis Professor Delmar Larsen.