This wide-ranging survey of issues in intercultural language teaching and learning covers everything from core concepts to program evaluation, and advocates a fluid, responsive approach to teaching language that reflects its central role in fostering intercultural understanding. Includes coverage of theoretical issues defining language, culture, and communication, as well as practice-driven issues such as classroom interactions, technologies, programs, and language assessment Examines systematically the components of language teaching: language itself, meaning, culture, learning, communicating, and assessments, and puts them in social and cultural context Features numerous examples throughout, drawn from various languages; international contexts, and frameworks Incorporates a decade of in-depth research and detailed documentation from the authors' collaborative work with practicing teachers Provides a much-needed addition to the sparse literature on intercultural aspects of language education
Student Success in College describes policies, programs, and practices that a diverse set of institutions have used to enhance student achievement. This book clearly shows the benefits of student learning and educational effectiveness that can be realized when these conditions are present. This book provides concrete examples from twenty institutions that other colleges and universities can learn from and adapt to help create a success-oriented campus culture and learning environment.
This research-based, self-exploratory set of hands-on activities can be used in any Diversity or Multicultural Education course, alongside any text. Instead of just telling, this consumable workbook allows students to learn by doing and reflecting on, and writing down his or her own experiences and views. The text addresses a vast range of diversities including race, ethnicity, gender, class, disability, and sexual orientation. Informational readings give students the background to complete the exercises.
Crossing Cultures provides a bold and refreshing new resource for teachers and trainers with proven methods for developing coping strategies and problem-solving skills in the cross-cultural arena. A comprehensive study structured to provide a framework for teaching; each chapter contains a teaching module, highlighting the potential difficulties, dialogues and variations in cross-cultural teaching. Ideal for those teaching Business across borders, this is a uniquely practical guide that features contributions from the leading lights of the field.
Pursuing a graduate education in midlife is a transformative experience. This book guides those midlife adults who are considering, completing, or convocating from graduate journeys so that they can better understand what it means to be a learner in midlife."Learners in Midlife" draws together the most current theories and research on midlife and applies them to the graduate experience. This research is then brought to life through the colorful personal narratives of several midlife learners who share their experiences and advice. Several chapters are also included that outline a few of the many new directions opening up in workplace education. Because it focuses on the learners experience, this book will be of interest to faculty and administrators responsible for part-time masters programs. It also offers employers and human resource personnel ideas for retaining mature employees by encouraging lifelong learning.
Call Number: LB 2375 .H36 2009 at Main Library (Stacks)
The Handbook of Practice and Research in Study Abroad is an indispensable reference volume for scholars, higher education faculty, study abroad professionals, policy makers, and the academic libraries that serve these audiences. It is also appropriate for a wide range of courses in Higher Education Master's and Ph.D. Programs.
With the forces of globalization as a backdrop, this casebook develops labor and employment law in the context of the national laws of nine countries important to the global economy - the US, Canada, Mexico, UK, Germany, France, China, Japan and India. These national jurisdictions are highlighted by considering international labor standards promulgated by the International Labor Organization as well as the rulings and standards that emerge from two very different regional trade arrangements - the labor side accord to NAFTA and the European Union. Across all these different sources of law, this book considers the law of individual employment, collective labor law dealing with unionization as well as the laws against discrimination, the laws protecting privacy and the systems used to resolve labor and employment disputes. This is the first set of law school course materials in English covering international and comparative employment and labor law.