The editors of this volume contend that the current paradigm of standardizing Higher Education through an outcomes-dominated approach can constrain the educational process, where teachers may feel pressured to resort to risk-aversive methods that satisfy the learning-outcomes and assessment agenda. As a result, the ability of teachers and learners to inform, critique and develop their understanding of subjects together may be being lost. This book contains a variety of alternative approaches teachers have used to develop ways of 'humanizing' and deepening the learning process, through drawing on the creative arts and humanities - including cinema, literature, dance, drama and visual art - in a range of disciplines, it is argued by the editors that these 'arts-based inquiry' approaches have opened up possibilities for transformative learning as concerned with whole person development through opportunities to connect the-intuitive, emotional, relational and creative with the analytical and logical ways of knowing.
This volume will help nursing academics: Assess their strengths and weaknesses Write a personal statement Demonstrate their teaching skills Showcase their research/scholarship Organize and present their portfolio Develop an E-portfolio The book provides clear guidelines on what to include in a professional portfolio, and elements to highlight when seeking work in a specific discipline or academic role. It describes pitfalls to be avoided and how to insure effective coverage of teaching, scholarship, and service, as well as addresses the differences between systems and policies of academia, versus those of community college nursing programs and diploma schools of nursing. This guide also helps prepare nurses for the rigors of promotion and tenure by clarifying what to expect and how candidates are evaluated. Numerous examples illustrate actual professional faculty experience and include personal statements written by successful nurse educators.
The learning portfolio is a powerful complement to traditional measures of student achievement and a widely diverse method of recording intellectual growth. This second edition of this important book offers new samples of print and electronic learning portfolios. An academic understanding of and rationale for learning portfolios and practical information that can be customized. Offers a review of the value of reflective practice in student learning and how learning portfolios support assessment and collaboration. Includes revised sample assignment sheets, guidelines, criteria, evaluation rubrics, and other material for developing print and electronic portfolios.
Online Assessment, Measurement and Evaluation: Emerging Practices provides a view of the possibilities and challenges facing online educators and evaluators in the 21st Century. As technology evolves and online measurement and assessment follow, Online Assessment, Measurement and Evaluation: Emerging Practices uses established evaluation principles to employ new tools in evaluation systems that support stakeholders, clarify values and definitions of the evaluation methods, encourage thought about important questions, and refresh the readers' memories of contexts and backgrounds. This book also adheres to evaluation standards of feasibility, propriety, utility, and accuracy in order to help participants realize that technical issues and methods are only worthwhile when they are in the service of helping people make thoughtful choices.
The portfolio is a powerful tool for learning and assessment. Introducing the electronic into the mix increases its power, especially through the key feature of interactive hyperlinks and the potential to promote continuous reflection on, and updating of, learning.
Faculty Assessment and Advancement Resources in the Library Catalogue
The 14 new essays in this collection come from underrepresented faculty who teach at predominantly white colleges and universities. This book discusses both the tenure and promotion experiences of faculty of color and is not racial, ethnic, gender, cultural or discipline specific. The book is thus not only for aspiring graduate students of color and faculty of color desirous of outside mentoring, but is also aimed toward administrators interested in the professional development and dilemmas of faculty of color.
No less than other divisions of the college or university, contemporary writing centers find themselves within a galaxy of competing questions and demands that relate to assessment--questions and demands that usually embed priorities from outside the purview of the writing center itself. Assessments that Matter describes a theory stance toward assessment for writing centers that honors the uniqueness of the writing center context, and examples of assessment in action that are concrete, manageable, portable, and adaptable.
On Being a Mentor is the definitive guide for faculty in higher education who wish to mentor both students and junior faculty. It features strategies, guidelines, best practices, and recommendations for professors who wish to excel in this area. Written in a pithy style, this no-nonsense guide offers straightforward advice about managing problem mentorships and measuring mentorship outcomes.
This guide to helping faculty prepare for professional review, whether an annual event or at a key moment in their career, will help make this often stressful and confusing experience less challenging and provide faculty a sense of mastery over the process. It shows faculty how to plan ahead by learning the rules, getting organized, developing a line of research, collecting baseline data, and fostering interpersonal relationships.
Scholarship Assessed continues the exploration begun by Scholarship Reconsidered. It examines the changing nature of scholarship in today's colleges and universities and proposes new standards with a special emphasis on methods for assessment and documentation. Begun under the oversight of Ernest L. Boyer, and based on the findings of the Carnegie Foundation's National Survey on the Reexamination of Faculty Roles and Rewards, Scholarship Assessed provides a base of information for and gives focus to the debate of institutional standards of rigor and quality.
Cousin to The Teaching Portfolio, which documents a broad sampling of a faculty member's pedagogical work, the course portfolio focuses instead on the unfolding of a single course, from conception to results. The volume covers defining features and functions, steps in development, audiences and occasions for use, and the course portfolio's place in the development of a scholarship of teaching and learning. It also includes nine case studies by faculty in a range of disciplines who have developed and used course portfolios, as well as an annotated resource list.