Skip to main content

Creating Links to Library Resources

Home

Please do NOT link to:

Harvard Business Review
The Harvard Business Review (HBR) has recently changed its licensing provisions to explicitly disallow linking from inside Blackboard and Moodle. Please remove any such persistent links and refrain from adding new ones.  You may provide citations to HBR articles, but your students must locate those articles for themselves. The library has a guide on how to use citations to locate articles.

Linking Library Resources

It is advisable to make links (rather than copies) wherever possible.
Thompson Rivers University Library subscribes to a large number of subscription databases and online journals. The agreements that the TRU Library negotiates with its database vendors and publishers allow use of licensed material for research, instruction, and educational purposes. Commercial use of licensed material is not allowed under the terms of our database licences. Generally the licence terms, in most cases, allow you to print or download a copy of an article for yourself and to post persistent links to journal articles from your course learning management system (Blackboard or Moodle). We do provide specific licensing information on our "more information" page for each database on our database A-Z list

For questions or help with persistent links contact your liaison librarian, ask at the Reference desk or contact  TRU's Intellectual Property Office

Creating links to items in...

ACM Digital Library

ACM Digital Library

Persistent Link

    1. Connect to the ACM Digital Library through the TRU library web site.
    2. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title of the article to display the full information for that article.
      Note: Not all articles allow for a persistent link, so check for“DOI Bookmark” below the article citation. If this exists, you can create a link.
    3. Use the DOI Bookmark to create a persistent link to the article.


ACS Publications

Creating links

Persistent Link

    1. Connect to ACS Web site using the library web page.
    2. Find the article for which you want to create a link.
    3. Locate the link for the DOI assigned to the article.

    4. Add to this prefix to your DOI:
      http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=

      Your final DOI link that you will add to your course will look like this:
      http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1021/ba-1966-0054.ch026

     

    Early Canadiana Online

    Creating links

    Persistent Link

      1. Search the database and find the item that you wish to make a link.
      2. Highlight the address found in address bar of your browser.
      3. Copy the address and paste it in your Blackboard or Moodle form.

        For example:

    EBSCO Databases

    Creating links

    Ebsco databases: Academic Search Complete, AltHealth Watch, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, LISTA, PsycARTICLES, and PsycInfo

    Persistent Link

    1. Find the article in the database and display the fulltext.

    2. Fulltext articles come in two file formats: HTML and PDF
       
    3. On the right-hand side of the screen, you will see a linke for "Permalink." Click on this and copy the entire URL.

      NOTE: Sometimes the permalink does not show up using Internet Explorer.  If that happens, please try Firefox.

      For example:


    4. Paste the entire URL (including the prefix) into the Blackboard or Moodle form to link to the article.

    Ingenta

    Creating links

    Persistent Link

      1. Search Ingenta for the article you want to link to.

      1. Click the title.

      1. Click "Linking options" at the right side of the page and select "OpenURL".

      1. Once the page reloads, copy the link in your browser’s address bar.

    1. Paste the URL into Blackboard or Moodle. Add to this prefix to your ingenta URL:
      http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=

      Your final URL will look like this:
      http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/berghahn/hisref/2009/00000035/00000002/art00002?token=004515eccdcaf5a666f3a7b6c2440446f3120415248786a49266d652fc1a95d0be422

     

      JSTOR

      Creating links

      Persistent Link

        1. Find the article in the JSTOR.

        1. Below the title of the article, click on the link "export this citation"



        1. Find the "Stable URL" and copy it.

      1. Before pasting the URL into your Blackboard or Moodle form, add this prefix: http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=


        Your final URL will look like this:

        http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0021-8529
        %28199524%2953%3A1%3C81%3AMFTYAH%3E2.0.CO%3B2-K

      Oxford English Dictionary

      Creating links

      Persistent Link

          1. Search for the word you wish to define.

          1. Copy the URL from the address box.

        1. Paste that URL into your Blackboard or Moodle form to create the persistent link to your article.

          Project Muse

          Creating links

          Persistent Link

              1. Find the article for which you want to create a link and choose HTML or PDF versions of the article.
              2. Find the DOI for your article and copy it.

              3. Add to this prefix to your DOI:
                http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

                Your final DOI link that you will look like this:
                http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/ncr.2007.0025

            1. Paste your final URL into your Moodle or Blackboard course.

              ProQuest Databases

              Creating links

              Proquest hosted databases: Canadian Newsstand, Canadian Research Index, CBCA Reference & Current Events, and CBCA Education.

              Persistent Link

               

                1. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title of the article to display the full information for that article.

                2. The URL in the browser bar is the persistent link.

                  For example:
                  Image of database

              ScienceDirect

              Creating links

              Persistent Link

              1. Find the article in ScienceDirect
              2. Below the title and author of the article, find the DOI number. The DOI will look like this: 
                doi:10.1016/j.iheduc.2015.04.004

              3. Right click on the DOI number to get the full link.

              4. Select "Copy link location" or "Copy Shortcut" (or similar wording) from the popup menu

              5. Before pasting the URL into your Blackboard or Moodle form, add this prefix: http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=

              6. Your final URL will look like this: 
                http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.iheduc.2015.04.004

              7. Paste your final URL into your Moodle or Blackboard course.

              TRU Library Catalogue

              Creating Persistent Links to Items in the Catalogue

              Below are several ways to create a persistent link to an item in the TRU Library catalogue.  ( Replace the information in red with information particular to your item.)

              To link to a book by title:
              http://libapp.tru.ca/uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/0/0/5?searchdata1=>brideshead+revisited{TI}

              To link to all of the books by a given author:
              http://libapp.tru.ca/uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/0/0/5?searchdata1=evelyn+waugh{AU}

              To link to a book by ISBN:
              http:// libapp.tru.ca /uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/0/0/5?searchdata1=0439136350{020}

              To link to a journal by ISSN:
              http:// libapp.tru.ca /uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/0/0/5?searchdata1=xxx-xxxx xxxx{022}
              NOTE: The format of ISSN must be exactly as shown here, with a dash after the first three numbers and a space after the next four.

              Always click on the resulting link to make sure that it actually leads to the results that you are expecting! 

              Wiley Online Library

              Creating links

              Persistent Link

                1. Find the article for which you want to create a link.

                1. View the article in the full display by clicking on the title of the article.

                1. Find the DOI for the article

                1. Add to this prefix to your DOI:
                  http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

                  Your final DOI link that you will look like this:
                  http://ezproxy.tru.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1748-5827.1962.tb04159.x



              1. Paste your final URL into your Moodle or Blackboard course.