Skip to main content

ACS: American Chemical Society Citation Style

Live Help

Related Guides

About Articles

Use articles for:

  • research on your topic
  • current, specific, in-depth information
  • peer-reviewed (scholarly) information
  • reference lists for further research

What's a Database?

Article databases contain information about articles, and often include the full-text of the articles as well.

While searching our discovery service will find articles for you, databases allow you do more controlled and precise searching.

Articles from Online Databases

References to data retrieved from a database should be cited like a web site and include the CAS Registry Number (RN) or chemical name and the date the database was accessed. If the data are calculated data, also cite the software used for the calculation.

SciFinder

SciFinder; Chemical Abstracts Service: Columbus, OH; carbon-13 NMR spectrum; spectrum ID CC-03-C_SPC-3734; RN 50-52-2; https://scifinder.cas.org (accessed June 9, 2010).

Chemical Abstracts Service: Columbus, OH; Density; RN 50-52-2; https://scifinder.cas.org (accessed June 9, 2010); calculated using ACD/Labs software, version 8.14; ACD/Labs 1994-2007.SciFinder

Other databases

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS); mass spectrum; SDBS No.: 4778; RN 87-86-5; http://riodb01.ibase.aist.go.jp/sdbs/ (accessed June 14, 2010).

Learn More

bookshot

American Chemical Society Style Guide

QD 8.5 .A25 2006

HOUSE OF LEARNING REFERENCE - 3RD FLOOR

 Online