Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Frequency of updates: N/AContains scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Access to 2,500 full-text journals from of scientific, technical and medical fields. NOTE: Not all titles are available in full text. Full text online access to articles is limited to the journals that the TRU library subscribes to through Science Direct.
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.
Provides full online content (complete full text of articles) from over 1500 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals and books. Weekly updates.
Making Sense : a student's guide to research and writing : geography & environmental sciences by 
Handbook of Cultural Geography by 
The Oxford Handbook of Economic Geography by 
Key concepts in Urban Geography by 
Canadian Oxford world atlas by 
Atlas of British Columbia : people, environment, and resource use by 
Canadian mountain place names : the Rockies and Columbia Mountains by 
Place Names of Canada by Why that Name? : place names of Kamloops district by British Columbia Place Names by 
Geo-Data : the World Geographical Encyclopedia, 3rd ed. by 
The Water Encyclopedia : hydrologic data and Internet resources by 
Encyclopedia of Soil Science, 2nd ed. by 
Rivers of North America by 
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples by 
The Encyclopedia of British Columbia by 
A feminist glossary of human geography by 
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by 
Cultural geography : a critical dictionary of key concepts by Working in small groups, examine one of the following three articles linked below.
Evaluate the pros and cons of the article using the following questions as a guide:
What kind of publication does the article appear in? Is it a scholarly journal? Who is the intended audience?
What type(s) of authority does the article have? Are the author's credentials suited to the topic?
In what way(s) is this article useful to you? Would you feel comfortable citing it in a paper?
What steps would you take to verify or repudiate any contentious claims made in the article?
Start searching for your research topic! Use the following steps to try out what you've learned.
1. What is your topic statement or research question?
2. Name 3 search tools or databases likely to give you information about your topic. Examples could be the Library Discover tool, a subject-specific database, Google Scholar, etc. Explain why you think those particular platforms could be helpful.
3. Pick one of the search tools from the previous step, and try some keyword searches. Remember that you can put phrases in "quotes" and that you can combine separate concepts with AND and similar concepts with OR. You can also use facets like the date slider and the Peer Review button to limit your search further. Experiment with different combinations until you find a search that you are happy with and has a reasonable number of results.
4. Choose one article from your search and see if you can find any subject headings. Are they similar to your keywords? Are there any that you would choose to base a new search? Find the citation for the article you have chosen (in APA format), and identify any subject headings.
Some really great resources to consult are:
