Websites

Live Help

Home

KEY RESOURCES

Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 4,800 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and all areas of the biomedical field. Updates: Unknown
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Consists of: - Science Citation Index Expanded: 1955 -; Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 -; Arts and Humanities Citation Index: 1975 -; Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science): 1990-; Conference Proceeding Citation Index (Social Sciences and Humanities): 1990-; Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2015-. Weekly updates

Encyclopedia of complementary health practice by Carolyn Chambers Clark, editor in chief ; Rena J. Gordon, contributing editor ; Barbara Harris, Carl O. Helvie, advisory contributing editors
Call Number: WB 890 .E525 1999 E-book
Lists key terms and concepts in complementary health care. Addresses practices, health conditions, and research-based treatments. Includes over 300 entries explaining naturopathy, homeopathy, chiropractic, nutrition, and massage.

PubMed (Complementary Medicine)
Provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions, specializing in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
Citation Style Guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc..)
Style guide. Check with your instructor to find out which citation style to use.

Books to get you started

Books to Get You Started

Here are some awesome books to get you started on your research topic. Please note: E-Books are restricted to current TRU students, staff and faculty.

Encyclopedia of complementary health practice by Carolyn Chambers Clark, editor in chief ; Rena J. Gordon, contributing editor ; Barbara Harris, Carl O. Helvie, advisory contributing editors
Call Number: WB 890 .E525 1999 E-book
Lists key terms and concepts in complementary health care. Addresses practices, health conditions, and research-based treatments. Includes over 300 entries explaining naturopathy, homeopathy, chiropractic, nutrition, and massage.
The handbook of clinically tested herbal remedies by Marilyn Barrett, editor
Call Number: QV 39 .H363 2004 v.1 & 2 House of Learning Library & Williams Lake Library - Reference
Provides an overview of over 160 herbal products that have undergone clinical trials. Divided into 3 sections: Fundamentals of Herbal Medicine, Methods (product evaluation and clinical trials), and Botanical Profiles. Bibliographic references are included.
Medicinal plants of the world : an illustrated scientific guide to important medicinal plants and their uses by Ben-Erik van Wyk
Call Number: QV 766 .V36 2004
Describes more than 300 medicinal plants. Each entry (with large colour photographs) gives a description of the plant, the geographical origin, therapeutic category, historical and modern uses, active ingredients and pharmacological effects. Also has a section of common disorders with suggested herbal treatments.
The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine by Jacqueline L. Longe, project editor
Call Number: WB 13 .G34 2005
Identifies 150 types of alternative medicine, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy. Entries list references guiding you to further books and articles.

Catalogue Search

Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue.

Subject headings to explore:

Alternative Therapies
Medical anthropology
Alternative Medicine - social aspects
Holistic Health
Complementary Therapies
Herbs - therapeutic use

Article Databases

Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing, Respiratory Therapy, Medicine
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 4,800 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and all areas of the biomedical field. Updates: Unknown
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly.

WWW Sites

PubMed (Complementary Medicine)
Provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions, specializing in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
MedlinePlus: Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Herbal Safety
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
Alternative Medicine Foundation

Research Strategies

Research Tips

Some really great resources to consult are:

Guide to Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to recognize high quality information on the internet and in print.
Following a Citation Trail
Discover how to find a book from a reading list or a bibliography/reference list.
Citation Management
This guide provides an overview of citation management and its benefits, and information about getting started with either RefWorks, Mendeley, or Zotero.

Quick Links

Article Databases
See the full list of all TRU article databases
Find your Subject Librarian
Connect with the librarian best able to help you in your research
Online Forms
Find the right form to submit an ILL request, book a group study room, request a book purchase, and more!
TRU Library Events & Workshops Calendar
Calendar listing current workshop offerings at the TRU library

Ask a Question

How to Ask for Help

APA Citation

/apa