This book is a key reference for students in further and higher education who are preparing for careers in social work, community care, residential care, child care, the probation service, counselling, and psychiatric nursing.
The dictionary captures over 9,000 terms, cataloguing and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organisations, historical figures, and values that define the profession. A special historical section represents a chronology of the significant developments in the United States and the world toward social welfare policies, practices, and the betterment of humanity.
In 100 original chapters, the most experienced and prominent gerontological health care scholars in the United States and across the world provide social workers with up-to-date knowledge of evidence-based practice guidelines for effectively assessing and treating older adults and supporting their families. The contributing authors paint rich portraits of a variety of populations that social workers serve and arenas in which they practice, followed by detailed recommendations of best practices for an array of physical and mental health conditions. Its unprecedented attention to diversity, global trends, and implications for research, government policy, and education make the publication of such a compendium a major event in the field of gerontological social work. Ambitious and multi-dimensional, this handbook represents the best research on health and aging available to social workers today.
Handbook of Family Resilience provides a broad body of knowledge regarding the traits and patterns found to characterize resilient individuals and well-functioning families, including those with diverse structures, various ethnic backgrounds and a variety of non-traditional forms. This Handbook brings together a variety of perspectives aimed at understanding and helping to facilitate resilience in families relative to a full range of challenges.
Call Number: HQ 792 .B7 B74 2005 Reference at: KAM
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Human Early Learning Partnership (HELP) involves over 200 faculty, researchers, and graduate students from six of British Columbia's universities. Its mission is to create, promote, and apply new knowledge through promoting interdisciplinary research designed to help children thrive. The Early Development Mapping Project is a core research activity within HELP, and this Atlas represents one of its major achievements. It should be viewed as a community planning tool designed to help organizations and individuals who are involved in achieving the objectives of the National Children's Agenda.The first chapter of this Atlas outlines the geography of British Columbia. This is followed by a brief demographic survey of early childhood in the province, visually displaying where children live and their ethnic and language diversity. The third chapter reports on results obtained using the Early Development Instrument (EDI) and illustrates near future developmental opportunities and challenges. Chapter 4 focuses on the social and economic characteristics of neighbourhoods that co-occur with favourable and worrisome EDI trends. The Atlas concludes by discussing the implications of EDI and socioeconomic data for community planning and public policy.
Call Number: HV 12 .C36 2005 Main Library & Williams Lake: Reference & Ebook
Over 500 articles covering all aspects of the field of Canadian Social Work practice. Topics include Aboriginal Issues, Codes of Ethics, Human Rights, Sexual Minorities, Suicide and more. Some entries have bibliographic references.
Call Number: HV 12 .E497 2005 at Main Library (Reference) & Williams Lake (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America is a unique reference book that provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential people, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail. Editors include specialists in the social welfare history of each nation, and they have collaborated with scholars from a variety of academic disciplines to prepare entries of varying length addressing these issues. Included in each entry are suggestions for further reading that will guide readers to the rich resources available for learning about the history of North American social welfare. The Encyclopedia also provides cross-references for important topics.
The 400 articles this 4-volume set cover all aspects of social work from practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history. This new edition of the Encylcopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts. Organized by major foundational areas within the social work curriculum, each volume includes cutting-edge information related to all aspects of the profession to guide practice and policy decision-making across the field. Social work researchers, educators, practitioners, and students will gain important insight as well as practical resources related to this dynamic profession.
This text provides a detailed description of over 50 social work skills, with case examples of their creative use in evidence-based practice. The book takes as its starting point the view that social work is a skilled activity but one that is uniquely located in no-win situations, caught in a tension between conflicting and sometimes incompatible needs and expectations.
Call Number: HV 40.35 .H36 2012 Main Library Stacks
Publication Date: 2011-10-20
Today's professionals respond to concerns including permeable borders, the upheavals of war, displaced workers, natural disasters, international adoption, and human trafficking. The extensive collection of 73 chapters confirms the integral and necessary nature of international social work knowledge to all areas of practice, policy, and research.Chapters systematically map the key issues, organizations, competencies, training and research needs, and ethical guidelines central to international social work practice today, emphasizing the linkages among social work, development, and human rights practice. In-depth country case studies and policy examples encourage readers to understand how their practice in social work touches on international issues, regardless of whether the work is done at home or abroad.
This best-selling handbook examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity. This third edition reflects new demographic data, research findings, and theoretical developments and accounts for changing economic and political realities and immigration and health care policy reforms. Contributors have expanded their essays to include practice with individuals, families, and groups, and new chapters consider working with military members and their families, victims and survivors of terrorism and torture, bullied children, and young men of color.
Call Number: HV 687 .A2 H36 2012 Main Library Stacks
Publication Date: 2011-11-08
Thoroughly revised and updated, this is the only comprehensive handbook of its kind covering the diverse field of health social work. Its evidence-based overview of contemporary social work practice in health care is written from a wellness perspective, covering the spectrum of health social work settings with contributions from a wide range of experts. Both a foundation for social work practice in health care and a guide for strategy, policy, and program development, this handbook provides social work students and practitioners with the skills they need to use evidence-based models in their practice.
This 4 volume set takes an international perspective on all matters regarding drugs, alcohol and addictive behaviours. Information is given on street names, treatment programs, and legislation. Entries contain a list of references (books and articles) for further study.
This atlas is divided into 4 sections: geographic and demographic information for each of the five health authorities, indicators of health status, health care service across the province, and lastly a section that draws a relationship between health status and health care services.
Policymakers in welfare democracies throughout the world are raising questions as to whether welfare systems deliver what the public expects, and focus attention on increasing costs. Social workers need more evidence and knowledge about an increasing diversity of social work practices.
Part of the bestselling Making Sense series, this fifth edition of Making Sense in the Social Sciences is an indispensable guide for students in any area of the discipline. Maintaining the signature straightforward style of the series, this book offers up-to-date, detailed information onproper documentation guidelines, essay and report writing, different methods of qualitative and quantitative research, ethical research, and more. Fully updated throughout, with a brand new chapter on presentations, this latest edition continues to be an invaluable resource for students throughouttheir academic careers and beyond.
Social Work Research Methods: Four Alternative Paradigms is the first book that expands social work research methods to include alternative models and integrate these methodologies into general social work practice. In addition to addressing ethics, diversity, and technology, author Teresa Morris also describes research methods for positivism, post-positivism, critical theory, and constructivism.
This accessible and invaluable workbook-style reference guide offers students both a quick reference to APA style and a place for them to practice what they've learned. The authors encourage students to go to already-published articles as models so they are introduced to journal sources. Interactive exercises allow students to work with actual articles and, in the process, begin to see commonalties that ease them into emulating the required style and language suggested in the Publication Manual of the APA.
A Social Justice Approach to Survey Design and Analysis is written for students, teachers, researchers and anyone who is interested in conducting research. It draws heavily on current discussions regarding social justice, equity, health disparities and social determinants of health to providea framework for researchers to use both to engage in social justice research as well as to evolve as social justice practitioners. This research book includes a framework of the continuum of social justice research, a presentation on how to provide an active voice for the community in the design andexaction of research, examples of social justice data sources along with how researchers have used that data to measure social inequities, and an overview of how to analyze data, using the social justice research framework. The book also includes several in depth case scenarios that highlight how social justice research has been used to document, monitor and evaluate inequities encountered by underserved populations
Autoethnography is an innovative approach to inquiry located in the interstices between science and literature. Blending researcher and subject roles, autoethnographers use analytical strategies to explore the social and cultural contexts of meaningful life experiences and their implications for the present. Social issues are described from the inside out, producing narratives that reflect the messy, experiential encounters of everyday life. This collection illustrates the value of autoethnography as an inquiry approach for social work practice. Covering such topics as international adoption, cross-dressing, divorce, cultural competence, life-threatening illness, and transformative change, contributors showcase the ambiguities, doubts, contradictions, insights, tensions, and epiphanies that accompany their experiences. This anthology provides a readable and unique example of an exciting new trend in qualitative research.
Call Number: HV 29.7 .H43 2007 Stacks Main Library
Publication Date: 2007-03-21
Writing Skills for Social Workers aims to raise the profile of writing skills in social work practice, and to enhance social workers' written communication skills. The book adopts a logical progression, and each chapter identifies and contextualizes the practical skills needed at specific points in training and practice. Overall it encourages the development of writing skills and techniques which will stand the reader in good stead throughout their professional career. By adopting a practical approach the authors have included a number of pedagogical features such as reflective exercises, writing tips for specific tasks, and guidelines for further reading.
This is a book to help social work, psychology, counseling and other human service students and professionals improve their writing. It is written without the use of complicated grammatical terms or complex rules that often confuse and discourage writers. Because it is written specifically for the human services, it contains chapters with examples on writing student papers, client reports, psychosocial histories, evaluations, professional papers, research reports, papers for mass audiences, requests for funding, letters to the editor, the use of the Internet in helping clients, the privacy rules of HIPAA, and the many other uses of writing by professionals. The book contains an easy-to-use chapter on the rules and application of APA Style and explains, in simple terms, when certain punctuation marks are needed and why the choice of certain words may give incorrect or vague meaning.
The book was written especially for social workers, administrators, clinicians, students, researchers, & other human service professionals who write case records, reports, testimony statements, & other written communications, as well as journal articles & books. The book is divided into three parts: Preparation for Writing, Preparation for Publication, & the NASW Quick Guide to Mechanics. Chapters cover writing techniques, literature searches, quantitative & qualitative research reports, presentation of graphics, the peer review process, journal submissions, book proposals, production techniques, copyright concerns, & more. Authors who are interested in being published will learn how to package their material.