Call Number: DE 5 .D52 2008 V.1-2 (Main Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
In two volumes, Sir William Smith'sA Dictionary of Greek and Roman Cultureis a treasure trove of information on all aspects of Greek and Roman life: music, customs, architecture, law, medicine, food, clothing, politics, religion, warfare, trade, and more. The contributors number some of the most distinguished scholars of the day--including Heberden, Jebb, Lindsay, Monro, Mozley, Onians. Unusually for the time, the dictionary drew fully on scholarly work from outside the British Isles. The generous citations and references to Latin and Greek texts make it a firstport of call for both students and scholars wanting to get a basic overview of a particular subject with references. The third edition is a major revision of all previous editions, with nearly 1000 additional pages, 200 new entries, and extensive revisions to virtually all the previous entries. Profusely illustrated and with a wealth of information on a wide variety of topics this two-volume set represents a major landmark of Victorian scholarship that will be welcomed by all scholars and enthusiasts of the ancient world.
Call Number: E 76.2 .H36 at Main Library (Reference) & Williams Lake (Stacks)
Volume 5 describes the prehistory, history, and cultures of Eskimo and Native Alaskan people of North America who lived in the Arctic area.
Volume 7 provides background information on the native peoples of the Northwest Coastal environment, their languages, and early history. Also contains sections on: mythology, art, and the Indian Shaker Church.
Includes extensive bibliographies and is well indexed. *Contains copyrighted material.
The Dictionary of Anthropology is designed to become the standard reference guide to the discipline of social and cultural anthropology. Its core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies.
An essential career-planning resource, A Handbook of Practicing Anthropology presents a comprehensive account of contemporary anthropological practice written primarily by anthropological practitioners Engagingly written and instructive accounts of practice by anthropological professionals working in corporations, governmental, entrepreneurial, and educational settings Provides essential guidance on applying anthropological principles on the job: what works well and what must be learned Emphasizes the value of collaboration, teamwork, and continuous learning as key elements to success in non-academic careers Highlights the range of successful career options for practitioners , describes significant sectors of professional activity, and discusses key issues, concerns, and controversies in the field Chapters examine key practice sectors such as freelancing, managing a consulting firm, working for government, non-profits, and corporations, and the domains of health, industry, education, international development, and the military
Call Number: GN 11 .E63 2006 v. 1-5 at Main Library (Reference) & Williams Lake (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. The contributions are authored by over 250 internationally renowned experts, professors, and scholars from some of the most distinguished museums, universities, and institutes in the world. Special attention is given to human evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, sociocultural theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.
Call Number: GN 20 .A45 2003 (Main Library Reference)
Spanning the period from the late nineteenth to the early twenty-first centuries, The Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology contains almost six hundred individually-signed entries from a global team of contributors and offers an important, and fascinating overview of the historical and contemporary reach of anthropological research.
Call Number: GN 25 .C65 1994 (Main Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2002-10-11
* Provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social and cultural anthropology and establishes the interconnections between these three fields. * Useful cross-references within the text, with full biographical references and suggestions for further reading. * Carefully illustrated with line drawings and photographs. 'The Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropologyis a welcome addition to the reference literature. Bringing together authoritative, incisive and scrupulously edited contributions from some three dozen authors. The book achieves an impressive breadth of coverage of specialist areas.'- Times Higher Educational Supplement 'Recommended for all anthropology collections, especially those in academic libraries.'- Library Journal 'This is a marvellous book and I am very happy to recommend it.'- Reference Reviews
Call Number: GN 50.3 .S74 1991 at Main Library (Stacks)
This reference dictionary takes a new approach to the study of physical anthropology by focusing on the concepts involved. As Stevenson notes at the outset, physical or biological anthropology is a synthetic discipline which has borrowed much from evolutionary biology, anatomy, genetics, medicine, zoology, paleontology, and demography.
Call Number: GN 307 .E525 2010 (Main Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2010-01-20
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Call Number: GN 307 .W56 1991 at Main Library (Stacks)
Publication Date: 1991-11-18
The field of cultural anthropology describes and interprets the thought and behavior of contemporary and near-contemporary societies. Inherently pluralistic, it offers a framework in which the distinctive perspectives of each cultural world can be appreciated. Robert Winthrop's dictionary describes the major concepts that have shaped the discipline, both historically and theoretically. It sets modern anthropology in its proper context within the broader intellectual tradition. Eighty entries review the key concepts--culture, race, nature, symbolism, adaptation, the primitive, etc.--that have established the fundamental problems and issues, guided research, and served as the focus for debate in key areas of the discipline. The entries which range from 2,000 to 6,000 words in length, are both thorough in treatment and contemporary in relevance. Some entries are primarily of historical significance while others describe recent developments. Each entry contains an annotated bibliography and a guide to additional reading on the subject. While this is not primarily a technical lexicon, many terms have been glossed and explained. Designed to be useful to students of anthropology, this dictionary will assist those in other disciplines to find their way through the anthropological labyrinth.