Research Guides: Indigenous Studies: Indigenous Land Claims

Live Help

About This Page

This page provides specific resources for your study of Indigenous land claims in Canada.

Article Databases & Indexes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly collection, spans nearly every area of academic study. Updated daily.

The following databases are your "best bets" for finding journal articles in the Aboriginal Studies field. They are listed in relevancy order, with the database at the top having the highest concentration of related articles.

Click on the "Article Databases" tab on this page to see other related databases for research.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from a broad range of Canadian sources. Subject coverage: Canadian current events, business, science and technology, education, health, humanities and the arts, politics.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains: about 2,000 journals; approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews; citations to abstracts of dissertations. Updates: unknown.

Websites

Library Catalogue Search Tips

Use the following terms in a subject search to find related items in the library catalogue (Books and Media tab). A subject search can be performed by typing in the suggested items below and selecting "subject" in the drop-down box.

Native peoples Land tenure Canada
Native peoples Canada Claims
Native peoples Canada government relations
Native peoples Canada Treaties
Indians of North America Canada Claims
Indians of North America Land tenure
Indians of North America Treaties
Indigenous peoples politics and government
Indigenous peoples Legal status, laws, etc. Canada
Inuit Canada Claims
Inuit Canada Land Tenure
Metis Claims
Metis Land tenure

Subject-Specific Books

Review this list of books choosen for your topic - Aboriginal Land Claims. Please note: E-Books are restricted to TRU students, staff, and faculty.

On Being Here to Stay by University of Toronto Press Staff; Michael Asch
Call Number: E 92 .A726 2014
Tells the story of Canada with a focus on the relationship between First Nations and settlers. Proposes a way forward based on respecting the "spirit and intent" of treaties negotiated at the time of Confederation, through which, he argues, First Nations and settlers can establish an ethical way for both communities to be here to stay.
Compact, Contract, Covenant by J. R. Miller
Call Number: E 92 .M544 2009
Explores more than four centuries of treaty-making in Canada, from the treaties, pacts, and arrangements with the Hudson's Bay Company and the Crown to modern treaties. Emphasizes both Native and non-Native motivations in negotiating, the impact of treaties on the peoples involved, and the lessons that are relevant to Native-newcomer relations today.
Strange Multiplicity by James Tully
Call Number: JF 1061 .T85 1995
Discusses the various demands for cultural recognition that constitute the major conflicts of today, including linguistic and ethnic minorities, multiculturalism, and aboriginal self government. Offers a new philosophy of constitutionalism based on dialogues of conciliation which have the capacity to mediate contemporary conflicts and bring peace to the twenty-first century.
Common Hunger by Joan G. Fairweather
Call Number: K 738 .F83 2006 Print & E-book
Compares the history of indigenous land rights in Canada and post-apartheid South Africa. Provides historical and contemporary context to the current land claim process in these two former British colonies.
Permission to Develop by Jerry P. White; Paul Maxim; Nicholas Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: KE 7709 .W44 2004 House of Learning & Williams Lake Library
Examines the principles underlying Aboriginal rights and the history of Aboriginal claims to land and resources. Also offers a province-by-province breakdown of major legislation, regulations and treaties with special attention to Aboriginal rights to land and resources.
Stolen Lands, Broken Promises: Researching the Indian Land Question in British Columbia by Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs
Call Number: KE 7715 .Z92 S76 2005 LAW & Williams Lake Library
Provides a guide and bibliography which focuses on land claims in British Columbia, produced by the Union of BC Indian Chiefs (UBCIC). Includes a timeline, glossary, and index.
Negotiating the Deal by Christopher Alcantara
Call Number: KE 7718 .A78 2013 LAW
Offers a systematic and comprehensive analysis of the factors that explain both completed and incomplete treaty negotiations between Aboriginal groups and the federal, provincial, and territorial governments of Canada.
Aboriginal Law since Delgamuukw by Maria Morellato
Call Number: KE 7709 .A73 2009 LAW
Revisiting the Duty to Consult by Dwight G. Newman
Call Number: KE 7709 .N49 2014 LAW
The Duty to Consult: New Relationships with Aboriginal Peoples by Dwight G. Newman
Call Number: KE 7709 .N49 2009 LAW