Call Number: E 96.2 .S79 2017 Stacks at Main Library
"Sandra D. Styres shows how Indigenous thought can inform decolonizing approaches in education as well as the possibilities for truly transformative teaching practices. This book offers new pathways for remembering, conceptualizing and understanding these ancient knowledges and philosophies within a twenty-first century educational context."
Call Number: E 96.65 .B7 A26 2010 at Main Library & Williams Lake Library (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2010
Also avaiable online at: https://www.tru.ca/__shared/assets/Handbook_for_Educators_of_Aboriginal_Students39099.pdf
"In order to attract and retain Aboriginal students, it is essential that TRU provides an inviting learning environment for Aboriginal learners. A key aspect to such an environment is establishing a respectful, positive relationship between the faculty at TRU and Aboriginal students. This handbook
is intended to foster such a relationship. Information provided here should assist faculty in gaining a better understanding of the unique social, political and cultural context from which Aboriginal
Call Number: E 97 .B49 2013 at Main Library (Stacks)
Native Americans are often excluded from data reporting and research on college students, relegated to an asterisk denoting the population as statistically insignificant. This book provides the higher education community with a solid foundation for responding to the needs not only of these students, but also renders visible all Native Americans on campus, including faculty, and staff. While predominantly addressed to the student affairs profession - providing an understanding of the needs of the Native students it serves, describing the multi-faceted and unique issues, characteristics and experiences of this population, and sharing proven approaches to developing appropriate services - it also covers issues of broader administrative concern, such as collaboration with tribal colleges; as well academic issues, such as graduate and professional education.
Achieving Aboriginal Student Success presents goals and strategies needed to support Aboriginal learners in the classroom. This book is for all teachers of kindergarten to grade 8 who have Aboriginal students in their classrooms or who are looking for ways to infuse an Aboriginal worldview into their curriculum. Although the author's primary focus is the needs of Aboriginal students, the ideas are best practices that can be applied in classroom-management techniques, assessment tools, suggestions for connecting to the Aboriginal community, and much more! The strategies and information in this resource are about building bridges between cultures that foster respect, appreciation, and understanding.
Call Number: LA 2325 .K57 A3 2013 at Main Library (Stacks) & Ebook
Verna J. Kirkness grew up on the Fisher River Indian reserve in Manitoba. Her childhood dream to be a teacher set her on a lifelong journey in education as a teacher, counsellor, consultant, and professor. Her simple quest to teach .in a Native way. revolutionized Canadian education policy and practice. Kirkness broke new ground at every turn.
Call Number: E 96.2 .B355 2013 at Main Library & Law Library (Stacks)
""Drawing on treaties, international law, the work of other Indigenous scholars, and especially personal experiences, Marie Battiste documents the nature of Eurocentric models of education, and their devastating impacts on Indigenous knowledge. Chronicling the negative consequences of forced assimilation and the failure of current educational policies to bolster the social and economic conditions of Aboriginal populations, Battiste proposes a new model of education. She argues that the preservation of Aboriginal knowledge is an Aboriginal right and a right preserved by the many treaties with First Nations. Current educational policies must undergo substantive reform."
Call Number: G 71.5 .D44 2013 at Main Library (Stacks)
In A Deeper Sense of Place, editors Jay Johnson and Soren Larsen collect stories, essays, and personal reflections from geographers who have worked collaboratively with Indigenous communities across the globe. These first-person narratives offer insight into the challenges faced by Native and non-Native scholars to their academic and personal approaches during research with Indigenous communities. By addressing the ethical, political, intellectual, and practical meanings of collaboration with Indigenous peoples, A Deeper Sense of Place highlights the ways in which collaborative research can help Indigenous and settler communities find common ground through a shared commitment to land, people, and place. A Deeper Sense of Place will inform students and academics engaged in research with Indigenous communities, as well as those interested in the challenges of employing critical, qualitative methodologies.
Call Number: E 96.65 .M35 M69 2013 at Main Library (Stacks)
Aboriginal people who choose to improve their education as adults often face many challenges, most of which arise from the ongoing impact of colonialism and of racialized poverty. Yet in Winnipeg’s low-income inner city, a variety of innovative and effective Aboriginal adult education initiatives have emerged. Drawing upon the voices and experiences of Aboriginal adult learners themselves, this book describes the initiatives and strategies that have proven successful and transformative for adult Aboriginal students. These programs also positively influence the lives of the students’ families and are even felt on the community level, functioning as anti-poverty initiatives. Moving Forward, Giving Back posits that effective Aboriginal adult education initiatives need to be dramatically expanded to improve the health and vibrancy of Aboriginal people and communities across Canada
Call Number: E 97 .T43 2013 at Main Library (Stacks)
For the first time in educational publishing, Teaching Truly offers K-16 teachers course-specific guidelines for indigenizing mainstream education. The goal is to facilitate greater educational integrity and relevance in the classroom now, without waiting for more «reforms» to policy, standards or curricula in general. Incorporating reality-based teaching common in traditional Indigenous learning cultures, each chapter first exposes educational hegemony, including that existing within the new «common core standards», and then offers alternative, time-tested perspectives and exercises to counter and/or counter-balance such hegemony. Addressing eight common subject areas, the material can be adapted for different grade levels and can be applied to other mainstream courses.
Call Number: E 96.2 .G69 2014 at Main Library (Stacks) & Ebook
In recent decades, educators have been seeking ways to improve outcomes for Indigenous students. Yet most Indigenous education still takes place within a theoretical framework based in Eurocentric thought. Teaching Each Other provides an alternative framework for teachers working with Indigenous students – one that moves beyond merely acknowledging Indigenous culture to one that actually strengthens Indigenous identity. Drawing on Nehinuw (Cree) concepts such as kiskinaumatowin, or "teaching each other," Goulet and Goulet demonstrate how teachers and students can become partners in education. They provide a template for educators anywhere who want to engage with students whose culture is different from that of the mainstream.
Call Number: E 96.2 .C68 2014 at Main Library (Stacks)
"Discusses how Aboriginal students confront narratives of colonial violence in the postsecondary classroom, while they are, at the same time, living and experiencing colonial violence on a daily basis. Basing her analysis on interviews with Aboriginal students, teachers and Elders, Cote-Meek deftly illustrates how colonization and its violence are not a distant experience, but one that is being negotiated every day in universities and colleges across Canada."
Call Number: E 78 .C2 B425 2014 at Main Library (Stacks)
This text is a historically grounded look at the wide variety of issues that inform the lives of Native peoples in Canada today. The book is divided into four sections: Philosophy and Worldview, History, Political Economy, and Contemporary Issues. In addition to those topics commonly considered in existing texts, such as health, politics, self-government, and urban reserves, Belanger includes unique chapters on Native philosophy, language, art and literature, and writing about Native history and Native issues.
Call Number: E 96.2 .A24 2009 at Main Library & Williams Lake (Stacks)
Despite the enormous resources and thought that has been put into improving our educational systems, there has been little success in reducing the gap between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal educational success. This book reviews the actual situation in terms of Metis, Inuit, and First Nations peoples in Canada using the most recent data available.
Call Number: E 96.2 .K36 2011 at Main Library (Stacks)
From improved critical thinking to increased self-esteem and school retention, teachers and students have noted many benefits to bringing Aboriginal viewpoints into public school classrooms. Yatta Kanu provides the first comprehensive study of how these frameworks can be effectively implemented to maximize Indigenous students' engagement, learning, and academic achievement.