Call Number: E 96.5 .T78 2016 v.1-6 Main Library Stacks
Between 1867 and 2000, the Canadian government sent over 150,000 Aboriginal children to residential schools across the country. Government officials and missionaries agreed that in order to "civilize and Christianize" Aboriginal children, it was necessary to separate them from their parents and their home communities. For children, life in these schools was lonely and alien. Discipline was harsh, and daily life was highly regimented. Aboriginal languages and cultures were denigrated and suppressed. Education and technical training too often gave way to the drudgery of doing the chores necessary to make the schools self-sustaining. Child neglect was institutionalized, and the lack of supervision created situations where students were prey to sexual and physical abusers. Legal action by the schools' former students led to the creation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada in 2008. The product of over six years of research, the Commission's final report outlines the history and legacy of the schools, and charts a pathway towards reconciliation.
Call Number: E 78 .C2 W74 1995 V. 1 - 3 at Main Library (Stacks)
Over 12,000 years of Native history preceded the arrival of Europeans. It is hoped that these volumes will make a contribution towards a greater appreciation of Native history prior to the devastating events initiated by the European occupation of Canada.
Call Number: E 98 .R3 C755 2005 V. 1-3 at Main Library (Reference)
This 3 volume set contains 188 extended essays on topics such as dance, ritual and ceremony, and religious leadership which are arranged by geographic region. Each entry suggests sources for further research and readings.
Call Number: E 78 .C2 H61 at Main Library (Stacks)
Published in 1913, this is a comprehensive listing of native tribes and settlements in Canada. Entries for many tribes contain brief histories. This work also provides entries on native Indian archaeology, manners, customs, arts, industries.
Call Number: PS 508 .I5 H36 1994 at Main Library (Reference)
The Handbook of Native American Literature is a unique, comprehensive, and authoritative guide to the oral and written literatures of Native Americans. It lays the perfect foundation for understanding the works of Native American writers.
Call Number: E 76.2 .H36 at Main Library (Reference) & Williams Lake (Stacks)
Volume 5 describes the prehistory, history, and cultures of Eskimo and Native Alaskan people of North America who lived in the Arctic area.
Volume 7 provides background information on the native peoples of the Northwest Coastal environment, their languages, and early history. Also contains sections on: mythology, art, and the Indian Shaker Church.
Includes extensive bibliographies and is well indexed. *Contains copyrighted material.
Call Number: E 76.2 .N36 1994 at Main Library (Reference)
Articles on present-day tribal groups comprise more than half of the coverage, ranging from essays on the Navajo, Lakota, Cherokee, and other large tribes to shorter entries on such lesser-known groups as the Hoh, Paugusett, and Tunica-Biloxi. Also 25 inlcludes maps.
Call Number: E 98 .W8 B38 1992 Main Library Stacks & Ebook
Publication Date: 2001-06-12
This book is full of moving and eye opening stories. Many American Indian Woman share their lives in these breath taking journies. Learn the ways and customs of the Women while hearing of their brave and trying tales.
Call Number: PS 508 .I5 N38 1994 at Main Library (Reference) & at Williams Lake (Stacks)
This work provides biographical and critical information on historical and contemporary Native American writers and orators from the United States and Canada. It is divided into two parts: Oral literature and Written literature.
Call Number: E 98 .A7 W49 2000 at Main Library (Reference)
This comprehensive reference text covers the often misunderstood area of aesthetics, anthropology and mythology within tribal or indigenous non-Western art. Including hundreds of entries and illustrations, it includes art from the cultures and tribal kingdoms of: Nigeria, Australia, Indonesia and Polynesia, Western and Central Africa, Canada and Alaska, and the continental United States.
Call Number: PS 8089.5 .I6 N38 1990 at Main Library & Williams Lake (Stacks) & Electronic book
Native Writers and Canadian Writingis a co-publication with Canadian Literature-- Canada's foremost literary journal -- of a special double issue which focuses on literature by and about Canada's Native peoples and contains original articles and poems by both Native and non-Native writers.
Call Number: E 96.5 .N54 2013 at Main Library (Stacks)
Truth and Indignation offers the first close and critical assessment of a Truth and Reconciliation Commission as it is unfolding. Niezen uses interviews with survivors and oblate priests and nuns, as well as testimonies, texts, and visual materials produced by the Commission to raise important questions. Thoughtful, provocative, and uncompromising in the need to tell the "truth" as he sees it, Niezen offers an important contribution to our understanding of TRC processes in general, and the Canadian experience in particular.
Call Number: E 92 .M36 1974 at Main Library (Stacks)
"The Fourth World is a moving narrative of the Canadian Indian, of all aboriginal peoples everywhere, told with wisdom and compassion, not with the harsh clamour of militant rhetoric. Its view of the world of tomorrow is of a nation state that would contain within itself many different cultures and life ways, some highly tribal and traditional, some highly urban and individual.